Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xfce 4.4BETA2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Schizoid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just upgraded from beta 1 to beta 2. Everything works great.

I still can't get xfterm4 to beep at me when it should. Does anyone know if there is a trick to make it beep? I am talking about audible pc speaker beeps. It never seems to do it when it should.

And Sachankara, I have no idea how do activate composite or where to control it. I was wondering that myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baigsabeeh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 520
Location: North Brunswick, NJ

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested XFCE 4.4 two months back and I didn't like it. I'm very used to KDE.
_________________
BSD > SysV > Linux
BSD FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 273
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a very serious problem with XFCE 4.4 series, when I start gmplayer in XFCE 4.4, it tooks a very long time to show the GUI part, and occupation of CPU is 100%, also when you right click to open the preference dialog it also took long time to show the dialog. gmplayer works fine on other DEs. so I think maybe this is a problem from XFCE 4.4 desktop.

Does anyone have this problem too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AaronPPC
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 522
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm...that's odd. Does it happen everytime you start gmplayer or just the first time after booting? Does it help if you change gmplayer's skin?

The only lag I experience with gmplayer is with the file selector after I start the program. It takes a few seconds to pop up the first time I use it.
_________________
--Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 273
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AaronPPC wrote:
Hmmm...that's odd. Does it happen everytime you start gmplayer or just the first time after booting? Does it help if you change gmplayer's skin?

The only lag I experience with gmplayer is with the file selector after I start the program. It takes a few seconds to pop up the first time I use it.


Everytime I start gmplayer it takes long time to start, I have tried to change xfce theme, gmplayer theme, but doesn't work at all.

Hope this can be solved when XFCE rc released in the coming week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AaronPPC
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 522
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't suppose it is throwing any syslog messages is it?
_________________
--Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 273
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AaronPPC wrote:
I don't suppose it is throwing any syslog messages is it?


No, It doesn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you start gmplayer from the xfce terminal you may can see some error messages.
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xfce-base/xfce4-4.3.90.2

have I missed something or is the calendar not available yet?

thx 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, just tried to install from cvs but it fails to config at thunar saying exo is missing even though libexo installed .

If I give it gentoo exo it's too old.

anyone got an ebuild for cvs xfce4 , it seems either the code is broken or more likely the instructions are not accurate.

:roll:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
hmm, just tried to install from cvs but it fails to config at thunar saying exo is missing even though libexo installed .

If I give it gentoo exo it's too old.

anyone got an ebuild for cvs xfce4 , it seems either the code is broken or more likely the instructions are not accurate.

:roll:
Have you installed the latest version of the package available in portage? The Thunar ebuild depends on the wrong version of exo. :/
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave it 0.3.1.8_beta2 and configure said it needs 0.3.1.9
libexo seems to have no bearing on this.

thx 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, done most of the svn stuff by hand. Looks pretty nice and does most of what stable one did.

Other lack is bg manager. I installed desktop module but if I try to call it up it says@

Xfce Settings Manager error:
No such plugin "backdrop"

anyone sussed this stuff?
8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 273
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b3cks wrote:
If you start gmplayer from the xfce terminal you may can see some error messages.


yes, I started from terminal, but no error message appear, just start slowly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a fully working svn install, but my builds are really shitty - mostly no dependancies (it really does not matter I use a script to build them in the order they are intended to be built), but also mostly no use flags - installs all, I just don't have the time to correct them and no place to upload :)
There are new things mostly in thunar, thrash can, panel thrash applet, bug fixes, composite in xfwm works out of the box - one could switch on demand (although I do not use it). In fact it works really stable here.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack


Last edited by Gergan Penkov on Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the reply.

what did you do to get xfburn and thunar to compile of svn?

both fail for me , not finding exo even though I installed libexo or complaining that it needs >=0.3.1.9 if I use emerge exo.

the rest of it looks pretty sweet.

thx. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there were some changes in svn in the last week, I don't know if all could be compiled as of today, but normally there are no breakages this is what I have:
Code:
cat /usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc
prefix=/usr
exec_prefix=${prefix}
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
includedir=${prefix}/include

exo_api_version=0.3
exo_csource=exo-csource

Name: exo
Description: Extension library for Xfce
Requires: gtk+-2.0 libxfce4util-1.0
Version: 0.3.1.9svn-r22701
Libs: -L${libdir} -lexo-${exo_api_version}
Cflags: -I${includedir}/exo-${exo_api_version}

this means that more or less all the components were from svn r22701 and yes I do have xfburn and it is working. You could make svn to checkout particular revision if you think that in the moment there is some breakage.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cat /usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc
cat: /usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc: No such file or directory


what module did you install to get this. libexo seems to be s.t. else :?

thx
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I'll check it if there is sth new, but for now this is what I build - the script I use:
Code:

cat xfce4_svn
#!/bin/bash
emerge -D --oneshot xfce4-dev-tools gtk-engines-xfce libxfcegui4 libxfce4util libxfce4mcs xfce-mcs-manager xfce-utils xfce-mcs-plugins xfwm4 xfce4-panel xfce4-session libexo thunar xfdesktop xfce4-icon-theme xfprint mousepad xfce-extra/terminal verve xfce4-appfinder xfce4-mailwatch xfce4-mount xfcalendar xfce4-sensors xfce4-xkb thunar-archive thunar-media-tags xarchiver xfce4-xfapplet xfmedia xfce4-mixer xfburn xfce4-netload xfce4-weather xfce4-systemload

it seems that libexo installs the exo pkg-config, I don't know how the things are named in portage (xfcalendar is orage, but other than that, probably the other are named correctly - and I mean with the module names from svn).
Code:
 equery b /usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc
[ Searching for file(s) /usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc in *... ]
xfce-extra/libexo-9999 (/usr/lib/pkgconfig/exo-0.3.pc)

_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. There is a thread about the newer Xfce 4.4 Beta2: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-478786.html
2. There are some SVN build scripts (search the forums): Xfce / Thunar
3. Xfce SVN is in fluidportage. You may want try this: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-204881.html

May something of this works better for you.

Regards.
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
anyone got an ebuild for cvs xfce4 , it seems either the code is broken or more likely the instructions are not accurate.

http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/xfce/ :D
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

many thanks for all the replies , that should fix me when I have a bit of time to undo what I did yesterday and use the 9999 ebuilds.

mny-thx 8)

nice ebuilds. just one prob with xfdesktop :
Code:

"; exit 1; fi
xfce-desktop.c: In function `xfce_desktop_setup_icon_view':
xfce-desktop.c:222: error: `XFDESKTOP_SPECIAL_FILE_ICON_HOME' undeclared (first use in this function)
xfce-desktop.c:222: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
xfce-desktop.c:222: error: for each function it appears in.)
xfce-desktop.c:225: error: `XFDESKTOP_SPECIAL_FILE_ICON_FILESYSTEM' undeclared (first use in this function)
xfce-desktop.c:228: error: `XFDESKTOP_SPECIAL_FILE_ICON_TRASH' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[2]: *** [xfdesktop-xfce-desktop.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/xfdesktop-9999/work/xfdesktop-9999/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage/tmp/portage/xfdesktop-9999/work/xfdesktop-9999'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: xfce-base/xfdesktop-9999 failed.


dont know if this is a glitch in cvs maybe. :?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason, the GDM session installed doesn't run xfdesktop. What's going on?
_________________
[ Kawa-kun, new and improved!! ]

Alex Libman seems to be more of an anarchist than a libertarian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:35 am    Post subject: XFce4.4 Beta2 and Battery Applet Reply with quote

Where would I find a battery applet of any sort for XFce4.4 Beta2?
_________________
[ Kawa-kun, new and improved!! ]

Alex Libman seems to be more of an anarchist than a libertarian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rodoke
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2005
Posts: 87
Location: So. Ill.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am back on 4.2 after trying out 4.4b2 for awhile. There were some things I loved (e.g. "All my keyboard shortcuts work now!") and though there was still some wet paint hanging around, the whole thing seems to be a nice improvement on xfce 4.2. There were two important problems:


  1. I had two instances of gkrellm2 running in the (former) ~/Desktop/Autostart directory--4.4 never seemed content to just run the scripts once.
  2. Intermittently, 4.4 would just stop accepting keyboard input. I couldn't get what I typed to appear on the screen--nothing except for Ctrl+Alt+F<n> (Switch VT) and Ctrl+Alt+Backspace (Zap X) would work. I know the latter because that was the only way to get out of X, as the "Exit" button stopped working.


I like the new features, but I think I'll just wait for it to go stable.
_________________
Bill Watterson wrote:
If we wanted more leisure, we'd invent machines that do things less efficiently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum