Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trouble emerging kde-3.5.4-r1 with enablehiddenvisibility
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bernieb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Apr 2003
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:40 pm    Post subject: Trouble emerging kde-3.5.4-r1 with enablehiddenvisibility Reply with quote

I'm trying to enable kde with the enablehiddenvisibility use flag, but it is failing with the following error message:

Code:

 * You asked to enable hidden visibility, but your kdelibs was
 * built without its support. Please rebuild kdelibs with the
 * kdehiddenvisibility useflag enabled.

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdebase-3.5.4-r1 failed.


I am not sure why this is happening, as kdelibs had emerged just fine with the enablehiddenvisibility use flag before this package, as it was a dependancy.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Here's the version of kdelibs I have emerged on my system (and its use flags):

Code:

kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.4-r2  USE="alsa arts cups doc kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility spell ssl tiff xinerama -acl -debug -fam -jpeg2k -kerberos -legacyssl -lua -noutempter -openexr -zeroconf"


Thanks in advance for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same thing happening now when trying to emerge kde 3.5.5.

I suspect something changed in the kde.eclass file that messed up the kdehiddenvisibility check or perhaps something in the packaged configure scripts...

I'm at a loss myself, and I did have this working with 3.5.4-r1 compiled a little while back.
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep,

As I suspected.... they changed the kde.eclass a short while back. this broke the check for kdehiddenvisibility.

Here's the check in the eclass:

Code:

                if hasq kdehiddenvisibility ${IUSE} && use kdehiddenvisibility; then
                    if [[ $(gcc-major-version)$(gcc-minor-version) -ge 41 ]]; then
                        if [[ ${PN} != "kdelibs" && ${PN} != "arts" ]] && \
                            ! fgrep -q "#define __KDE_HAVE_GCC_VISIBILITY" "${KDEDIR}/include/kdemacros.h"; then

                            eerror "You asked to enable hidden visibility, but your kdelibs was"
                            eerror "built without its support. Please rebuild kdelibs with the"
                            eerror "kdehiddenvisibility useflag enabled."
                            die "kdelibs without hidden visibility"
                        else
                            unset kde_cv_prog_cxx_fvisibility_hidden
                            myconf="$myconf $(use_enable kdehiddenvisibility gcc-hidden-visibility)"
                        fi
                    else
                        eerror "You're trying to enable hidden visibility, but"
                        eerror "you are using an old GCC version. Hidden visibility"
                        eerror "can be enabled only with GCC 4.1 and later."
                    fi
                fi


The check is looking for "#define __KDE_HAVE_GCC_VISIBILITY" "${KDEDIR}/include/kdemacros.h" but should be looking for something else as this isn't defined in this file, but rather an #ifdef statement.

Not sure if the correct fix is to mod the line to #ifdef instead or find out where __KDE_HAVE_GCC_VISIBILITY is defined and check there.

The devs need to fix this in the kde.eclass file.
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masterdriverz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 391
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the galaxy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you posted a bug?
_________________
Solutions to misc kde problems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

masterdriverz wrote:
Have you posted a bug?


It is now: 151008

EDIT:

Actually, I think the kde.eclass is fine now. Looks like the kdecore/kdemacros.h file is simply missing the correct define.

I have no idea why it was missing as kdelibs was compiled correctly (from what I saw). Maybe it had something to do with the confcache utility incorrectly caching the flag. I am re-emerging kdelibs to see if it works now.

EDIT:

Re-emerging kdelibs again fixed the kdemacros.h file, which caused my problem. Perhaps re-emerging kdelibs will correct for you.

EDIT 3:::

It was confcache. If you have features confcache enabled in you make.conf, remove it when emerging kdelibs. This at least will allow kdelibs to build correctly. If you had previuosly compiled Qt and had confcache enabled, you may also need to re-emerge that first while confcache is disabled.
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum