Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xfce 4.4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ilm wrote:
What's volman?
Like gnome-volume-manager, but without any unnecessary dependencies.
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agnitio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently a gnome user but the 4.4 release seems promising, I have tried switching to xfce several times but there have been, in my opinion (I don't mean to flamebait), too many unpolished parts. The filemanager is one of, wich is now fixed with thunar. The panel itself is another, I don't know much about it in 4.4, but I'd love to try it out to see if it's usable as the default DE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeanfrancis wrote:

You're far away ;) I'm about to go to sleep ;) (near 1am here, I have a course at 10h30 tomorrow... well, today ;)) :lol:

I'm 6 hours ahead of you :wink: and finally my working day is over
Now I'm going to look into the gentoo package db and see if Xfce 4.4 is ready to move in on my computer :)

Edit:
Well all packages is in portage now :D
The downside of it all is that dbus wanted to update while blocking itself with a version I didn't even had installed
But:
Code:

emerge dbus -C
emerge dbus

solved it though

But as always after updating dbus I ran revdep-rebuild which showed me that 61 packages needed to get reemerged, yay, happy days :roll:
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bladus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ilm wrote:
What's volman?


http://thunar.xfce.org/documentation/C/using-removable-media.html
http://www.foo-projects.org/~benny/projects/thunar-volman/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Still outside the Matrix ...

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: [xfce4.4] No background, some icons missing after upgrade Reply with quote

I just upgraded all the components of xfce4 to 4.4, and I've lost the background of my desktop as well as several icons on my panel.

Other symptoms: Under Settings / Desktop Preferences, when I enable "Allow Xfce to manage the desktop", the checkmark won't stick. As soon as I close and reopen the Desktop Preferences dialog, the checkmark disappears. It also disappears when I log out of an X session or when I reboot.

Also: My "right-click-on-desktop" menu no longer activates with a right click. I can access the menu via the panel, though.

Thanks for any help.

BTW, Xfce3.9999x (the last RC) was working fine.
_________________
This space available!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated and it works great! :D Only some plugins are still missing but that's all for now.
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Still outside the Matrix ...

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:45 pm    Post subject: Re: [xfce4.4] No background, some icons missing after upgrad Reply with quote

dhave wrote:
I just upgraded all the components of xfce4 to 4.4, and I've lost the background of my desktop as well as several icons on my panel.

Other symptoms: Under Settings / Desktop Preferences, when I enable "Allow Xfce to manage the desktop", the checkmark won't stick. As soon as I close and reopen the Desktop Preferences dialog, the checkmark disappears. It also disappears when I log out of an X session or when I reboot.

Also: My "right-click-on-desktop" menu no longer activates with a right click. I can access the menu via the panel, though.

Thanks for any help.

BTW, Xfce3.9999x (the last RC) was working fine.

EDIT: WARNING: The fix I described in the next paragraph isn't the orthodox way to solve this problem and may create many other problems. As Sachankara says later in this thread, running revdep-rebuild is the correct way to fix this, not manually creating a symlink. See also this thread if you're interested in problems stemming from dbus upgrades.


It turns out I had a problem with dbus, perhaps because I had also updated it today. I needed to create a symlink in /usr/lib for libdbus-1.so.2 (I linked it to /usr/lib/libdbus-1.so). Whether or not that was a clean fix or not, I don't know, but it worked.



Also, it turns out my missing icons were .svg images. For some reason my new installation of xfce4 (or perhaps gtk+?) isn't supporting svg, and I don't see a way to build that in. For the time being, I've reverted to .png icons, which is O.K. with me.
_________________
This space available!


Last edited by dhave on Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having major problems with revdep-rebuild, it's trying to install an older version of hal than I got installed and it crashes while compiling. Updating Xfce anyway now and hope for the best, maybe revdep-rebuild will work properly later on. Looking forward to get this release installed :wink:
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sorcerer'sApprentice
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Jesus College, Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Re: [xfce4.4] No background, some icons missing after upgrad Reply with quote

dhave wrote:
dhave wrote:
I just upgraded all the components of xfce4 to 4.4, and I've lost the background of my desktop as well as several icons on my panel.

Other symptoms: Under Settings / Desktop Preferences, when I enable "Allow Xfce to manage the desktop", the checkmark won't stick. As soon as I close and reopen the Desktop Preferences dialog, the checkmark disappears. It also disappears when I log out of an X session or when I reboot.

Also: My "right-click-on-desktop" menu no longer activates with a right click. I can access the menu via the panel, though.

Thanks for any help.

BTW, Xfce3.9999x (the last RC) was working fine.

It turns out I had a problem with dbus, perhaps because I had also updated it today. I needed to create a symlink in /usr/lib for libdbus-1.so.2 (I linked it to /usr/lib/libdbus-1.so). Whether or not that was a clean fix or not, I don't know, but it worked.

Also, it turns out my missing icons were .svg images. For some reason my new installation of xfce4 (or perhaps gtk+?) isn't supporting svg, and I don't see a way to build that in. For the time being, I've reverted to .png icons, which is O.K. with me.


USE="svg" emerge xfce4 ??

EDIT:

PS. Has anyone made a thunar-volman ebuild yet?
_________________
"One of the major problems encountered in time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother ... The major problem is quite simply one of grammar..."

Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Still outside the Matrix ...

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Re: [xfce4.4] No background, some icons missing after upgrad Reply with quote

Sorcerer'sApprentice wrote:
dhave wrote:

Also, it turns out my missing icons were .svg images. For some reason my new installation of xfce4 (or perhaps gtk+?) isn't supporting svg, and I don't see a way to build that in. For the time being, I've reverted to .png icons, which is O.K. with me.


USE="svg" emerge xfce4 ??

I reinstalled librsvg, and I've got my svg icons back now.
_________________
This space available!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got XFCE4.4 installed, but whenever I start a session, instead of xfwm4 it starts up fvwm 8O . I have no idea why, I tried killing fvwm, starting xfwm4, and exiting saving the session to no avail.
_________________
Quote:
It is with people as with trees. The more one seeks to rise into height and light, the more vigorously do ones roots struggle earthward, downward, into the dark, the deep — into evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
immudium
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay! I've finally updated both my home and work machines and I'm really enjoying this final version.

I've run into a couple of weird quirks when upgrading. For example, the new xfce-extra/terminal-2.6.0 was dog slow for me and I couldn't figure out why. I wasn't using anything fancy. No transparency or backgrounds or anything. And even turning off anti-aliasing didn't help. Turns out it was because I didn't have compositing enabled via Settings Manager -> Window Manager Tweaks. Seems like there's a bug somewhere in there. It definitely shouldn't be SO slow without compositing, but I do like the new transparency effect so no harm I guess. Anyway, enabling compositing support in xorg and xfce is definitely a must if you want any decent rendering performance from terminal now.

Also, when upgrading from previous xfce versions, I had problems with some panel plugins and icons not showing up. Those problems appear to be a result of doing the upgrade while I was still running from xfce itself. Probably a newbie type of mistake on my part, but shutting down xorg and basically reemerging the important packages in xfce-base, i.e. libxfcegui4, xfce4-panel, etc. fixed several little quirks for me.

Happy updating and thanks to the xfce maintainers for a great job on the ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xfce-4.4 up and running, and it's amazing :D It's smooth and fast and beautiful
Only a couple of small annoyances, I can't set my volume through the mixer and the sensors doesn't work. But that's something I can live with, everything else works great so far. At least the things I've tested

Big thanks to the Xfce maintainers, great job :wink:
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 272
Location: China

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lack of mousepad 0.2.12 ebuild, which I did a modified version of 0.2.10, this version support recent used items.


And I have a problem with thunar, when I right click a folder or file in finder, the popup menu quickly show and dispear again unless I hold on the right mouse button to select the item I want to select,but if I right click the empty area, the popup menu works fine.

I compiled xfwm with compositer support and enable it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geniux wrote:
Xfce-4.4 up and running, and it's amazing :D It's smooth and fast and beautiful
Only a couple of small annoyances, I can't set my volume through the mixer and the sensors doesn't work. But that's something I can live with, everything else works great so far. At least the things I've tested

Big thanks to the Xfce maintainers, great job :wink:


I can't say for the mixer, but to get the sensors running, (at least in the RC), I needed to install lm_sensors and configure it separately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amar_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still have 4.2.3 in my mirror and I just rsynced it.. What's wrong? :?
_________________
My blog is here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onlinepancakes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 274
Location: Surprise - AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

amar_ wrote:
I still have 4.2.3 in my mirror and I just rsynced it.. What's wrong? :?


Do you use eix? Is so, did you update it? Lol. Unmask it? Lol.
_________________
Onlinepancakes --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amar_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I installed eix but dont get it much.. I have this
Code:
[I] xfce-base/xfce4
     Available versions:  4.2.3.2 [M]~4.3.99.2-r1 [M]~4.4.0
     Installed:           4.2.3.2(03:06:57 01/23/07)(-svg)
     Homepage:            http://www.xfce.org/
     Description:         Meta package for Xfce4 desktop, merge this package to install

when I do eix xfce4 but dont know how to install 4.4 since emerge -s xfce4 gives only 4.2.3 version :?
_________________
My blog is here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to unmask all the xfce packages.

First, in /etc/portage/package.keywords, then, in /etc/portage/package.unmask if necessary.

Give it a try: add xfce-base/xfce4 in both files, then try to emerge it. Portage will complain about one if its dependencies, that have to be added into one of those files (or both)... You need to do that for every package :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeanfrancis wrote:
geniux wrote:
Xfce-4.4 up and running, and it's amazing :D It's smooth and fast and beautiful
Only a couple of small annoyances, I can't set my volume through the mixer and the sensors doesn't work. But that's something I can live with, everything else works great so far. At least the things I've tested

Big thanks to the Xfce maintainers, great job :wink:


I can't say for the mixer, but to get the sensors running, (at least in the RC), I needed to install lm_sensors and configure it separately.

Oh, my miss. I forgot to add lm_sensors with rc-update, since Gnome sensor applet only requires you to add the I/O module
Thank you very much :)
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

amar_ wrote:
Sorry I installed eix but dont get it much.. I have this
Code:
[I] xfce-base/xfce4
     Available versions:  4.2.3.2 [M]~4.3.99.2-r1 [M]~4.4.0
     Installed:           4.2.3.2(03:06:57 01/23/07)(-svg)
     Homepage:            http://www.xfce.org/
     Description:         Meta package for Xfce4 desktop, merge this package to install

when I do eix xfce4 but dont know how to install 4.4 since emerge -s xfce4 gives only 4.2.3 version :?

I have these packages in my /etc/portage/package.keywords and /etc/portage/package.unmask:
Code:

xfce-base/libxfce4util
xfce-base/libxfce4mcs
xfce-base/libxfcegui4
xfce-base/xfce4-panel
xfce-base/xfce-mcs-manager
xfce-extra/xfce4-mixer
xfce-base/xfprint
xfce-base/xfce-mcs-plugins
xfce-extra/xfce4-icon-theme
xfce-extra/mousepad
xfce-extra/exo
xfce-extra/terminal
xfce-base/orage
xfce-base/thunar
xfce-base/xfdesktop
xfce-extra/xfce4-appfinder
xfce-base/xfce-utils
xfce-base/xfwm4
x11-themes/gtk-engines-xfce
xfce-base/xfce4-session
xfce-extra/xfwm4-themes
xfce-base/xfce4
xfce-extra/xfce4-clipman
xfce-extra/xfce4-datetime
xfce-extra/xfce4-diskperf
xfce-extra/xfce4-genmon
xfce-extra/xfce4-mount
xfce-extra/xfce4-notes
xfce-extra/xfce4-quicklauncher
xfce-extra/xfce4-sensors
xfce-extra/xfce4-smartbookmark
xfce-extra/xfce4-systemload
xfce-extra/xfce4-weather
xfce-extra/xfce4-xfapplet
xfce-extra/xfce4-xkb
xfce-extra/xfce4-wavelan
xfce-extra/xfce4-dev-tools

This might save you some time :wink:
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

immudium wrote:

I've run into a couple of weird quirks when upgrading. For example, the new xfce-extra/terminal-2.6.0 was dog slow for me and I couldn't figure out why. I wasn't using anything fancy. No transparency or backgrounds or anything. And even turning off anti-aliasing didn't help. Turns out it was because I didn't have compositing enabled via Settings Manager -> Window Manager Tweaks. Seems like there's a bug somewhere in there. It definitely shouldn't be SO slow without compositing, but I do like the new transparency effect so no harm I guess. Anyway, enabling compositing support in xorg and xfce is definitely a must if you want any decent rendering performance from terminal now.

I'm still using SVN version from 2-3 days ago and I have the same problem with the terminal - strange, it should be some change in the last 2 weeks or so, the terminal was always faster than gnome-terminal before...
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ilm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 310
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just about to emerge it now... but I wish there was a gnome USE key for xfce4-extras, as I didn't really want xfce4-xfapplet and its gnome dependencies :( And since this is from the official portage ebuild, I don't really want to edit it myself or create an overlay'd version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoa... The new terminal is a total POS, with or without composite. I had to revert to the old rc2 build to make it usable again.
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tsuru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 99
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:19 am    Post subject: Firefox font borkage? Reply with quote

Anyone have problems with Firefox (2.0) fonts regressing to ultra tiny size? The UI fonts are fine everywhere in XFCE except for the firefox rendered pages. And I've checked with the prefs and my min font size is 14pt or higher...Anyhow, other than that and lack of some of the plugins mentioned previously, everything seems nice so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 2 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum