Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't boot: Can't open /dev/ROOT
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Woldamer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Can't boot: Can't open /dev/ROOT Reply with quote

Hi!

I try to test a gentoo in VMware.

So I get a mount error on booting:

Code:
* checking root filesystem...
fschk.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/ROOT
/dev/ROOT:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem


So that's right, because my root partition is ext3 like your install guide descibe it to do.

And if enter my root pwd for maintance, I can't see any /dev/ROOT... "mount" tells me, that "/hda3" is already mounted as "/". So I don't understand that message :-/

Here my grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r8
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/linux-2.6.14-hardened-r8-pax-grsec root=/dev/hda3


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forgotten1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 477
Location: East Coast, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks like an error in fstab. Mind posting that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woldamer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right...

Okay, I've only to delete that mysterios line?
Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>         <mountpoint>   <type>      <opts>      <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/BOOT      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime   1 2
/dev/ROOT      /      ext3      noatime      0 1
/dev/SWAP      none      swap      sw      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro   0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto      0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc         /proc      proc      defaults   0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm         /dev/shm   tmpfs      nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0


Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forgotten1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 477
Location: East Coast, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, go back to the installation handbook, and review the information on fstab. You need to replace ROOT, BOOT, and SWAP with the actual devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 305
Location: Canada, Barrie, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Can't boot: Can't open /dev/ROOT Reply with quote

Woldamer wrote:
Hi!

I try to test a gentoo in VMware.

So I get a mount error on booting:

Code:
* checking root filesystem...
fschk.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/ROOT
/dev/ROOT:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem


So that's right, because my root partition is ext3 like your install guide descibe it to do.

And if enter my root pwd for maintance, I can't see any /dev/ROOT... "mount" tells me, that "/hda3" is already mounted as "/". So I don't understand that message :-/

Here my grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r8
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/linux-2.6.14-hardened-r8-pax-grsec root=/dev/hda3


Thanks


Because you mentionned that /hda3 is already mount on '/'. I assume your /boot is mounted on hda1 and your swap partition is mounted on /hda2.

So maybe something like this:

Code:

/dev/hda1      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime   1 2
/dev/hda3      /      ext3      noatime      0 1
/dev/hda2      none      swap      sw      0 0


Also, right now fstab assumes your /boot is ext2 and / is ext3. If those aren't correct, change them to the filesystem you set them up to at the begining of the instalation. And I'm pretty sure that if you used ReiserFS, that you need to compile those modules into the kernel, then re-compile your kernel. :D

If that dosen't work, sorry. But i'm also no expert in Gentoo, but I'm learning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
See here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum