Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1287
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmpf my fault - should have mentioned that :-/

Sorry about that
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m.s.w
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 167
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek, thank you very much. It works.
Sorry, for the polish language below, but I don't know how to say it in english.

Stary, jesteś zajebisty. :)
_________________
Mark Twain said it best:
"If you have to swallow a frog, don't stare at it too long!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hell-Razor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stary, jesteś zajebisty

something about an old man not being (something)
_________________
Don't ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for creating the overlay.. I manually patched libXft & cairo many months ago, and became very accustomed to beautiful fonts. Then, quite recently, I went into shock after accidentally upgrading cairo with the regular portage version. I was so distracted by the ugliness, I could barely get any work done. :)

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lori
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 265
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks boniek for maintaining the overlay! I just reinstalled libXft and cairo with newspr and I am very happy with the result! Keep up the good work!

Regards,
Lori
_________________
"The hunt is sweeter then the kill."
Registered Linux User #176911
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting this error (after adding the layman overlay and running layman -a font-overlay)
emerge cairo
Code:

[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6 [1.4.14] USE="X directfb glitz newspr%* opengl svg* -debug -doc -test% -xcb" 0 kB [0=>1]

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage tree and overlays:
 [0] /usr/portage
 [1] /usr/local/layman/font-overlay



Code:
 * Failed Patch: cairo-1.5.2-newspr.patch.bz2 !
 *  ( /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6/temp/15271.patch )
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6/temp/cairo-1.5.2-newspr.patch.bz2-15271.out

 *
 * ERROR: x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_unpack
 *             environment, line 2669:  Called epatch 'src_unpack'
 *             environment, line 1515:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                   die "Failed Patch: ${patchname}!";
 *  The die message:
 *   Failed Patch: cairo-1.5.2-newspr.patch.bz2!
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/x11-libs:cairo-1.5.6:20080216-020115.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/layman/font-overlay/


Don't know why i'm gettin the error when aplying the patch. i think emerge is messing cairo from the overlay with the one from the gentoo portage
That doesn't exist:
/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6/temp/15271.patch
/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/cairo-1.5.6/temp/cairo-1.5.2-newspr.patch.bz2-15271.out
neither /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/

PD:Do someone know what's the difference betwen the patch on the post here and the ones from here http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10301 ?
_________________
Si el tonto te alaba lamentalo, si el listo te censura piensalo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
estar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gah, people still use that thing I posted? Well, it’s not quite working for 1.5.10 anymore, so I’ve modified it so it at least applies successfully: cairo-1.5.10-newspr.patch (download this). Compatibility with 1.5.10 entirely untested, use at your own risk.

If somebody’s studied the patch(set?) soya’s referring to, I’d like to know what it does, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went ahead and reinstalled cairo with the new overlay, but I don't see a change yet. The how to link is dead, can someone tell me what to do to make the new font quality take effect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
estar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can find the HOWTO here. Iirc, the major configuration step is that of creating ~/.fonts.conf.

By the way, there were no patch-relevant changes from 1.5.10 to 1.5.12, I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! After reading the How To, I see no mention of the Boniek's font-overlay that I installed with Cairo. Does the overlay eliminate any of these steps? Or do I do the whole How To in addition to adding the overlay to Cairo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
estar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The HOWTO was part of the xeffects overlay/project which is now dead. Boniek’s overlay supersedes those packages of that overlay which were relevant to subpixel rendering. Therefore, ignore the HOWTO steps until the section on ‘Changing font settings’ and proceed from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think the .font.conf file is taking effect. I have a couple of questions:
1). when I make the .font.conf file, do I need to make it an executable file?
2). Where the doc saids "change rgb to subpixel order of your monitor)", I did not know what they were talking about so I made the line "<edit mode="assign" name="rgba" > <const>rgb</const> </edit>" exactly as it is.

What else could be wrong for this file not to take effect?

Thanks,
-Darin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Notice the name:
Code:
$ ll ~/.fonts.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 brebs brebs 4411 2008-03-05 00:00 /home/brebs/.fonts.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya, that's what i have. I wanted to make sure I have the over-lay installed. So, I did a emerge -pv cairo and this is what I got:

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads :0 kb
Portage tree and overlays:
[0] /usr/portage
[1] /usr/portage/local/layman/font-overlay

To me, it looks like the overlay is installed properly. Am I reading it correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dman777 wrote:
ya, that's what i have. I wanted to make sure I have the over-lay installed. So, I did a emerge -pv cairo and this is what I got:

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads :0 kb
Portage tree and overlays:
[0] /usr/portage
[1] /usr/portage/local/layman/font-overlay

To me, it looks like the overlay is installed properly. Am I reading it correctly?


.fonts.conf not .font.conf ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that was just a typo in my message..sorry...i do have ".fonts.conf ".

UPDATE: I renamed my .fonts.conf file to .fonts.conf.bck so it wouldn't load. Afterwards I went into x server and loaded firefox and I don't see a change in the fonts. So I don't think the file is taking effect. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
estar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, check if you have a symlink called /etc/fonts/conf.d/50-user.conf pointing to /etc/fonts/conf.avail/50-user.conf. If not,
Code:
cd /etc/fonts/conf.d && sudo ln -s ../conf.avail/50-user.conf .
That’s the configuration file which includes ~/fonts.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 300
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

estar wrote:
If somebody’s studied the patch(set?) soya’s referring to, I’d like to know what it does, too.

It's basically the same patch, but with some slight changes: it adds some documentation and has some code-cleanup. The most important change is that it adds an option ("lcdfilter") specifying the filtering-type: the values it may contain are "lcdnone", "lcddefault" (for David Turner's filter), "lcdlight" (David Turner's filter, but less agressive), and "lcdlegacy" (the default cairo filter). This option is set through fontconfig, which has to be patched with the patch from freedesktop #13566. Also please note that the option needs to be set for sub-pixel filtering to work; or, at least, not use the cairo default filter.

The most interesting thing about this whole story is that upstream seems to accept these patches; fontconfig-2.6 will contain the patch from freedesktop #13566, and the inclusion of the patch from freedesktop #10301 in cairo is being discussed.

For those interested I've modified the patch from freedesktop #10301 to apply to cairo-1.5.12; it can be found here. The fontconfig patch from freedesktop #13566 applies to fontconfig-2.5 just fine.
_________________
Have you ever seen Geneva™, Monaco®, or New York®?
Geneva, Monaco, and New York are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., some registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using ubuntu patches and they work great. They also patch fontconfig. It is nice to have option to turn off
lcdfilter for some over bold fonts.

Openoffice will from 2.4 release use cairo to render text.
Here is screenshot to prove it: :lol:
http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=office2ao5.png

//EDIT:
I was wrong. It will not go in mainline.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

estar wrote:
Hmm, check if you have a symlink called /etc/fonts/conf.d/50-user.conf pointing to /etc/fonts/conf.avail/50-user.conf. If not,
Code:
cd /etc/fonts/conf.d && sudo ln -s ../conf.avail/50-user.conf .
That’s the configuration file which includes ~/fonts.conf.


Ya, I check it and the link is correct. I don't think this file is getting loaded when I go into the X server enviroment or any other time. Reason being, to test to see if this file is getting loaded I went into the ../conf avail/ directory and renamed the 50-user.conf to 50-user.conf .bck so it wouldn't get loaded when I execute xinit. Well, after changeing the name I exited and went back into the X server environment and there was no change in fonts and no error messages. So I am think this file isn't getting loaded, which means the .fonts.conf won't get loaded ether. What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanMajhen wrote:
I'm using ubuntu patches and they work great. They also patch fontconfig. It is nice to have option to turn off
lcdfilter for some over bold fonts.

Openoffice will from 2.4 release use cairo to render text.
Here is screenshot to prove it: :lol:
http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=office2ao5.png

//EDIT:
I was wrong. It will not go in mainline.

Anything more on this topic? Where did this screenshot came from? Any code/patches?:)
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
IvanMajhen wrote:
I'm using ubuntu patches and they work great. They also patch fontconfig. It is nice to have option to turn off
lcdfilter for some over bold fonts.

Openoffice will from 2.4 release use cairo to render text.
Here is screenshot to prove it: :lol:
http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=office2ao5.png

//EDIT:
I was wrong. It will not go in mainline.

Anything more on this topic? Where did this screenshot came from? Any code/patches?:)


This is my screenshot. :D
Precompiled binaries are from:
http://ooo.services.openoffice.org/pub/OpenOffice.org/cws/upload/cairotext01/

Just use rpm2targz to convert them, end then extract. To run openoffice just go to program folder and type:
SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN=gtk ./soffice.bin -writer
to use gtk theme and kde icons.

Patch is here:
http://cvs.fedora.redhat.com/viewcvs/rpms/openoffice.org/devel/workspace.cairotext01.patch?rev=1.6.2.1&view=markup

And ubuntu bug is here:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/openoffice.org/+bug/54776

Are you still maintaining ebuilds? It would be wise to use ubuntu patches, since they are maintained and are in hardy by default.
I use their libXft, cairo-1.5.12, and fontconfig patches. They have option in fontconfig to disable lcdfilter on fly.

You could try talk to geki to include this patch in his oo ebuild's. I tried but... :twisted:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-489909-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-200.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright - I will look into it :)
OOo looks freaking awesome.
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works with 2.3 also! :lol:
If you need ebuild PM me.

I wish i found this patch before... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 737

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would love to try these patches! Is there a tutorial on how to apply these patches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 16 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum