Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.17-emission7: The Bullet Dodger
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: 2.6.17-emission7: The Bullet Dodger Reply with quote

E-Mission Sources is based on the Lockless Pagecache by Nick Piggin, GenPatches, and CK.

The main goal of this patchset is to stay updated with genpatches releases,
offer latest features, decrease latencies, decrease overhead, and improve interactivity. Another
goal of E-Mission Sources is stability. We boot test each release and run for an extended amount of time.


/* Notes */
Latest kernel patch, new version of genpatches, new version of lockless, and alot of cleanups and bug fixes.

New feature implemented called: "E-Mission Tunables". It was derived from the idea of the customizable timeslices for Staircase that Tiger683 had released for nitro-sources. What I did was, I took that idea, and moved it to the next level. I do realize that these tunables could be set in sysctl.conf, but I personally like the idea of my own custom starting point. I would appreciate your input on this new feature.


Attention:
If anyone would like to make requests for new features/drivers, either post here, or join us in #emission-sources on Freenode.


Example of new E-Mission Tunables (All but Custom are preconfigured options):
Code:
E-Mission Tunables  --->
( ) Server
( ) File Server
( ) Compute Server
( ) Desktop
( ) Low Latency Desktop
( ) Custom


Custom Menu:
Code:
E-Mission Kernel Tunables (Custom)  --->
(6) Minimum Round Robin Timeslice (in milliseconds) (NEW)
(19) Factor For Default Value (NEW)
(1) Interactive CPU Scheduling (NEW)
(0) Compute CPU Scheduling (NEW)
(80) Percentage CPU For SCHED_ISO Tasks (NEW)
(66) Percentage RAM Filled With Mapped Pages (NEW)
(1) Hard Mapped Limit (NEW)
(1) Tail Large Files (NEW)
(0) Dirty Ratio (NEW)


2.6.17-emission7: The Bullet Dodger
Code:
/* Patch List */
001-patch-2.6.17.11
002-genpatches-rollup-2.6.17-6.patch
003-patch-2.6.17-ck1
004-lockless-from-2.6.18-rc4-mm1.patch
005-iosched-rollup-2.6.17.4-2.patch
006-reiser4-for-2.6.17-3.patch
007-2.6.17-kj-resync-from-rc1-kj.patch
008-cpu-support-rollup.patch
009-linux-phc-0.2.6-kernel-vanilla-2.6.17.patch
010-realtime-lsm.patch
011-2.6.17-mm1-rollup-cleanup-patches.patch
012-2.6.17-mm-mutex-conversion.patch
013-sleazy-fpu-feature.patch
014-grsecurity-2.1.9-2.6.17.7-200608012135.patch
015-suspend2-2.2.7.4-2.6.17-r2.patch
016-zlib_inflate-update.patch
017-the-scheduled-removal-of-some-oss-drivers.patch
018-unionfs-1.3.patch
019-shutup-false-positives-2.6.17.patch
020-mark-false-positives-2.6.17-emission7.patch
021-emission-tunables-3-2.6.17-ck1.patch
022-kconfig-add-864hz.patch
023-lxdialog-from-2.6.18-rc4-mm1.patch
024-daconfig-2.3.1-2.6.17.patch
025-name-tag-2.6.17-emission7.patch


Enjoy!

Patch:
http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/linux-2.6.17-emission7.bz2

Ebuild:
http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/emission-sources-2.6.17-r7.ebuild

Broken-Out:
http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/linux-2.6.17-emission7-broken-out.tar.bz2

Broken-Out (Directory):
http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/broken-out

Making it work:

Ebuild Method:
Code:
mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/emission-sources
cd /usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/emission-sources
wget http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/emission-sources-2.6.17-r7.ebuild
ebuild emission-sources-2.6.17-r7.ebuild digest
USE="symlink" emerge emission-sources
cd /usr/src/linux
make MENUCONFIG_COLOR=blackbg menuconfig


Manual Method:
Code:
cd /usr/src
rm linux
wget http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/linux-2.6.17.tar.bz2
tar -xvjf linux-2.6.17.tar.bz2
mv linux-2.6.17 linux-2.6.17-emission7
ln -s linux-2.6.17-emission7 linux
cd linux
wget http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/linux-2.6.17-emission7.bz2
bzcat linux-2.6.17-emission7.bz2 | patch -p1
rm -rf *.bz2 *.patch
make MENUCONFIG_COLOR=blackbg menuconfig


Nesl247 has created a script to switch the settings while running the current kernel and permanently through sysctl.conf

E-Mission Tunables Script 2.2:

http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/scripts/emission-tunables

How-to Install:
Code:
wget http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/scripts/emission-tunables --output-document=/usr/bin/emission-tunables
chmod +x /usr/bin/emission-tunables


How-to Use (Choose one of the following options):
Code:
emission-tunables compute-server
emission-tunables desktop
emission-tunables file-server
emission-tunables gaming
emission-tunables ll-desktop
emission-tunables server
emission-tunables custom


This lets you switch between modes while running kernel.


For all support, requests, patches, please check the Emission-Sources Bugzilla Tracker
and check Emission-Sources Forums for new releases!
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog


Last edited by vipernicus on Mon Sep 04, 2006 9:13 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrcs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The hibernate-script version needed for this is 1.93, right? Been running emission2 long enought now, time to try something new. Hopefully this will be as good, maybe even better? Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrcs wrote:
The hibernate-script version needed for this is 1.93, right? Been running emission2 long enought now, time to try something new. Hopefully this will be as good, maybe even better? Thanks!


Yes, this version of suspend2 works differently than other suspend2 versions.

According to Whoopie:

Code:
Nigel skipped /proc for /sys. You need to adjust your scripts to point to /sys/power/suspend2/{do_suspend,do_resume}.

_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobertDavid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 271
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Repair link in manual install:

Code:
wget http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/linux-2.6.17-emission7.bz2

_________________
Arch & Fluxbox & 2.6.24-rc-zen!!!!
robertek.brevnov.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RobertDavid wrote:
Repair link in manual install:

Code:
wget http://distfiles.evolution-mission.org/sources/2.6.17/emission7/linux-2.6.17-emission7.bz2


Fixed, thank you.
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1983
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I gotta try File Server tunable :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobertDavid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 271
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have anyone tips for tunable on old hardware?? PIII 600MHz, 192MB ramm, notebook

exactly
1)percentage RAM filled with MP (default is 66, but if I have only 192MB is it good??)
2)minimum round robin timeslice (I tryed 3 but it gave me worse latencies than emission6, interbench)
3)Factor for default value (tryed 11, but I will increase it)

I use it mainly for internet, text, audio, sometimes video or gimp

I use 100Hz kernel timer (since it is notebook)
_________________
Arch & Fluxbox & 2.6.24-rc-zen!!!!
robertek.brevnov.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RobertDavid wrote:
Have anyone tips for tunable on old hardware?? PIII 600MHz, 192MB ramm, notebook

exactly
1)percentage RAM filled with MP (default is 66, but if I have only 192MB is it good??)
2)minimum round robin timeslice (I tryed 3 but it gave me worse latencies than emission6, interbench)
3)Factor for default value (tryed 11, but I will increase it)

I use it mainly for internet, text, audio, sometimes video or gimp

I use 100Hz kernel timer (since it is notebook)


You have.
/proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor
/proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice

You can change these values (where 'n' is a number) "on the fly" by:
echo n > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor
echo n > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice

You'll just have to test them out.

100HZ? Choosing that option will reduce your interactivity on the desktop. Though, it will improve your battery life. Depends on which you prefer.

How much swap do you have?
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks awesome, gotta try it :) compiling now ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kensai
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As always vipernicus and his great kernel, without any doubt this man can take out of play any other patchset available. :wink:

And the tunables are awesome man, Keep up the good work.
_________________
Gentoo: Gigabyte: nFORCE 2: nVIDIA GeForce 6600: AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Perspective of a Thinking Human Being
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
immudium
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running great here. The tunables options are awsome. It's like tweaking nirvana. I wonder if it's possible to select a tunable from grub? Something like "e-mission_tunable=server" or something like that? Or is that something that would require a recompile to switch to? I noticed that my games tend to run a little faster in server mode. It would be cool to be able to reboot in server mode and get a few extra fps for free and then switch back to desktop mode for everything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

immudium wrote:
Running great here. The tunables options are awsome. It's like tweaking nirvana. I wonder if it's possible to select a tunable from grub? Something like "e-mission_tunable=server" or something like that? I noticed that my games tend to run a little faster in server mode. It would be cool to be able to reboot in server mode and get a few extra fps for free and then switch back to desktop mode for everything else.


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
protex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tunables working like charm here as well. Both on my Low-Latency Desktop and my FileServer. Marvellous work, keep it coming =).
_________________
-Mitch

Desktop --> AMD Athlon XP 2600+@2GHZ, 1024mb DDR, BFG GeForce 6600GT OC, Gentoo (Emission guide)
Server --> AMD Duron 1300, 384mb, Gentoo Hardened
Laptop --> Intel Pentium II@399MHZ, 64mb, Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vipernicus wrote:
immudium wrote:
Running great here. The tunables options are awsome. It's like tweaking nirvana. I wonder if it's possible to select a tunable from grub? Something like "e-mission_tunable=server" or something like that? I noticed that my games tend to run a little faster in server mode. It would be cool to be able to reboot in server mode and get a few extra fps for free and then switch back to desktop mode for everything else.


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.


Alternatively, you could just add say vm.mapped=<CRAP> to /etc/sysctl.conf and let it set these at start up, which is the "proper" way to approach this (yes Vipernicus, I will not shut up about this since you insist on releasing a fancy menu wrapper to perfectly good sysctl values!)
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.


Last edited by predatorfreak on Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

predatorfreak wrote:
Alternatively, you could just add say vm.mapped=<CRAP> to /etc/sysctlc.onf and let it set these at start up, which is the "proper" way to approach this (yes Vipernicus, I will not shut up about this since you insist on releasing a fancy menu wrapper to perfectly good sysctl values!)


:lol:
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
immudium
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vipernicus wrote:


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.


Oh Cool. That's even better than I was hoping since it won't even require a reboot. Thanks for the suggestion!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

immudium wrote:
vipernicus wrote:


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.


Oh Cool. That's even better than I was hoping since it won't even require a reboot. Thanks for the suggestion!


On IRC predatorfreak suggested that compute=1 might also be good for gaming. But you'd have to test it out.
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vipernicus wrote:
immudium wrote:
vipernicus wrote:


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.


Oh Cool. That's even better than I was hoping since it won't even require a reboot. Thanks for the suggestion!


On IRC predatorfreak suggested that compute=1 might also be good for gaming. But you'd have to test it out.


compute might help gaming, but only if all you do is game, not run desktop applications, rather than echo the stuff, go for building 2 kernels.

Build 2 kernels, and make 2 boot options, one built with compute=1 interactive=0 for gaming (or whatever else) and a second for a ll desktop.
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheater1034 wrote:
compute might help gaming, but only if all you do is game, not run desktop applications, rather than echo the stuff, go for building 2 kernels.

Build 2 kernels, and make 2 boot options, one built with compute=1 interactive=0 for gaming (or whatever else) and a second for a ll desktop.


Great suggestion.
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheater1034 wrote:
vipernicus wrote:
immudium wrote:
vipernicus wrote:


Well, the way I have it set up it is not really possible to do it that way.

Once thing you can do though, is go into /proc/sys/kernel an d/proc/sys/vm and set those server tunables manually.

Example (Sorry if these locations are wrong, I am not on my home computer):

Desktop:
Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 80 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 11 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


Server/Gaming:
Code:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/interactive
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/compute
echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/iso_cpu
echo 33 > /proc/sys/vm/mapped
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/hardmaplimit
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/tail_largefiles
echo 66 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 6 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_slice
echo 19 > /proc/sys/kernel/staircase_rr_factor


You could probably even create little scripts to automate that process for you, maybe call them, 'emission-server' and 'emission-desktop'. You the switch while running the kernel.


Oh Cool. That's even better than I was hoping since it won't even require a reboot. Thanks for the suggestion!


On IRC predatorfreak suggested that compute=1 might also be good for gaming. But you'd have to test it out.


compute might help gaming, but only if all you do is game, not run desktop applications, rather than echo the stuff, go for building 2 kernels.

Build 2 kernels, and make 2 boot options, one built with compute=1 interactive=0 for gaming (or whatever else) and a second for a ll desktop.


Is it just me, or did you completely miss the fscking point of sysctl? The POINT of sysctl is to BE ABLE TO DO THIS AT RUN TIME. All you need to do is write up two sysctl.conf's, say a standard /etc/sysctl.conf and say /etc/sysctl-gaming.conf

Given our above stuff, sysctl.conf should be

kernel.interactive=1
kernel.compute=0
kernel.iso_cpu=80
vm.mapped=66
vm.hardmaplimit=1
vm.tail_largefiles=0
vm.dirty_ratio=0
kernel.staircase_rr_slice=3
kernel.staircase_rr_factor=11

and sysctl-gaming.conf should be

kernel.interactive=0
kernel.compute=1
kernel.iso_cpu=0
vm.mapped=33
vm.hardmaplimit=1
vm.tail_largefiles=0
vm.dirty_ratio=66
kernel.staircase_rr_slice=6
kernel.staircase_rr_factor=19
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
immudium
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well thank you all. I had no idea there were so many ways available to tweak those values. It's been very educational. And for what it's worth, setting the values by each of the methods (seperate kernel, scripts and sysctl) all yield comparable results. And setting compute=1 does indeed improve my quake3 benchmarks by about 8-10 fps over the already improved server mode score. Either way, even in desktop mode, this kernel still beats any score I've previously been able to achieve in past kernels that I've tried. And setting server mode improves that score by about 5% more :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work :twisted:
I love this kernel, really fast and stable.
Also include all the better patches, Great job vipernicus :)
Looking forward to a newer one :idea:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Switched from Beyond to Emission just for testing and it works great here. Until now I don't feel a great difference but it seems that Emission runs smoother under my working style. Later on I will test and change some kernel options. May than there is a greater difference. :wink:
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also switched from beyond and running very smoothly here. Thank you for best 2.6.17 kernel so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbob73
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 332
Location: Under the Lone Star

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work Vipernicus. This is the fastest kernel yet. Encoding times are cut in half for me! Very responsive. :D
_________________
A computers attention span is only as long as it's electrical cord (Murphy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum