Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
RaLink RT2561/RT61.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:02 am    Post subject: RaLink RT2561/RT61. Reply with quote

Hi there,

I really need to get my wireless card working, but it's not playing the game. I've found about 5 different how to's but none of them work. So can someone step me though it?

Here's my relevant lspci output.

Code:
01:01.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI


And what I've got compiled in the kernel:

Code:
Networking
>> Networking Support [*]

Networking
>> Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack [*]

Networking
>> Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack
>> IEEE 802.11i TKIP encryption[*]

Device Drivers
>> Network Device Support
>> Network device support [*]

Device Drivers
>> Network Device Support
>> Wireless LAN (non-hamradio)
>> Wireless LAN drivers (non-hamradio) & Wireless Extensions [*]


Now. Where to from here?

Do I need the rt2500 package and load it as a module? Or do I need the rt61 or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1277
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need the rt61 package. I cant tell you more right now, because Im not on the system I configured with rt61.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevstar31
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 449
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/wiki/index.php?title=Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1277
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, no. rt61 is already in portage!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright. I've emerge rt61. Should I see it as a module when I do an lsmod?

Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to modprobe the module. FYI there are three different drivers for the card. rt61 (portage=), rt2x00 (portage) and the original rt61 from Ralink (bugzilla). In my computer the first fails with WPA, the second doesn't even find the AP and the third is working fine, allthough not very nice to setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright. I did:

Code:
modprobe rt61


And now when I do lsmod I can see that the module rt61 is loaded.

The network I'm trying to connect to currently has 64bit WEP encryption. So which driver should I use for 64/128bit WEP key encryption?

Is there a nice way to set this up graphically? Or does it need to be done via command line?

What do I need to do next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

follow the Gentoo networking guide: Link. If it doesn't work try the original Ralink rt61 driver (ebuilds in bugzilla: Link) and tell the network scripts to not use iwconfig/wpa_supplicant (!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant I think) and use the driver's config file (etc/Wireless/.../<something>.dat). It'll get sourced when the driver is loaded. It's ugly but it works with WPA on my box.

Best of luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I should follow the wireless-tools guide... and ignore the wpa_supplicant bit? Is that what you're saying?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

wpa_supplicant COULD work with rt61 from the rt2x00 package (wext driver I believe). The rt61 driver from portage and the original rt61 driver don't support wpa_supplicant (allthough you can patch wpa_supplicant to support it, patch is in the original rt61 driver from Ralink). So it depends on what driver you use.

mic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see - so the most likely bet would be the use the one in portage and patch it? Is that what you've got working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm back at my box now so I might be more helpful :-)

What I got working is the original Ralink driver. You can find two ebuilds in bugzilla: Link. They install both the driver and the firmware.

Once that is done you can link /etc/init.d/net.lo to /etc/init.d/net.ra0. Then edit /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
config_ra0=( "dhcp" )
postup() {
        if [ ra0 == ${IFACE} ]; then
                ifconfig ra0 mtu 1300
        fi
}
modules=( "!iwconfig" "!wpa_supplicant" )


Now you can edit /etc/Wireless/RT61STA/rt61sta.dat:
Code:
[Default]
CountryRegion=0
CountryRegionABand=7
WirelessMode=0
TxBurst=0
PktAggregate=0
TurboRate=0
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy1=0
AckPolicy2=0
AckPolicy3=0
AckPolicy4=0
BGProtection=0
IEEE80211H=0
TxRate=0
RoamThreshold=75
PSMode=CAM
TxPreamble=2
FastRoaming=0
SSID=SSID
Channel=Channel
AuthMode=WPAPSK
EncrypType=TKIP
WPAPSK=<key>
NetworkType=Infra

Afterwards make sure rt61 is NOT loaded (it needs to source the edited rt61sta.dat), run modules-update and try to start /etc/init.d/net.ra0 (the driver should get loaded automatically).

Hope this helps
mic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

micmac wrote:

...You can find two ebuilds in bugzilla: Link. They install both the driver and the firmware.

Uh, can you talk me how to install it from bugzilla? I've never had to do that before. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/ralink_rt61
cp ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/ralink_rt61
echo "PORTDIR_OVERLAY=\"/usr/local/portage\"" >> /etc/make.conf
ebuild /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/ralink_rt61/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild digest
echo "=ralink_rt61/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge ralink_rt61


Last edited by micmac on Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just saw that Ralink released an updated driver a few days ago. So you might want to rename ralink_rt61-1.0.4.0.ebuild to ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild when you copy it to your overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I uploaded a new ebuild for 1.1.0.0 plus patch for 2.6.19 to bugzilla. Also changed the instructions I gave earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1783
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

micmac wrote:
I uploaded a new ebuild for 1.1.0.0 plus patch for 2.6.19 to bugzilla. Also changed the instructions I gave earlier.


GAH! bugzilla is down at the moment and I've got one of these cards to install .... any chance of pm'ing me the ebuilds?

Does the new ebuild automatically apply the 2.6.19 patch if it detects that kernel btw?

EDIT - bugzilla's back up
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm ran into a bit of a problem:

Code:
aria ~ # ebuild /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/ralink_rt61/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild digest
: command not foundnet-wireless/ralink_rt61/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild: line 4:

!!! ERROR: net-wireless/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1454:   Called source '/usr/local/portage/net-wireless/ralink_rt61/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild'
' ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0.ebuild, line 5:   Called inherit 'eutils' 'linux-mod
  ebuild.sh, line 1189:   Called die

.eclass could not be found by inherit()
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.


aux_get(): (0) Error in net-wireless/ralink_rt61-1.1.0.0 ebuild. (1)
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild. (--debug)

aria ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

the driver is now in portage. --sync and emerge ralink-rt61 (not ralink_rt61).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have a problem with my rt61 card
Code:
00:09.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI

I emerged ralink-rt61 and loaded the rt61 module but iwconfig doesn't seam to see it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eld,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Look at
Code:
ifconfig-a
id your wireless interface there ?
If so, use
Code:
ifconfig <ifname> up
to start it. This does not make it work but some wireless cards need this before iwconf worls with them.

If ifconfig -a does not show your wireless inteface, there is a kernel or config issue.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig ra0 up solved the problem, thx a lot =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to drop in and say that the legacy rt61 driver of the rt2400 project DOES work with WPA. I tried with the same /etc/Wireless/RT61STA/rt61sta.dat file. Sorry for saying the opposite earlier - my bad. I tried the CVS version with kernel 2.6.19.

If anyone has a working WPA interface setup without /etc/Wireless/RT61STA/rt61sta.dat using Gentoo's wireless init functions I'd be glad to hear about that. Here it fails with "Bad Address" when the init script tries to set the ESSID.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justincataldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 376
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright...
Code:

aria ~ # lspci
01:01.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
aria ~ #


micmac wrote:
the driver is now in portage. --sync and emerge ralink-rt61 (not ralink_rt61).

I emerged this.

Then I did all this:

micmac wrote:

Once that is done you can link /etc/init.d/net.lo to /etc/init.d/net.ra0. Then edit /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
config_ra0=( "dhcp" )
postup() {
        if [ ra0 == ${IFACE} ]; then
                ifconfig ra0 mtu 1300
        fi
}
modules=( "!iwconfig" "!wpa_supplicant" )


Now you can edit /etc/Wireless/RT61STA/rt61sta.dat:
Code:
[Default]
CountryRegion=0
CountryRegionABand=7
WirelessMode=0
TxBurst=0
PktAggregate=0
TurboRate=0
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy1=0
AckPolicy2=0
AckPolicy3=0
AckPolicy4=0
BGProtection=0
IEEE80211H=0
TxRate=0
RoamThreshold=75
PSMode=CAM
TxPreamble=2
FastRoaming=0
SSID=SSID
Channel=Channel
AuthMode=WPAPSK
EncrypType=TKIP
WPAPSK=MY_NETWORK_KEY_IN_HEX_GOES_HERE
NetworkType=Infra

Afterwards make sure rt61 is NOT loaded (it needs to source the edited rt61sta.dat), run modules-update and try to start /etc/init.d/net.ra0 (the driver should get loaded automatically).


An lsmod reveals that the module is still loaded:

Code:
aria ~ # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
rt61                  207492  0
aria ~ #


Trying to start the interface gives the following result:
Code:
aria ~ # /etc/init.d/net.ra0 start
 * Starting ra0
 *   Bringing up ra0
 *     dhcp
 *       Running dhcpcd ...
Error, timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response                                                                                               [ !! ]
aria ~ #

So is that a problem with the modem not handing out an address, or is it a problem with my configuration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

ok, best case scenario: Your router isn't setup to offer DHCP. Try to enable it. Or you could try without DHCP. Comment
Code:
config_ra0=( "dhcp" )

and put in something like this:
Code:
config_ra0=( "192.168.0.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 mtu 1300" )
routes_ra0=( "default via 192.168.0.1" )
dns_servers_ra0="192.168.0.1"

Adapt to your network settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum