Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem compiling packages (slocate in particular)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 12:32 pm    Post subject: Problem compiling packages (slocate in particular) Reply with quote

Simple and usefull app (86k) but it does not like me .. :-(

Here is the output.
Code:

root@localhost Packages # emerge slocate
...
...
...
config.status: executing default-1 commands
cd . && /var/tmp/portage/slocate-2.7/work/slocate-2.7/missing automake-1.4 --gnu Makefile
WARNING: `automake-1.4' is needed, and you do not seem to have it handy on your
         system.  You might have modified some files without having the
         proper tools for further handling them.  Check the `README' file,
         it often tells you about the needed prerequirements for installing
         this package.  You may also peek at any GNU archive site, in case
         some other package would contain this missing `automake-1.4' program.
make: *** [Makefile.in] Error 1

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/slocate-2.7 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 16, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

I compiled the whole system and kdebase.. how come it does not find automake?

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux


Last edited by MOttS on Wed Apr 09, 2003 12:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

automake-1.4 is part of the automake package. Did you "emerge automake" ?
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have lots of stuff about automake in /usr/share.. something like

/usr/share/automake-1.4
...
/usr/share/automake-1.5
...
/usr/share/automake-1.6


Is this ok? I'm not at home right now so I cannot do an 'emerge -s automake'. But again, I compiled the whole system from the bootstrap process to 'emerge kdebase' .. how can automake not be installed?

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have these?
Code:
/usr/bin/automake-1.4
/usr/bin/aclocal-1.4


Quote:
But again, I compiled the whole system from the bootstrap process to 'emerge kdebase' .. how can automake not be installed?


I don't know. Maybe some binaries got deleted or something. Maybe they are there and it is a different problem.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimbow wrote:
Do you have these?
Code:
/usr/bin/automake-1.4
/usr/bin/aclocal-1.4



For an unknown reason --> NO !!

So if I try to merge it I get
Code:

root@localhost gd # emerge automake
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-devel/automake-1.7.2 to /
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.7.2.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.6.3.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.5.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.4-p5.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking automake-1.7.2.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.6.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.5.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.4-p5.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
 * Applying automake-1.5-target_hook.patch...

 * Failed Patch: automake-1.5-target_hook.patch!
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/temp/automake-1.5-target_hook.patch-9393.out


!!! ERROR: sys-devel/automake-1.7.2 failed.
!!! Function epatch, Line 321, Exitcode 0
!!! Failed Patch: automake-1.5-target_hook.patch!


Emerge patch now:

Code:

oot@localhost gd # emerge patch
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 to /
>>> md5 ;-) patch-2.5.4.tar.gz
...
...
...
>>> Merging sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 to /
--- /usr/
--- /usr/bin/
!!! Failed to move /var/tmp/portage/patch-2.5.4-r4/image/usr/bin/patch to /usr/bin/patch
!!! [Errno 5] Input/output error
>>> /usr/bin/patch
--- /usr/share/
--- /usr/share/doc/
--- /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/README.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/NEWS.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/COPYING.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/AUTHORS.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/ChangeLog.gz
--- /usr/share/man/
--- /usr/share/man/man1/
>>> /usr/share/man/man1/patch.1.gz

>>> Safely unmerging already-installed instance...
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/man/man1/patch.1.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/README.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/NEWS.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/ChangeLog.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/COPYING.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/AUTHORS.gz
--- !empty dir /usr/share/man/man1
--- !empty dir /usr/share/man
--- !empty dir /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4
--- !empty dir /usr/share/doc
--- !empty dir /usr/share
--- !empty dir /usr/bin
--- !empty dir /usr
>>> original instance of package unmerged safely.
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 merged.

 sys-devel/patch
    selected: none
   protected: 2.5.4-r4
     omitted: none

>>> clean: No packages selected for removal.

>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> Auto-cleaning packages ...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.


The interesting part about patch is that the executable isn't copied to /usr/bin.

Code:

...
--- /usr/bin/
!!! Failed to move /var/tmp/portage/patch-2.5.4-r4/image/usr/bin/patch to /usr/bin/patch
!!! [Errno 5] Input/output error
>>> /usr/bin/patch
...


I also have a problem with KDM.. XDM is starting instead of KDM. So I checked the logs and the system does not find 'which'. If I try to merge which I get:

Code:

root@localhost gd # emerge which
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-apps/which-2.14 to /
>>> md5 ;-) which-2.14.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking which-2.14.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/which-2.14/work
/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 21: patch: command not found

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/which-2.14 failed.
!!! Function src_unpack, Line 21, Exitcode 127
!!! (no error message)


The whole system is mixed up man .. what's wrong?

Thx

MOTtS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimbow wrote:
Do you have these?
Code:
/usr/bin/automake-1.4
/usr/bin/aclocal-1.4



For an unknown reason --> NO !!

So if I try to merge it I get
Code:

root@localhost gd # emerge automake
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-devel/automake-1.7.2 to /
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.7.2.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.6.3.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.5.tar.gz
>>> md5 ;-) automake-1.4-p5.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking automake-1.7.2.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.6.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.5.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
>>> Unpacking automake-1.4-p5.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/work
 * Applying automake-1.5-target_hook.patch...

 * Failed Patch: automake-1.5-target_hook.patch!
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/automake-1.7.2/temp/automake-1.5-target_hook.patch-9393.out


!!! ERROR: sys-devel/automake-1.7.2 failed.
!!! Function epatch, Line 321, Exitcode 0
!!! Failed Patch: automake-1.5-target_hook.patch!


Emerge patch now:

Code:

oot@localhost gd # emerge patch
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 to /
>>> md5 ;-) patch-2.5.4.tar.gz
...
...
...
>>> Merging sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 to /
--- /usr/
--- /usr/bin/
!!! Failed to move /var/tmp/portage/patch-2.5.4-r4/image/usr/bin/patch to /usr/bin/patch
!!! [Errno 5] Input/output error
>>> /usr/bin/patch
--- /usr/share/
--- /usr/share/doc/
--- /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/README.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/NEWS.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/COPYING.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/AUTHORS.gz
>>> /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/ChangeLog.gz
--- /usr/share/man/
--- /usr/share/man/man1/
>>> /usr/share/man/man1/patch.1.gz

>>> Safely unmerging already-installed instance...
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/man/man1/patch.1.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/README.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/NEWS.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/ChangeLog.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/COPYING.gz
--- !mtime obj /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4/AUTHORS.gz
--- !empty dir /usr/share/man/man1
--- !empty dir /usr/share/man
--- !empty dir /usr/share/doc/patch-2.5.4-r4
--- !empty dir /usr/share/doc
--- !empty dir /usr/share
--- !empty dir /usr/bin
--- !empty dir /usr
>>> original instance of package unmerged safely.
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> sys-devel/patch-2.5.4-r4 merged.

 sys-devel/patch
    selected: none
   protected: 2.5.4-r4
     omitted: none

>>> clean: No packages selected for removal.

>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> Auto-cleaning packages ...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.


The interesting part about patch is that the executable isn't copied to /usr/bin.

Code:

...
--- /usr/bin/
!!! Failed to move /var/tmp/portage/patch-2.5.4-r4/image/usr/bin/patch to /usr/bin/patch
!!! [Errno 5] Input/output error
>>> /usr/bin/patch
...


I also have a problem with KDM.. XDM is starting instead of KDM. So I checked the logs and the system does not find 'which'. If I try to merge which I get:

Code:

root@localhost gd # emerge which
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-apps/which-2.14 to /
>>> md5 ;-) which-2.14.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking which-2.14.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/which-2.14/work
/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 21: patch: command not found

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/which-2.14 failed.
!!! Function src_unpack, Line 21, Exitcode 127
!!! (no error message)


The whole system is mixed up man .. what's wrong?

Thx

MOTtS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The whole system is mixed up man .. what's wrong?
_________________
-Server: Dell OptiPlex GX1 (2 P200) with MDK 9.0 smp
-Desktop: Duron1.3GHz @ 1.5GHz, nVidia GF2, 30GB WD HD -Currently compiling Gentoo 1.4rc3-


I am certain the problem is Duron1.3GHz @ 1.5GHz.

I had a hell of a time installing Gentoo on my Dell i8200 laptop. I was able to install to an ext2 partition okay. But it always borked when I tried to install to a ResierFS.

The problem was heat. Those long compiles really heat stress a system. The ReiserFS makes it worse (because it is faster, not a design flaw). I solved my problem by manually turning my fans on full during the install and then setting the thermostat to keep things cool.

Your file system is borked. You need to start over with a mkfs of your choice. I suspected you were having a heat problem but then when I saw that you are overclocking I was certain.

If it is any comfort I installed four times trying different solutions before zeroing in on the heat problem. Took about a week.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't want to disapoint you but I compiled the whole thing (even 'emerge kde' .. not only kdebase .. the WHOLE kde suit) last January with the same hardware .. no mod at all, same overclocking and everything went well.

I had the following in make.conf:

CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe"

and now I compiled with:

CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe --fomit-frame-pointer"

Could that be the --fomit-frame-pointer? Do you have an idea which test(s) I could do so to be sure about the problem(s)/cause(s) of that shit?

Look at dmesg :!: :!:
Code:

root@localhost gd # dmesg
>zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
zam-7001: io error in reiserfs_find_entry
...
...
...
...
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?
is_tree_node: node level 0 does not match to the expected one 1
vs-5150: search_by_key: invalid format found in block 13480. Fsck?


:lol:

Thx for your input man!

MottS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOttS wrote:
I don't want to disapoint you but I compiled the whole thing ... last January with the same hardware ..


I will not be disappointed if your system is not broken.

Quote:
Could that be the --fomit-frame-pointer?
It could be but I don't know if this will increase compile times or not. It could be that there is a little more lint somewhere slowing down your cooling.

Quote:
Do you have an idea which test(s) I could do so to be sure about the problem(s)/cause(s) of that shit?


You should definitely run fsck after booting from the liveCD. You can also try running memtest86 to see if your ram is okay.

The thing is that files disappearing magically like that is extremely strong evidence for a borked file system. No matter how much you try to clean things up there will always be the possiblity of little time bombs lingering in your system.

Drobbins pubished a little script to heat stress a system. It compiles the kernel over and over again (I wonder if it gets bored?).
Code:
!/bin/bash

cd /usr/src/linux
make dep
while [ "foo" = "foo" ]
do
        make clean
        make -j2 bzImage
        if [ $? -ne 0 ]
        then
                echo OUCH OUCH OUCH OUCH
                exit 1
        fi
done


If this works for a while and then fails later on then you know you have a hardware problem. But this doesn't stress the system as much as big emerges do. So if it always works you can't be sure that there is no problem. It would be interesting to see what happens with this script after mounting /usr/src/linux on a tmpfs. That would really stress your CPU and RAM but would let your harddrive off the hook.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again for your input Jimbow

I booted from the LiveCD and did a 'fdisk.reiserfs /dev/hda6 --check' and everything went fine. The prog did not detect anything wrong.

This installation is not working very well so I'm going to put back the image I created with Partimage just before to format the partition last week-end. I'll run it for a 2-3 days.. we will see if files disapear and if I can compile things.

Jimbow wrote:

Drobbins pubished a little script to heat stress a system. It compiles the kernel over and over again (I wonder if it gets bored?).

:lol: Well, as long as "foo" = "foo", I don't thing the system will get bored. :lol: Really funny piece of script.

Ok thanks.. I'll let you know what will happen..

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hesitate to tell you this. I don't have an axe to grind, but you might want to do a search here for "overclock". It is one of the leading causes of emerge failures.

I'm not telling you what to do. You know your system and I don't. But I just wouldn't feel right if I withheld this information from you.

Good luck, I hope it works. Please let us know what happens.

PS: I think I'm going to try that tmpfs thing with Drobbins script. I'll put in a "date >> file" command so I can compare times w/ and wo/ the tmpfs.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reinstalled my image and I will try to compile some stuff tonight.. just to know if it can compile. If that works I will try to reinstall Gentoo without the --fomit-frame-pointer option in /etc/make.conf. I don't understand so much why that option would make difference but .. we never know. I will also delete my /dev/hda6 partition before create and new one and format it. This week-end I only reformated the partition (mkreiserfs /dev/hda6).. that may have mixed things up (?).

Will let you know.

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOttS wrote:
I reinstalled my image and I will try to compile some stuff tonight.. just to know if it can compile. If that works I will try to reinstall Gentoo without the --fomit-frame-pointer option in /etc/make.conf. I don't understand so much why that option would make difference but .. we never know.


If omitting -fomit-frame-pointer fixes things then that points to a heat problem.

Quote:

I will also delete my /dev/hda6 partition before create and new one and format it. This week-end I only reformated the partition (mkreiserfs /dev/hda6).. that may have mixed things up (?).


I think so. This is a likely source of the problem. Please explain what you did, especially which commands you used to move the data between partitions.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimbow wrote:
I think so. This is a likely source of the problem. Please explain what you did, especially which commands you used to move the data between partitions.


Well, I didn't move any datas. I only reformated the partition (hda6) in ReiserFS. The command I issued was
Code:

mkreiserfs /dev/hda6

or something similar to that (I'm not at home right now so can't provide you the exact command). In the Gentoo Installation HowTo, they uses fdisk to create a partition and then format it but since the partition was already created I thought it would not be required to do so. This is why I only formated (basically like 'format c:' .. that erases all the datas on the existing partition c: ).

One question .. how can omiting --fomit-frame-pointer can prove that the problem is due to heat? This just causes the programs to be compiled without the 'verbose debugging' (or something like that) option isn't it? I don't want to debug anything so this is why I put that option.

CYa

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOttS wrote:
Well, I didn't move any datas. I only reformated the partition (hda6) in ReiserFS. The command I issued was ...
Opps. My mistake. Carry on.

Quote:
One question .. how can omiting --fomit-frame-pointer can prove that the problem is due to heat?


My reasoning is that most people use --fomit-frame-pointer and no one has had any trouble with it. It is harmless. So if your system compiles without that option but does no compile with it then either there is a problem with your gcc (I hadn't thought of this) or there is an intermitent hardware problem related to using that option which I would think would be heat.
_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok..

Yesterday I compiled a couple of programs with my old installation (the Partimage image) and everything went fine. So I decided to reinstall Gentoo. I followed the exact same procedure I did last week-end. Right now, I bootstraped, emerge system, compiled the kernel and rebooted. Upon reboot, I typed 'patch', 'which' and couple of others to see if the binaries were installed and they were ! So I'm currently compiling kdebase (the system is at compiling QT right now). By tonight that should be done. We'll see if the problem come back. I have to note that the problem appeared only after compiling kdebase.. because last week-end, I have been able to compile kdebase and after that .. nothing was compiling. This is when the problems started .. with slocate and all that. We'll see..

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOttS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Mtl, CDN

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem yet.. KDE is finished to compile. All the binaries are there and no problem yet. I cross my fingers.. :lol:

MOttS
_________________
No longer using Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RATFOOD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey I was installing gentoo on my other computer and I had this problem so I did
#emerge automake
#emerge patch

(among other things) and got it working but can someone give me a quick answer on what these automake & patch actually do??

(should I unmerge them or will they be ok just hanging out there?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 597
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RATFOOD wrote:
(among other things) and got it working but can someone give me a quick answer on what these automake & patch actually do??

(should I unmerge them or will they be ok just hanging out there?)


They are important. Patch is used all over the place for making small changes to source code. It is used constantly in Portage. Try a
Code:
locate "*.patch" | less


Automake is used to create the standard Makefiles that are used in most software distributions we use. That whole string of lines saying checking for this and checking for that come the ./configure file that was created by Automake. Even though the ./configure files don't need Automake in order to run, it is used by a bunch of packages. You can do a
Code:
qpkg -q automake

to see which ones. (qpkg is part of gentoolkit).

To find out more do:
Code:
info automake
info patch

_________________
After Perl everything else is just assembly language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RATFOOD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Jimbow, I didn't know there was an info command like that!

However when I do

#locate "*.patch" |less

I get

Code:
warning: locate: Could not find the group: slocate in the /etc/group file.
fatal error: This is a result of the group missing or a corrupted group file.


can I just ignore this or will it cause me problems in the future?

EDIT: NEVERMIND!
I re-emerged slocate and now I get nothing when I do
#locate "*.patch" | less
so the error message went away :)

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum