Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
That new GNOME menu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
perplx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Montréal, QC

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:32 pm    Post subject: That new GNOME menu Reply with quote

I've seen two alternatives to GNOME's standard "foot" menu which look really cool

The first is Novell's "Computer" menu, as seen in the Xgl videos. It's going to be part of Suse Linux Enterprise Desktop (SLED) 10.

The other one is Gimmie, which was presented at GUADEC and mentioned in this week's GWN.

Before I break something trying to get these to work, has anyone tried either of these on Gentoo? Has Novell even released the source for their thing? Where is GNOME itself heading?
_________________
Gentoo: keep it real.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juniper
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Posts: 763
Location: EU

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm. looks cool, i would be interested in this.

sorry, no idea how to do this. i am running gnome-2.12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get the menu in this way:

Code:
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@anoncvs.gnome.org:/cvs/gnome co slab

then you have to run autogen.sh and then make and make install.

More info on the ubuntuforums can be found here:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=208131

I have it running here met Gnome 2.14.x
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have not NetworkManager installed so ./configure fails.

is there a way to tell configure not to use it?

i searched a lil bit in google and found the disable option, but it doesn`t work.

./configure --disable-NetworkManager --prefix=/usr

maybe someone wants to help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 2:48 am    Post subject: ./configure? Reply with quote

Try putting autogen.sh instead of configure. I just got it up on my box, runs fine :wink:

Code:
 ./autogen.sh --disable-NetworkManager --prefix=/usr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 3:05 pm    Post subject: ./configure Reply with quote

well, something seems to be wrong on my gentoo box...

first of all, i had to install gtk-doc, because slab also wants that.

then i did

Code:
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@anoncvs.gnome.org:/cvs/gnome co slab


and after successfully downloading the cvs

i did

Code:
./autogen.sh --disable-NetworkManager --prefix=/usr


unfortunately it failed again.

i post you here the log

Code:
/usr/bin/gnome-autogen.sh
checking for autoconf >= 2.53...
  testing autoconf2.50... not found.
  testing autoconf... found 2.60
checking for automake >= 1.9...
  testing automake-1.9... found 1.9.6
checking for libtool >= 1.4.3...
  testing libtoolize... found 1.5.22
checking for glib-gettext >= 2.2.0...
  testing glib-gettextize... found 2.12.0
checking for intltool >= 0.25...
  testing intltoolize... found 0.35.0
checking for pkg-config >= 0.14.0...
  testing pkg-config... found 0.20
checking for gtk-doc >= 1.0...
  testing gtkdocize... found 1.6
Checking for required M4 macros...
Checking for forbidden M4 macros...
Processing ./configure.in
Running libtoolize...
You should add the contents of `/usr/share/aclocal/libtool.m4' to `aclocal.m4'.
Running glib-gettextize... Ignore non-fatal messages.
Copying file mkinstalldirs
Copying file po/Makefile.in.in

Please add the files
  codeset.m4 gettext.m4 glibc21.m4 iconv.m4 isc-posix.m4 lcmessage.m4
  progtest.m4
from the /usr/share/aclocal directory to your autoconf macro directory
or directly to your aclocal.m4 file.
You will also need config.guess and config.sub, which you can get from
ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/config/.

Running intltoolize...
Running gtkdocize...
Running aclocal-1.9...
Running autoconf...
Running autoheader...
Running automake-1.9...
configure.in: installing `./install-sh'
configure.in: installing `./missing'
application-browser/src/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
Running ./configure --enable-maintainer-mode --disable-NetworkManager --prefix=/usr ...
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking how to create a ustar tar archive... gnutar
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking what warning flags to pass to the C compiler... -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes
checking what language compliance flags to pass to the C compiler...
checking for library containing strerror... none required
checking for gcc... (cached) gcc
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... (cached) yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... (cached) yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... (cached) none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... (cached) gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /bin/grep
checking for egrep... /bin/grep -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for a sed that does not truncate output... /bin/sed
checking for ld used by gcc... /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld option to reload object files... -r
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking whether ln -s works... yes
checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking for g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking dependency style of g++... gcc3
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... g++ -E
checking for g77... no
checking for f77... no
checking for xlf... no
checking for frt... no
checking for pgf77... no
checking for cf77... no
checking for fort77... no
checking for fl32... no
checking for af77... no
checking for f90... no
checking for xlf90... no
checking for pgf90... no
checking for pghpf... no
checking for epcf90... no
checking for gfortran... gfortran
checking whether we are using the GNU Fortran 77 compiler... yes
checking whether gfortran accepts -g... yes
checking the maximum length of command line arguments... 32768
checking command to parse /usr/bin/nm -B output from gcc object... ok
checking for objdir... .libs
checking for ar... ar
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for strip... strip
checking for correct ltmain.sh version... yes
checking if gcc supports -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions... no
checking for gcc option to produce PIC... -fPIC
checking if gcc PIC flag -fPIC works... yes
checking if gcc static flag -static works... yes
checking if gcc supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking whether the gcc linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking whether -lc should be explicitly linked in... no
checking dynamic linker characteristics... GNU/Linux ld.so
checking how to hardcode library paths into programs... immediate
checking whether stripping libraries is possible... yes
checking if libtool supports shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build static libraries... yes
configure: creating libtool
appending configuration tag "CXX" to libtool
checking for ld used by g++... /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking whether the g++ linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking for g++ option to produce PIC... -fPIC
checking if g++ PIC flag -fPIC works... yes
checking if g++ static flag -static works... yes
checking if g++ supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking whether the g++ linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking dynamic linker characteristics... GNU/Linux ld.so
checking how to hardcode library paths into programs... immediate
appending configuration tag "F77" to libtool
checking if libtool supports shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build static libraries... yes
checking for gfortran option to produce PIC... -fPIC
checking if gfortran PIC flag -fPIC works... yes
checking if gfortran static flag -static works... yes
checking if gfortran supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking whether the gfortran linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking dynamic linker characteristics... GNU/Linux ld.so
checking how to hardcode library paths into programs... immediate
checking for intltool >= 0.34... 0.35.0 found
checking for perl... /usr/bin/perl
checking for XML::Parser... ok
checking for iconv... /usr/bin/iconv
checking for msgfmt... /usr/bin/msgfmt
checking for msgmerge... /usr/bin/msgmerge
checking for xgettext... /usr/bin/xgettext
checking locale.h usability... yes
checking locale.h presence... yes
checking for locale.h... yes
checking for LC_MESSAGES... yes
checking libintl.h usability... yes
checking libintl.h presence... yes
checking for libintl.h... yes
checking for ngettext in libc... yes
checking for dgettext in libc... yes
checking for bind_textdomain_codeset... yes
checking for msgfmt... /usr/bin/msgfmt
checking for dcgettext... yes
checking for gmsgfmt... /usr/bin/gmsgfmt
checking for xgettext... /usr/bin/xgettext
checking for catalogs to be installed...  ar bg bn br bs ca cs cy da de el en_IGID es fi fr gl he hi hr hu id it ja ka km ko lo lt nb nl pa pl pt_BR pt ro ru sk sl sr sv ta tr uk zh_CN zh_TW
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking for GLIB - version >= 2.8.0... yes (version 2.12.0)
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for LIBUTILS... yes
checking for GLADE... yes
checking for LIBTILE... yes
checking for LIBSLAB... yes
checking for MAIN_MENU... configure: error: Package requirements ( glib-2.0 gobject-2.0 gtk+-2.0 gdk-2.0 libpanelapplet-2.0 gnome-desktop-2.0 gconf-2.0 libgtop-2.0 libgnome-2.0 libgnomeui-2.0 dbus-glib-1 NetworkManager hal-storage ) were not met:

No package 'NetworkManager' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables MAIN_MENU_CFLAGS
and MAIN_MENU_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.


i have no clue what´s wrong...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm could it be that i need sys-devel/autogen?

in the log above there is something of gnome-autogen.sh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 4:58 pm    Post subject: hmm.. Reply with quote

I doubt it, i said the same for mine. I would think that you can't get away without NetworkManager installed, could you post the link where you got the --disable-NetworkManager? :?

a quick solution might be to just install NetworkManager, getting it up is relatively easy.. :P
http://gentopia.gentooexperimental.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i just thought that networkmanager would just be like an add-on, not a required dependancy.

hmm.. the problem with networkmanager is that i was not able to get a ip, because dhcdp clients can`t get an ip from my router (very old cisco isdn router)

my second reason not to use nm is that it seems gentoo-devs doesn´t like it very much, so the chance it will be added to portage are very low.

kk, i make a backup of my installation and install there nm. i want to see that panel 8)

thanks for the help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i finally succeeded. :roll:

here is another interesting link for an control-center replacement.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=207894&highlight=gcontrol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it is :)
I am already talking to them to get it running on Gentoo 8)
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You got it up? :wink: hey does the control panel work properly? because mine diplays only the accessibility group for some reasons :?: i think it's something in my gnome settings itself, anyone got any idea? :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it shows the same thing for me. don`t think it is a gnome settings problem.

that gcontrol works better. you can adapt it by editing the python script.

i also changed in /usr/share/applications/control-center.desktop the exe in gcontrol, so the new one from ubuntu will be loaded.

luckily slab can be adapted via gconf-editor, so porthole works instead of yast, when you use the installation button :>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx :P getting that gcontrol up :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmmm gcontrol doesn't work here :(
Somebody who can give me an step to step guide how to set it up the right way ?
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

u just have to follow the installation file. then it should work

in order to start to programm you have to type gcontrol in a terminal or use alt + f2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did, but that doesn't work for me :cry:
Nothing starts, and also no process started.
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vitae
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe some gnome-python packages are missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmm I have this installed:

Code:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] dev-python/gnome-python-2.12.4  USE="gtkhtml -debug -doc" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-python/gnome-python-desktop-2.14.0  USE="X -debug" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-python/gnome-python-extras-2.14.0-r1  USE="X -debug -doc -firefox -seamonkey" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-python/pygtk-2.8.6  USE="opengl -doc" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-lang/python-2.4.3-r1  USE="berkdb gdbm ncurses readline ssl -bootstrap -build -doc -ipv6 -nocxx -tk -ucs2" 0 kB

_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had that too :P try re-emerging pycairo! cheers! :wink:

Code:
emerge -uDav pycairo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That didn't solved it for me :(
I did

Code:
 emerge -Dav pycairo

and after it was ready i tried again but nothing happend.
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you try to open it again and then post your .xsession-errors? :?:

Code:
cat ~/.xsession-errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the output:

Code:

priyantha@R22 ~ $ gcontrol
priyantha@R22 ~ $ cat ~/.xsession-errors
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/bin/sessreg -a -w /var/log/wtmp -u /var/run/utmp -x "/var/gdm/:0.Xservers" -h "" -l ":0" "priyantha"
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Beginning session setup...
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Setup done, will execute: /usr/bin/ssh-agent -- gnome-session
SESSION_MANAGER=local/R22:/tmp/.ICE-unix/7325
/usr/bin/compiz: No composite extension
Unable to open desktop file epiphany.desktop for panel launcher
Unable to open desktop file evolution.desktop for panel launcher

** (gnome-session-properties:7433): WARNING **: Could not save /usr/share/gnome/autostart/gnome-volume-manager.desktop file


** (gnome-session-properties:7433): WARNING **: Could not save /usr/share/gnome/autostart/gnome-volume-manager.desktop file

kbuildsycoca running...
unix_connect: can't connect to server (unix:/tmp/ksocket-priyantha/R22-18d7-44abf146)
Launched ok, pid = 7453
There are already artsd objects registered, looking if they are active...
... cleaned 5 unused mcop global references.

warning: leaving MCOP Dispatcher and still 1 object references alive.
priyantha@R22 ~ $

_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
callx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm nothing really helpful there.. no errors about gcontrol :? maybe a revdep-rebuild and see how it goes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Priyantha Bleeker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I will try that also :)
I will let you all tomorrow know if it was the sollution.
_________________
Greetings, Priyantha Bleeker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum