Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mounting iso/bin's
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 9:49 pm    Post subject: mounting iso/bin's Reply with quote

I know you can mount iso's with -o loop and -t iso9660, but is there any -t for bin files? or other quite standard image formats? (such as ccd, dunno what extended data they have in those)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BIN/CUE is a weird format, ISO is standard. You can convert between them by using, say, bchunk if you want -- or you could just not use BIN, because it's dumb. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kerframil
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 710
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
or you could just not use BIN, because it's dumb

That's a little unfair. I think BIN images are dumped in RAW mode, where as ISOs usually are not (I think they call that COOKED mode by contrast). CDs use block sizes of 2352 where only 2048 bytes are used for data. The rest is reserved for error checking and correction information used by the reader's firmware. A RAW image (such as the BIN format) will have all of those bytes (2352 sector), instead of the data portion only (2048 bytes of each sector). This is useful, if you want an exact replica of the CD, otherwise the burner will re-generate the ECC information. This causes problems for copy-protected CDs (Playstation CDs for example, deliberately have the ECC bytes zeroed out), not that I would ever condone the copying of such CDs .... naturally .... !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bin IS a standard, and it is a better image than a img file... is there a way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuxored
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I use .bin images to back up my psx games onto my pc(I get nasty lag from cdrom) The Emulator is able to play the game directly from the .bin image, so yes it's possible. I don't what it uses to do it though, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know a few apps has support to read it, but unfortunatly not everything, stuff like wine for example, is not capable of doing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to clearify why I wanna do it


I got a athlon 1.2ghz at 1.4ghz, I got 3 hd's, and a overclocked display adapter, the box gets too hot = I plugged in a shitload of more fan's, then it got to noisy, so.. I drilled a hole through the wall and ran extension cables through, now I got the box with a shitload of fans in a quite ventilated room ;)

though changing cd's is work... on windows I simply used daemon-tools (confusing name for a nix user ;) ), made 1:1 copy's, ccd's or bin's, and mounted em, instead of leaving the room all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nempo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 360
Location: Linkoping, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the bin file is a 1:1 copy of a cd (I think) so its pretty hard telling where tracks start and end (shouldnt be cause its 1:1 ;D). However the starting and ending of the tracks are noted in the cue file.
Unlike iso files bin files can contain loads of different filesystems incl. audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can easily mount some bin files, as they have practicly the same format as iso's, but I can't mount those with several tracks (and most do have that theese days, stuff like safedisc uses it for example).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Itsnt deamon tools available for linux????????
I could be wrong......
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Utoxin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 411
Location: Springville, UT

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Swishy wrote:
Itsnt deamon tools available for linux????????
I could be wrong......

Wrong daemon tools. ;) The one you're thinking of is exactly what it sounds like. The one he mentioned is a tool in windows for (I would guess) copying CDs to your hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought so ... :oops: guess I should have checked first .............
cheers for the reply though
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_DW_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried emulating deamon tools with wine or winex? Myabe it i'll work :)

I some times emulate Nero burning rom to burn cdrw with wine, works good. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_DW_ wrote:
have you tried emulating deamon tools with wine or winex? Myabe it i'll work :)

I some times emulate Nero burning rom to burn cdrw with wine, works good. :D


daemon-tools is built into windows as a fake device driver, so that won't work.

though I will try nero, I love nero and didn't think about running it under wine :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum