Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vesafb 1440x900 (vga=) option.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaped.ch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 46
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:00 am    Post subject: vesafb 1440x900 (vga=) option. Reply with quote

does anyone knows the right "vga=" (vesafb) setting for a 1440x900 display?

vga=0x317 which i've found does not seem to be the right one.
i can't use vbetest at the moment (emerge does not yet work [no network]).

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tadeboro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 93
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try
Code:
vga=868

That is Linux video mode number for 1440x900-32.

Other codes can bo found here. Don't forget to add 512 to each VESA video mode number to obtain Linux video mode number.


Tadej
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Kernel & Hardware.
Kernel related, so moved here.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cooldude127
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used vga=866, as unless you're using gensplash, you probably don't need 32 colors.

Maybe you do, what do I know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cooldude127 wrote:
I used vga=866, as unless you're using gensplash, you probably don't need 32 colors.

Maybe you do, what do I know?


Did that actually work? I tried vga=868, vga=866, vga=0x868 vga=0x866, vga=0x164 (which should have given me 1152x864). The only one that does work is vga=0x318, which is 1024x768. Or vga=0x312, which is 640x480.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you happen to have an nVidia card?
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beatryder wrote:
Do you happen to have an nVidia card?


Indeed I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kasyx wrote:
beatryder wrote:
Do you happen to have an nVidia card?


Indeed I do.


The your pretty much hosed unless you want to use the xorg nv driver with X. The only way to get hight than 1024x768 frame buffer with an nvidia is to use nvidiafb which cannot be used with the binary nvidia driver.
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beatryder wrote:
Kasyx wrote:
beatryder wrote:
Do you happen to have an nVidia card?


Indeed I do.


The your pretty much hosed unless you want to use the xorg nv driver with X. The only way to get hight than 1024x768 frame buffer with an nvidia is to use nvidiafb which cannot be used with the binary nvidia driver.


Hmm. Is the nv one any better than nvidia? Or worse? I mean I don't use console much, but getting a nice bootsplash would be a bonus. I've already awed my friends to linux by using beryl heh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK The nv driver does not work all that well. Like there is no 3D support.
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbirkett
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Folsom, CA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an nVidia NV18 GeForce4 MX 4000 AGP built onto my motherboard and am able to get 1280x1024-32 working using vesafb. I followed the tutorial 'Howto gensplash' and have had success with most of the themes downloaded with the emerge.
_________________
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, nightmorph, the problem is vesafb on 64 bit gentoo. There ain't no vesafb-tng for us ;-)

Unless that's what you're using, in which case I'd be very interested to know how you got it there!

-K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbirkett
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Folsom, CA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tutorial was 'gensplash howto' and I did have it working on an AMD64 with the 64-bit installation. I am not at home right now, so can't tell you what video card I had. I am using the vesafb-tng, but was using vesafb on the AMD64.

The tutorial I followed is here: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_fbsplash

There is section that describes the kernel parameters and I just did the vesafb instead of vesafb-tng.
_________________
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmvianna
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 742
Location: Down Underland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found it in the Wikipedia page! Mine didn't work with VGA=355, but it booted nicely with VGA=0163h. 8) No idea why Linux codes are not recognised, or what's the difference between the two ways of expressing VESA codes, though. I went back to vesafb because I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.23, and vesa-tng is being replaced by uvesafb, which doesn't support 1440x900 in my x86 setup. :?
_________________
Proprietary is theft. Pierre-Joseph Proudhon, if he had a chance
Powered by a MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdfg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmvianna wrote:
I found it in the Wikipedia page! Mine didn't work with VGA=355, but it booted nicely with VGA=0163h. 8) No idea why Linux codes are not recognised, or what's the difference between the two ways of expressing VESA codes, though. I went back to vesafb because I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.23, and vesa-tng is being replaced by uvesafb, which doesn't support 1440x900 in my x86 setup. :?


Well spotted! Those 'h' values weren't there when I was researching this.

Of course the only problem now is that I've upgraded to a new laptop, which runs 1680x1050! You get a prize if you can find a vga code for that for me ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revilootneg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 102
Location: /germany/hannover

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@shaped.cd:

On a Thinkpad T61 with Nvidia Quadro NVS 140m I was using vga=869. This gives 32bit depth.
I'm now using uvesafb (gentoo-sources / kamikaze-sources) with video=uvesafb:1440x900,ywrap,mtrr an amd64 without a problem.

greetings
revilootneg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmvianna
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 742
Location: Down Underland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kasyx wrote:
dmvianna wrote:
I found it in the Wikipedia page! Mine didn't work with VGA=355, but it booted nicely with VGA=0163h. 8) No idea why Linux codes are not recognised, or what's the difference between the two ways of expressing VESA codes, though. I went back to vesafb because I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.23, and vesa-tng is being replaced by uvesafb, which doesn't support 1440x900 in my x86 setup. :?


Well spotted! Those 'h' values weren't there when I was researching this.


OK, sorry, I made a mistake. When I ran lilo, I didn't notice the error message saying "0163h is not a number" and hence refusing to write the new config to the MBR. I was actually running 1024x768 as usual, but in 32-bit depth, whereas my first uvesa config led to 24-bit, which led me to think it was a lesser definition. I guess I spent a year thinking 1024x768-32 (default) was 1440x900-24 (the values I passed to the kernel, but were not used because my system does not support it in framebuffer mode). Not sure if that's understandable. :oops:
_________________
Proprietary is theft. Pierre-Joseph Proudhon, if he had a chance
Powered by a MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2453
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

revilootneg wrote:
@shaped.cd:

On a Thinkpad T61 with Nvidia Quadro NVS 140m I was using vga=869. This gives 32bit depth.
I'm now using uvesafb (gentoo-sources / kamikaze-sources) with video=uvesafb:1440x900,ywrap,mtrr an amd64 without a problem.

greetings
revilootneg


Hi!
Does anyone know if it works also with ati videocards?

And, is it possible to suspend-to-ram with that driver?
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmvianna
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 742
Location: Down Underland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
Does anyone know if it works also with ati videocards?

And, is it possible to suspend-to-ram with that driver?


I suspend to ram with an ATI Radeon mobile, but I don't get 1440x900 in the framebuffer, no thanks to my card. There's info in this thread on how to find out which framebuffer resolutions your card would support. I reckon you just have to issue cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes, and you'll get a list of the modes available. If your desired resolution isn't the list, then too bad, your card can't do it.
_________________
Proprietary is theft. Pierre-Joseph Proudhon, if he had a chance
Powered by a MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum