Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Need to know a few things before I install Gentoo.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jchahn
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Need to know a few things before I install Gentoo. Reply with quote

I have been using linux for about 5 years now. I haven't had a linux distro on my machine in almost a year because I have a sound blaster x-fi soundcard, which won't have any linux drivers until 2nd quarter of 2007 (according to creative). I couldn't stand windows any longer so I threw my old audigy card back in and am about to put Gentoo back on. I just need a few questions answered. I'm sure the answers are already here somewhere, I just don't know where to look or what it would be listed under exactly.

Now that the stage1 and stage2 installs are no longer supported, I figure I'll just follow the handbook and do a stage3. I have heard people mention in passing on here that you can do something that will basically make a stage3 have the same level of optimization as a stage1. Is there documentation somewhere that explains just exactly how to achieve that? As far as I can tell, it has something to do with emerging the latest version of GCC (using particular USE flags), then doing an emerge world, which will recompile everything of importance with the new optimizations. I just need a link that explains exactly how to do it so I don't miss a step.

Also, as long as I don't get the no-multilib version, I should have support for 32bit emulation by default, right?

I know that there is a USE flag called emul_x86_32 or something like that.. do I need to use that to get 32bit emulation or does it do it by default now?

Thanks in advance for the help everyone, :) .
John
garlik42
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote