Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
lan browsing with konqueror
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gerni
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:37 pm    Post subject: lan browsing with konqueror Reply with quote

i set up lisa to browse the LAN - it works quite well.
The only problem: it don't show the computer name, only the ip-adress is shown.

anyone has a solution?
thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sudonim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 2
Location: NY

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 4:51 pm    Post subject: Same problem here. Reply with quote

I am also having this problem. I would love to have a solution to this!

Colin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use lisa, so I might be being stupid here... but do you have the facility to resolve these IP adderss on your network, either DNS or /etc/hosts file? Or if your browsing NetBios Windows names I have no clue and you should just ignore me. :-D

Puggy
_________________
Where there's open source , there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anil_et
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
You have to edit the /etc/hosts file to map the ip address to the host names in the network
Anil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerni
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to edit the /etc/hosts is no real solution because the ip's changes because we get the ip by DHCP :(


(and i've forgotten to say that the most clients in our network are windows clients.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dice
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 577

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was a thread recently about doing NetBIOS lookups on DHCP windows clients, someone posted a PERL script that you could set to run every X minutes which would scan the network and update your /etc/hosts to reflect any changes in the NetBIOS names of the computers. A mildly ugly hack, but it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum