how do i know if gentoo is right for me
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
perlrpy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: how do i know if gentoo is right for me Reply with quote

im kinda new to linux but i worked on some other operating systems mac and windows
how do i know if gentoo is right for me, im tired of windows, and i wanted to know ,can gentoo run like my favorite programms like cs and aim msn messenger and perl programming supportive.
batistuta
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first question is whether linux is right for you. But that's very easy to answer: go get Ubuntu or Kubuntu liveCD and try the liveCD version or install it. Get familiar with the programs and see if you like it. If this is the case, then you might want to try Gentoo. The main advantage of Gentoo is that you can configure the system exactly the way you want it. But in order to do so, you have to know how you want it configured :D
So for this, I suggest you to play around with some Linux liveCD for a week or two, and then try to mimic such a setup with Gentoo but more taylored to your needs.

That's my suggestion, but of course you can also try Gentoo at once, altghough it will be tougher and I don't see any advantage. The main goal of Gentoo is configurability and customization to your needs, that is, complete control of what you want. But for that you need to have a basic wish or concept in mind. If you try a liveCD, you have nothing to lose!
Phenax
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Re: how do i know if gentoo is right for me Reply with quote

perlrpy wrote:
im kinda new to linux but i worked on some other operating systems mac and windows