Strange, Childish Dilemma
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Myrddin
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 1:53 pm    Post subject: Strange, Childish Dilemma Reply with quote

Hey,
I want to point out this isn't meant to put down Gentoo in anyway.

I've been using Linux for 3 or 4 years, mostly Mandrake and Red Hat.

About 3 or so months ago, I installed Gentoo on several of my systems after experimenting with it -- I was in love! ;)

Now the problem is... Within a month I have to move back to dialup from broadband and maintaining and setting up Gentoo box's is gonna be bloody hard.

As much as I love Gentoo I find myself thinking it would be easier to pack it all in and use Red Hat or Mandrake or something.

You understand? I'm thinking that if I just buy the CD's of RH or MDK when they release a new edition and upgrade using that theres no downloading involved no problems ... 'cept I lose Gentoo.. :(

As far as one can love an Operating System... I love using Gentoo. Theres no way I'm going back to Windows.

So the choices are... either struggle along with Gentoo on dialup.. gah I doubt I could cope.. I'm a very impatient person for downloads.. when things are compiling I know there'll be a good outcome so it's not as bad ;) or I use Mandrake/Red Hat and don't upgrade anything manually and follow their upgrade path (e.g. 8.0 --> 9.0 -- 9.1 --> Whatever) by buying the release CD's.

Argh... You understand my rather childish problem?

Help? :roll:

I don't know what to do....

Is Gentoo managable on (slow) dialup?
I know this is a Gentoo site.. but is RH/MDK really so bad compared? (After using Gentoo and portage etc. for a while now my head tells me it is..)

Argh!
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure gentoo is manageable on dialup. It won't be bleeding edge though.