Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Thank you Gentoo (I'm an enthusiastic noob)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
OnlyTux
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject: Thank you Gentoo (I'm an enthusiastic noob) Reply with quote

I installed my first linux distro nearly one year ago. It was SuSE.
The difference between Windows and the free software amazed me immediately, in the sense of the control over the os, but after a while I began to feel like "restricted" by SuSE.
That is, I wanted to deeply learn how the system works, and, thogh a user-friendly ditros is quickly configurable, SuSE made me feel like I could not intervene so deeply (this is only my opinion).
After a two-days hard work among the official installation guide and many posts within this forum, I finally got it.
I still have a minimal system installed, of course. No sound can be heard, I don't find the right kernel setting for my graphics adapter, but it boots correctly, and my x86_64 installation will grow with my knowledge.
Now I can choose.
Thank you guys.
Thank you Gentoo.

OnlyTux
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

See Gentoo Linux ALSA Guide for your sound problems, and X Server Configuration HOWTO to get a graphical environment up and running.
sonicbhoc
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Thank you Gentoo (I'm an enthusiastic noob) Reply with quote

OnlyTux wrote:
I installed my first linux distro nearly one year ago. It was SuSE.
The difference between Windows and the free software amazed me immediately, in the sense of the control over the os, but after a while I began to feel like "restricted" by SuSE.