Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem emerging gtk+ (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
druha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Location: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canary Islands, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:51 am    Post subject: Problem emerging gtk+ (solved) Reply with quote

Actually im trying to emerge firefox binary package, but it installs gtk+ as a dependency. This is the output of emerge:

Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 3) x11-libs/gtk+-2.8.19 to /
 * gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 MD5 ;-) ...                                        [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 RMD160 ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 SHA1 ;-) ...                                       [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 SHA256 ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 size ;-) ...                                       [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                      [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                    [ ok ]
 * checking gtk+-2.8.19.tar.bz2 ;-) ...                                   [ ok ]
 * Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the X USE flag set

!!! ERROR: x11-libs/gtk+-2.8.19 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1562:   Called dyn_setup
  ebuild.sh, line 665:   Called pkg_setup
  gtk+-2.8.19.ebuild, line 57:   Called die

!!! cairo needs the X flag set
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.


I guess it is suggesting me to add the X flag to my USE variable, but if i do i get the same. This is how USE looks like:

Code:
USE="X -gnome qt kde dvd alsa cdr opengl"


Last edited by druha on Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 300
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried re-emerging x11-libs/cairo with the X flag first? Do an 'emerge -1 cairo'.
_________________
Have you ever seen Geneva™, Monaco®, or New York®?
Geneva, Monaco, and New York are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., some registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
druha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Location: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canary Islands, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vonr wrote:
Have you tried re-emerging x11-libs/cairo with the X flag first? Do an 'emerge -1 cairo'.


Ok, i didnt know cairo was a separate package :P. Thanks, it worked.

PS: I have just noticed the line where it asks me to re-emerge cairo, sorry :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7816

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Please re-emerge [solved]".

As noted in the handbook USE flags specified via environment variables are not retained as persistent settings so, aside from when a given USE flag setting is itself transient in nature, use one of the persistent USE flag setting methods (/etc/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use). Also, note that USE flags are case sensitive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum