Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Odd dbus error. (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:41 am    Post subject: Odd dbus error. (SOLVED) Reply with quote

so i just updated my world (which is running ~amd64") and i get this error upon startup

Code:

 * Stopping Automounter ...                                                                                                                            [ ok ]
 * Stopping Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon ...                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Stopping D-BUS system messagebus ...                                                                                                                [ ok ]
 * Starting D-BUS system messagebus ...                                                                                                                [ ok ]
 * Starting Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon ...                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Starting Automounter ...
1004: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file dbus-errors.c line 243.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.
1004: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file dbus-errors.c line 243.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.
1004: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file dbus-errors.c line 243.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.
1004: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file dbus-errors.c line 243.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.
1004: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file dbus-errors.c line 243.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.
libhal.c 373 : No property  volume.mount_point  on device with id /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/volume_uuid_aa4612a4_2d74_43b8_aa56_32e7a6b66914        [ ok ]



any idea on what would cause this? right now i'm rebuilding dbus to see if that helps. its dbus version 0.62-r1 currently
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...


Last edited by Serinox on Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok rebuilt and tried both versions (stable and ~amd64) and its still giving that error, its seem to be keeping me from starting services that depend on net.eth0 to start as well as not letting me automount drives :( any ideas?

thanks in advance
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfeus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am experiencing the very same error. Trying a revdep-rebuild now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hows that revdep working for you? did it solve the problem?
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfeus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Revdep-rebuild didn't help much. I got rid of the error-message but I'm not sure what solved it. To sum up what I did: downgraded dbus to the latest stable version (instead of ~amd64), recompiled autofs and uncommented /net, /misc and /home lines in /etc/autofs/auto.master and finally re-added the line DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm" in /etc/rc.conf.

After those changes the error-message disappeared.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i look at what you did and i found out that i dont have autofs installed on my system any ideas on what other programs could through this error sequence?
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfeus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmount or hal perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont start ivman you dont need it anymore.
rc-update del ivman
and your error will be gone...
you can emerge -C ivman if you want..

you could have found this answered here...
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-508424-highlight-normally+application+dbus+library.html
by using the search function of these forums..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i removed ivman and now it appears i have no cd drive. any idea what i need to add to fstab (if thats the right file) to make a dvd-rw drive work?
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro,user 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1 auto noauto,ro,user 0 0
I use those...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serinox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright well thanks people, i emerged gnome-volume-manager and added it startup which means that now everything is working, thanks for all your help :)
_________________
My programs never have bugs, they just have unplanned 'features'...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arthurtech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm seeing the same dbus errors here. I was about to unmerge Ivman, but after reading around a bit it appears Ivman has not been generally retired. Ivman is no longer required in KDE (maybe Gnome too), but is still needed by some of us. I'm using Fluxbox, so it's still useful here. Relevant ivman/hal/dbus bug report here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bitpicker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 163
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here: I use XFce, and while automounting isn't exactly a must-have I'd still like to know whether there are any working alternatives for us non-Gnome or KDE users. For the moment I have disabled ivman.

Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arthurtech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Robin,

I downgraded to dbus-0.61-r1, and all seems fine again.

Arthur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bitpicker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 163
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd rather keep dbus current than have CD-ROMs automounted.

Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still having the same problem. :?
unmerge ivman and dowgrade to dbus-0.61-r1 did solve partially the problem.
Kde can automount my pendrive, however cannot mount the cdrom. Browsing the system media with Konqueror, I can see the cdrom icon but I cannot access it. The message issued on screen is "Permission denied".
Any insight into this matter would be greatly appreciated.
Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your user a member of the disk and or cdrom group?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dcoats wrote:
Is your user a member of the disk and or cdrom group?


Yep... and it is member of the plugdev group also. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hilde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 42
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have the same problem. I can manually mount my cdrom (/dev/sr0) without any problem, but I cannot automount it with KDE. I even get the "Permission denied"-message when I tried to automount my cdrom in KDE as root (I only started KDE as root to test this).
dbus-0.61-r1 is not in portage anymore, so that is no option.
If someone finds a solution, all the better. If not, I'll stick to mounting my cdrom manually, as I've always done. For my cdrom, I don't really need automounting, since it is always the same device (as opposed to my usbstick which can be /dev/sdb or /dev/sdc when I have another USB-device attached).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hilde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 42
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the solution to the "Permission denied"-problem at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_D-BUS%2C_HAL%2C_KDE_media:/
KDE was trying to mount my cdrom (being /dev/sr0), while in my fstab there was an entry for the cdrom being /dev/cdrom (which is a symlink to /dev/sr0). Changing /dev/cdrom into /dev/sr0 in my fstab solved this problem. If your cdrom is /dev/hdc, replace /dev/cdrom in fstab by /dev/hdc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum