Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz and graphic corruption [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Compiz and graphic corruption [Solved] Reply with quote

I'm running Compiz (the version found in portage) using compiz-nvidia, and am experiencing some minor graphic corruption problems. Most notably, when I minimize or maximize a window, it leaves a "trail" of itself behind it.

I'm currently using Compiz with GNOME.

Is there a fix for this, or do I have to live with it?


Last edited by Gentist on Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Try the following.

Code:
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz

and
Code:
gconftool-2 --install-schema-file "/etc/gconf/schemas/compiz.schemas"


This fixed it for me. There is some reordering of the way it load the plugin.
So by removing the old setting and enter the new default it fixes this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. It appears to have worked. Although shouldn't the first command say "/schemas/apps/compiz"? I tried both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

No it should be ok that way. If you start gconf-editor and check the tree.
There is /apps/compiz and the gconftool does a recursive unset of this. (remove it)

This is where the settings are, if you go down to schemas/apps/compis the key value
is <schema>.

Quote:
--recursive-unset
Recursively unset all keys at or below the key/directory names
on the command line.


No expert on Gnome, so if i'm wrong, please correct me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doogman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank-you! I've had this problem since I've started playing with compiz and this is the first time I've seen a fix that works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum