Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DVD rom - how to access discs?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robgrey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Pacific Coast

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:47 am    Post subject: DVD rom - how to access discs? Reply with quote

Hello Gentoo people. I am brand new to Gentoo. I tried the live 2006, but never did get it installed. I got this one 2006.1, running O.K., it was not bad. I am a Mepis, Debian, PC-BSD, user, plus a few others.

I put in my DVD' s into the DVD burner & nothing happens. How do I get to look at the content of my DVD'd & cd's? In Debian based with KDE, a little window comes up automatically. [yes really... :o :P ] I have used Gnome before with Ubuntu 5.10, but it has been a long time, I forget.

I installed just about all the stuff that came with the easy install, you know the sorta automatic one? Also, I installed from the terminal with the new installer.

I have not populated my portage tree yet, but I somehow doubt that is a factor. Gentoo reminds me of FreeBSD, so I should catch on I think.

............thank you in advance.


Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belrpr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 440

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look at
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gnome_Desktop_for_the_End-User

I guess you mean gnome-baker. But I never used it myself so I can't really know for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belrpr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 440

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to take a look at its content:
Go to the second menu item on the right top (I guess it is locations) and then just select your dvd drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robgrey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Pacific Coast

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did this so far,

Quote:
emerge -DuN gnome
rc-update add dbus default
rc-update add hald default


Now I have the dvd, cd, floppy, available to click om. I put my dvd with the data in the DVD, then clicked on the dvd icon, it says "cannot mount volume". I tried to mount the volume, it says again, cannot mount volume. :?

This is madenness...... :o :x :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe your user account is not allowed to mount dvdrom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
See here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum