View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mystlynxx
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: QUESTION: How long did it take YOU? Reply with quote

I'm not new to Linux but I am new to Gentoo. Coming from RH the initial setup and install seems incredibly long! So as I sit here watching all the compile information scroll past on my Linux box I thought I'd kill some time by asking how long it took others to install (complete) Gentoo.

Humour me, I can't wait to get stuck in and play with this and I'm going crosseyed watching the compile information scroll past :)

Lynn
robmoss
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My first attempt took about a week, but then, I was moving from LFS, having moved there from Red Hat, having moved there from Windows. And I hated Red Hat so much, and was so perplexed by LFS, that I'd only been a Linux user for three days :P

However, currently, it takes me about a day to get a fully functional system up and running from scratch.

emerge -U will kill your Gentoo
ecatmur, Lord of Portage Bash Scripts
Antti Alien
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My first Gentoo install took me about a week :> I had to start from the beginning a few times.

Week ago i installed Gentoo on my new laptop, and it took about four hours or so :P Though i cheated a bit and installed from stage3 and used "emerge -gK" to install all large packages like xfree and gnome ;)
Gobbo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hhmm... 'bout 2 days.
sapphirecat
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote