Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kdevelop error [Solved, Thx]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rvickers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:17 am    Post subject: Kdevelop error [Solved, Thx] Reply with quote

When I compile my first c++ program in Kdevelop, I get the following error:

configure: error:

*** [Gentoo] sanity check failed! ***
*** libtool.m4 and ltmain.sh have a version mismatch! ***
*** (libtool.m4 = 1.5.22, ltmain.sh = 1.5a) ***

Please run:

libtoolize --copy --force

if appropriate, please contact the maintainer of this
package (or your distribution) for help.

*** Exited with status: 1 ***

...Anyone know what to do to fix this???...
Thx


Last edited by rvickers on Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rvickers wrote:
Please run:

libtoolize --copy --force

Do so in the root of the directory tree of that project.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rvickers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried "libtoolize --copy --force" and it returned a message "configure.ac does not exist".
Configure.ac exists in the /usr/share/libtool/libltdl directory, should I copy it over to the projects root directory?
Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was libtoolize --copy --force run in the root of the project directory tree, not /?

Try running autoconf in the root of the project directory tree. If that fails, post the output of ls -al run at the root of the project directory tree, along with any error messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rvickers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I was in the wrong directory. Example: /Projects/Project1/Labels, I was in /Projects instead of /Labels. I noticed that for every project you have to go to that projects dir and issue the command. After I got that working, I all of a sudden started getting exit status 77 when I ran configure. Kdevelop's too buggy so I switched to Eclipse which so far works like a dream. :D
Thx for the help....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.voss
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:18 am    Post subject: The previously stated workaround is actually rather painless Reply with quote

Whenever you get this error while running configure, copy "libtoolize --copy --force" to the Konsole tab (the tabs are on the bottom in KDevelop). Whenever you open a project in KDevelop, it goes to the directory of the project, so you need not run the cd command if you click on the Konsole tab within KDevelop.

BTW, thanks to all the previous posts stating that you had to cd to the project directory. I couldn't for the life of me get KDevelop to work, and now it does. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dj_farid
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would you do to fix this version mismatch?
Is there no way to make kdevelop run "libtoolize --copy --force" automatically every time a new project is created?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Libtool.m4 and ltmain.sh Problems". This problem has been reported in the KDE bug tracking system, where it has been marked as an invalid bug, though it is also mentioned in the kdevelop FAQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum