Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
what happened to stage 1 and stage 2?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fusama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: what happened to stage 1 and stage 2? Reply with quote

My gentoo system started acting like my old windows system (programs randomly crashing for no apparent reason), so I decided to treat it like a windows system: wipe and reinstall. I'm sure the instability was my fault; I probably broke something durring my kernel programming class last semester. So, anyway, I reformat the drive pop in my newly minted gentoo install CD and start steping through the documentation when it tells me to use a stage 3 because stage 1 and 2 are no longer supported.

What happened to Stage 1 and 2? Why are they no longer supported? Does "no longer supported" mean that I can still do a stage 1 if I want, there just isn't any documentation, or is it gone? I was planning on doing a Stage 1 because I have an AMD Sempron, I have the time, and I have a second computer to use in the mean time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Re: what happened to stage 1 and stage 2? Reply with quote

fusama wrote:
Does "no longer supported" mean that I can still do a stage 1 if I want, there just isn't any documentation, or is it gone?
Yes, you can still do a stage 1, unsupported means just that, but nothing's stopping you from asking questions on the forums anyway. :wink:

See How do I Install Gentoo Using a Stage1 or Stage2 Tarball? from the Gentoo FAQs for a little bit of info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1738
Location: Emerald Isles, overlooking Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

isn't doing a stage3, changing the chost and doing a double emerge system && emerge world pretty much identical to a stage1? i wouldn't see much of a reason for a stage1 anymore... it just takes longer to get a semi-usable system up.
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdeininger,

If you change your CHOST, emerge -e system will break horribly. Providing you choose the right stage 3 there is no need, there being stages for CHOSTs i386, i586, and i686. Does anyone still run gentoo on a 386 or 486 CPU ?

Should you really want to change your CHOST, you need to run bootstrap.sh before you emerge -e system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1738
Location: Emerald Isles, overlooking Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
mdeininger,

If you change your CHOST, emerge -e system will break horribly. Providing you choose the right stage 3 there is no need, there being stages for CHOSTs i386, i586, and i686. Does anyone still run gentoo on a 386 or 486 CPU ?

Should you really want to change your CHOST, you need to run bootstrap.sh before you emerge -e system.


i was assuming a "compatible" change. i meant like... you had a 386 chost and changed it to a 686 one. i did that a buncha times and it worked. i'd assume the same for, say, a 686 chost to a x86_64 one, provided that you compiled a kernel that can handle the new binaries.
i really did that a buncha times and it worked out just fine... at least as good as a fresh stage1 that is.
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdeininger,

Hmm. I'm surprised that you can even change CHOSTs within the x86 family, since the CHOST is used to locate elements of your toolchain.
Other programs also record the CHOST they were built with and get upset if its changed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1738
Location: Emerald Isles, overlooking Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
mdeininger,

Hmm. I'm surprised that you can even change CHOSTs within the x86 family, since the CHOST is used to locate elements of your toolchain.
Other programs also record the CHOST they were built with and get upset if its changed.


not sure... i was only reporting what i did.
gcc-config for example still has a list of all the actually available gcc-profiles (gcc-config -l apparently ignores your chost... although other options seem to care about it), and all the compiler tools have short names in /usr/bin that are linked the filesystem-way, so i'd think they're used instead of a new path being crafted from your chost on every emerge. *shrugs*
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
see here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum