HELP! Hard drives won't mount.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
scottnic
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 1:05 am    Post subject: HELP! Hard drives won't mount. Reply with quote

I've been running Debian for a couple of years now and thought I'd give Gentoo a try. I had a new motherboard and stuff, so I decided to throw together a separate system to test it. The install went well, and I liked what I saw, so I decided to move the drives from my Debian install into the Gentoo box and make it permanent.

So I moved the drives over and booted the computer up. The drives show up in the boot process and there are now /dev/hdc and /dev/hdd entries.

But when I do "mount /dev/hdc /mnt/hdc" I get "wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdc, or too many mounted file systems."

I'm 99% sure the drives are ext2 (don't remember 100% because it was a long time ago), but even a "mount -t ext2 /dev/hdc /mnt/hdc" doesn't work (I get the same message).

What worries me even more is that I fired up fdisk to take a look at the partition information and there's nothing there. (no partitions listed).

The drives were working in the Debian install just a few hours ago. I haven't done anything to them other than move them from one computer to another.

I'm a little stressed out about this, because they've got quite a bit of important data on them (my wife will kill me if we lose it) and I haven't backed up for a few months (I know, I know.)

Any help would be HUGELY appreciated!

Thanks!
Jimboberella
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you mkdir /mnt/ndc first? Mount in Gentoo tries all kernel supported filesystems so it should find the partitions if they are supported.
scottnic
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. I did mkdir /mnt/hdc.