Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] problem emergeing Vmware
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StarF
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 368

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:20 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

Hi

when i try to emerge vmware i get the following error:

Code:

>>> Emerging (1 of 7) x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.6 to /
 * gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 MD5 ;-) ...                                                                                                                         [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 RMD160 ;-) ...                                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 SHA1 ;-) ...                                                                                                                        [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 SHA256 ;-) ...                                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 size ;-) ...                                                                                                                        [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                                       [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                                     [ ok ]
 * checking gtk+-2.10.6.tar.bz2 ;-) ...                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the X USE flag set

!!! ERROR: x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.6 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1562:   Called dyn_setup
  ebuild.sh, line 665:   Called pkg_setup
  gtk+-2.10.6.ebuild, line 52:   Called die

!!! cairo needs the X flag set
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.


my make.conf looks like this:

Code:
USE="perl python acpi apache2 apm bzip2 hal libwww samba threads usb xml zlib php"


i tryed to add the -X to the use part but that dident work.. any ideas?


Last edited by StarF on Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timeBandit
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 2673
Location: here, there or in transit

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
echo "x11-libs/cairo X" >>/etc/portage/package.use
emerge -1aN x11-libs/cairo

That will fix Cairo. Then try VMware again.
_________________
Plants are pithy, brooks tend to babble--I'm content to lie between them.
Super-short f.g.o checklist: Search first, strip comments, mark solved, help others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:27 pm    Post subject: Re: problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

StarF wrote:
Hi

when i try to emerge vmware i get the following error:

Code:

,,,
 * Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the X USE flag set
...


my make.conf looks like this:

Code:
USE="perl python acpi apache2 apm bzip2 hal libwww samba threads usb xml zlib php"


i tryed to add the -X to the use part but that dident work.. any ideas?

And what did you expect that should happen if you add a -X? (Note: - == MINUS == ... )
;)
Try the following:
Code:

$> echo "x22-libs/cairo X">>/etc/portage/package.use
$> emerge cairo vmware


cheers,
R.
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StarF
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 368

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx :)

havent used gentoo for around a year.. so am a bit rusty again :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timeBandit
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 2673
Location: here, there or in transit

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 10:19 pm    Post subject: Re: problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

Raistlin wrote:
Try the following:
Code:
$> echo "x22-libs/cairo X">>/etc/portage/package.use
$> emerge cairo vmware

cheers,
R.

X22? Dude, you truly are l33t. Where's the overlay for that? :wink:

8)
_________________
Plants are pithy, brooks tend to babble--I'm content to lie between them.
Super-short f.g.o checklist: Search first, strip comments, mark solved, help others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:56 am    Post subject: Re: problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

timeBandit wrote:
Raistlin wrote:
Try the following:
Code:
$> echo "x22-libs/cairo X">>/etc/portage/package.use
$> emerge cairo vmware

cheers,
R.

X22? Dude, you truly are l33t. Where's the overlay for that? :wink:

8)


:P Yes, you know, I hacked x11 a bit... X22 is far more powerful ;). Thx for the correction - I won't touch the original post - no censorship! :wink:
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 12:34 pm    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED] problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

The place to add the X USE flag is in /etc/make.conf

equery hasuse X shows several affected packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:12 pm    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED] problem emergeing Vmware Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
equery hasuse X shows several affected packages.
Agree, but why should I add a use flag to make.conf if it's used by many packages? There are many use flags that affect multiple packages, but I not always want them to affect the complete package tree...
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To turn the question around, which specific ebuilds do you not want X for? I'd be interested in reasons.

It's simpler and easier to put -X in package.use for those, because those are the exceptions rather than the rule. For most people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my eyes it looked like StarF is not quite used to the USE mechanism yet. So I did not want him to incorporate the thinking of putting every use flag in make.conf only because multple packages make use of it. In the case of "X", you're right, of course.
To answer your (rhetorical) question: I use emacs without the X ;). Reason? Because I don't like point-and-click :P

Cheers,
R.
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StarF
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 368

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

interesting read, how ever the gentoo mashine i am setting up is supposed to be a server, so probaly should add -x in the use tree?

ben away from gentoo for around a year so am a bit rusty atm :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a capital X. Nothing should be enabling the X USE flag, but you can add -X if you like. I also put in /etc/portage/package.mask
Code:
x11-base/xorg-x11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StarF
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 368

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
It's a capital X. Nothing should be enabling the X USE flag, but you can add -X if you like. I also put in /etc/portage/package.mask
Code:
x11-base/xorg-x11


alright tnx :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8341

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Please re-emerge [solved]".

As noted in the handbook USE flags specified via environment variables are not retained as persistent settings so, aside from when a given USE flag setting is itself transient in nature, use one of the persistent USE flag setting methods (/etc/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use). Also, note that USE flags are case sensitive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum