Anyone use C#??
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
epod69
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Anyone use C#?? Reply with quote

Hi, I am kinda new to Linux and have been use to programming through Visual Basic. I heard that the new language microsoft has came out with, c#, is pretty close to vb and I am wondering if anyone has programed with C# before and what their input about it is. I know that you can program c# for linux through Mono but I dont know how well this works if it is in fact microsofts language, how well does Mono do in porting c# language to Linux?

Thanx everyone for you input!
luisfelipe
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mono's implementation of C# is quite good. You're going to have problems if you use some of the more windows-oriented stuff, like windows.forms . But if you use GTK# for the GUI programming, everything should work smoothly.
If you're into VB-style programming, you might want to check Gambas.
bladdo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its actually very nice and works just as well or better. Compared to VB the shell only style will piss you off but theres always gtk and auto generation programs for gui.
distro: gentoo | window manager: pekwm
luisfelipe
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to mention it, but if you're interested in playing around with C# and GTK#, you should probably take a look at Glade. It's what you're gonna be using to develop the visual part of the program, most likely.

And just another tip, if you haven't decided on a language yet, take a look at Ruby.
Psykk
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote