Official Package Repository, WHY NOT?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bicyus
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:19 am    Post subject: Official Package Repository, WHY NOT? Reply with quote

Hi everyone.

I've been using gentoo for last 3 years, feeling the power off Portage, but along this time, the idea off an official Packages Repository has grown, up to the level, that i am thinking, to move to ubuntu.

In my opinion, gentoo, is better distribution than ubuntu (or others with binary packages)(I don't want to flame), but a "crash" in my HD, have forced me to install one "quick" distribution, to continue working.

Because off this, I would like to know, if there is any, project to create a binary repositorys; and to encourage "DEVELOPERS" in gentoo to think about it.

I know that one of the problems to make binarys is, wich USE Flags, are going to use, but, how does it made in other flavours?

I think many people moving to others distributios because of this. (some people i know, at least), and if finally I move to Ubuntu, I will go with a felling of i am leaving my favorite Linux.

BYE and sorry for my english I'm spanish.
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 3:12 am    Post subject: Re: Official Package Repository, WHY NOT? Reply with quote

bicyus wrote:
Hi everyone.

I've been using gentoo for last 3 years, feeling the power off Portage, but along this time, the idea off an official Packages Repository has grown, up to the level, that i am thinking, to move to ubuntu.

In my opinion, gentoo, is better distribution than ubuntu (or others with binary packages)(I don't want to flame), but a "crash" in my HD, have forced me to install one "quick" distribution, to continue working.

The same old topic. If the box is important, really important, people usually do backups. Besides that, you can: