Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Shake your files for their own good
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokheed wrote:
Shake seems to be more of a specialty tool than a must have system utility. Not that I miss defragging ;)
Yes, Shake is not something to use daily... that is the problem of being a defragmenter on a system that do not fragment :) .
But for old partitions, or very used one, or for those wich download a lot via P2P (try "shake -pvv" on something downloaded via ktorrent), I think it could be usefull.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruben
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokheed wrote:
I guess shake is limited to a tiny select few if it is "normal" to not see a performance improvement. I guess this is why no one using Linux really cares about fragmentation...
Shake seems to be more of a specialty tool than a must have system utility.

It's not a critical tool, but I believe it is or has the power to become a valuable tool. I imagine you won't see much of a performance improvement on recent hardware with fast harddisks, unless the file system is very, very fragmented. On the other hand, I believe it can make a big difference on laptops with slow 4200rpm/5400rpm harddrives. I've experienced this myself with a ReiserFS (v3) on a laptop with Gentoo. Performance on ReiserFS noticeably degrades over time, especially when you frequently update your system. I remember defragmenting that partition by copying the data to another partition and then copying it back in a clean, re-formatted partition. This operation halved the time from GDM login to usable Gnome desktop (45secs to 23secs). I've since switched to ext2/3, which seems to suffer a lot less from fragmentation. I think this would be a useful tool for more people than one would initially expect.

I have to admit I didn't yet use this myself, but it seems smarter than standard defragmenter tools by using a heuristic to place files together, which will likely be needed at the same time. I've been following this thread a bit and I'll definitely try it some time, but I first wanna make sure I have a working backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordpolcamper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

nice work. But if I execute "shake /usr" (shake-0.21) it stops working after a few minutes and does not quit. No error message and no consumption of cpu time. It just stops working without quitting.

So are there any ideas what I may have done wrong. user_xattr are enabled. I'm using reiserfs on a amd64 machine.

rgds

Bernhard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dralnu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read through part of this, and the idea I like/love. Personally, seems like a cron job to run weekly/monthly on high-use HDD (like /home maybe?), and then maybe annually on something like / to defrag everything.

I'll check things out when my system finishes updating, and then give you my thoughts/problems with it.

P.S. I think this is the first I've heard of a defrag program for Linux. I didn't know the filesystem EVER fragmented, but I guess anything will.
_________________
The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nordpolcamper wrote:
Hi,

nice work. But if I execute "shake /usr" (shake-0.21) it stops working after a few minutes and does not quit. No error message and no consumption of cpu time. It just stops working without quitting.

So are there any ideas what I may have done wrong. user_xattr are enabled. I'm using reiserfs on a amd64 machine.

rgds

Bernhard
Yes I just had the same thing.. it simply went to sleep when 'shake -pvv /root' got to /root/.kde3.5/share/apps/juk/playlists - always at the same spot!

Re-emerging 0.19 allows it to complete ok

Mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesouls
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Location: In Front of My Laptop

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. I'm sorry but does this wonderfull app works on reiser4?
2. Are the files which are guilty will be defragged?
_________________
whitesouls

Please insert the [SOLVED] tag if your problem is solved in your respective thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nordpolcamper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Cintra"]
nordpolcamper wrote:


Re-emerging 0.19 allows it to complete ok

Mvh


Many thanks, that did it :). It

rgds

Bernhard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the lag, the bug is fixed.
Shake was waiting for the lock when it couldn't get it.
Shake 0.22 (tarball, Changelog, ebuild) fix this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lord Vader wrote:
1. I'm sorry but does this wonderfull app works on reiser4?
Yes, it should.
Lord Vader wrote:
2. Are the files which are guilty will be defragged?
Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does shake work on the ext2/3 filesystems? What about a vfat filesystem, say, on an iPod?

Forgive me if these were asked in any prior posts, but I read through it and didn't see any mention of them.

EDIT: I tried it on ext3 and love it! I did not try vfat, yet, however.
_________________
Desktop: i7-940 @ 2.93GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB RAM, 2x 160GB, 2x 500GB, 1x 1TB Seagate Barracuda SATA, nVidia 8800GTS 512MB, Hauppage PVR-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlueFusion wrote:
Does shake work on the ext2/3 filesystems? What about a vfat filesystem, say, on an iPod ?
It should works on ext2 and ext3, but probably won't on vfat.
Knowing this, if you want to try shake on vfat, you can by adding the --no-xattr option. But the better is probably to make a backup of the ipod content, then format the ipod hard drive, and copy back the data.

BlueFusion wrote:
Forgive me if these were asked in any prior posts, but I read through it and didn't see any mention of them.
No problem ! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I shook my entire Gentoo install. I didn't backup only because I'm planning on wiping and re-installing soon to use a RAID10 setup and if it died, it'd just expedite that. But I'm happy to say, after running shake -v / a few times (until nothing else was listed as being shook) while chrooting from a LiveCD, I am happily using my system with no problems, thus far.

I did try running with the --old=0 option, however I recieved an error on a single file every time it ran through. The file was a Battlefield 2 game file installed with Cedega. I'm not sure yet if it's a problem with the file or the size or what. And I'm sorry but I don't have that output available at the moment.

I am definately adding this topic/project to my favorites list :D . Very cool program!
_________________
Desktop: i7-940 @ 2.93GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB RAM, 2x 160GB, 2x 500GB, 1x 1TB Seagate Barracuda SATA, nVidia 8800GTS 512MB, Hauppage PVR-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlueFusion wrote:
I did try running with the --old=0 option, however I recieved an error on a single file every time it ran through. The file was a Battlefield 2 game file installed with Cedega. I'm not sure yet if it's a problem with the file or the size or what. And I'm sorry but I don't have that output available at the moment.
I would really like to read that error, if you can.

BlueFusion wrote:
I am definately adding this topic/project to my favorites list :D . Very cool program!
Thanks ! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shake -v /home/rich/.cedega:
Code:
shake: /home/rich/.cedega/Ghost Recon/c_drive/Program Files/InstallShield Installation Information/{D89EF3B3-6F17-4665-B7A9-A4235A6DC787}/setup.ilg: temporary copy failed


It goes through quite a few files and then fails on this one. I'm wondering if it has anything to do with the { }?
_________________
Desktop: i7-940 @ 2.93GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB RAM, 2x 160GB, 2x 500GB, 1x 1TB Seagate Barracuda SATA, nVidia 8800GTS 512MB, Hauppage PVR-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jinidog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying this now on a reiserfs. But for every file it tells me:

Quote:

failed to set position time, check user_xattr: Operation not supported


I compiled reiserfs extendend attributes in the kernel. Does this message harm and/or how can I solve it?
_________________
Just unused Microsoft-Software is good Microsoft-Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have user_xattr in the mount options in /etc/fstab?
_________________
Desktop: i7-940 @ 2.93GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB RAM, 2x 160GB, 2x 500GB, 1x 1TB Seagate Barracuda SATA, nVidia 8800GTS 512MB, Hauppage PVR-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jinidog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, should I have?
_________________
Just unused Microsoft-Software is good Microsoft-Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lnxz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 472
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saluk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

0.22 wont compile. I haven't downloaded any of the previous releases, and I've tried both the source and the ebuild with the same error:
Code:

linux.c:23:43: attr/attributes.h: No such file or directory


Did you forget to pack that directory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ensure you have attr installed. You should have gotten that if you emerged shake from portage with the ebuild in this topic.
_________________
Desktop: i7-940 @ 2.93GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB RAM, 2x 160GB, 2x 500GB, 1x 1TB Seagate Barracuda SATA, nVidia 8800GTS 512MB, Hauppage PVR-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saluk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I was using ebuild .. merge instead of emerge. Now it works!

I am going to run it on my drive tonight, I've been pretty hard on my system for the past 2 years or so, with games and downloads etc, so I expect to see many many guilty's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P0w3r3d
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vleu.net is down??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sourcecode
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 392
Location: Germany, Kerpen in sew of Cologne

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Nice Work :)

Can i know run this over the whole partition? :) i don't have a maschine for testing :(
_________________
Es gibt bloss eins, was wichtig ist: dass man sterben muss.

Suicide is man's way of telling God, "You can't fire me - I quit."

no one gets out here alive....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Utoxin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 411
Location: Springville, UT

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How safe is it to run this on the root of a running system? Will it properly skip /dev/ and /proc/, since they're not real filesystems? Is it likely to kill my machine?

I understand that it would be best to run it on a non-system partition, but are there specific reasons /not/ to run it on my active system partitions?
_________________
Gentoo:
1. A small fast penguin from Antarctica.
2. A small fast penguin on your computer.

Cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BRPXQZME
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Location: Centreville, VA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Utoxin wrote:
How safe is it to run this on the root of a running system? Will it properly skip /dev/ and /proc/, since they're not real filesystems? Is it likely to kill my machine?

I understand that it would be best to run it on a non-system partition, but are there specific reasons /not/ to run it on my active system partitions?
It should roll right over /dev and /proc just fine. Just don't run it over any libs that you need to run... ESPECIALLY libc. In fact, just avoid doing it on a running system. It's safer :)

I just made that mistake and it took me a day to fix it. If you want to know how I got over it, here's an ugly process to restore your system from a livecd (yeah, kind of had to figure it out myself, unfortunately... hope anyone can elaborate on this or get a more elegant way; after borking my libc I couldn't so much as emerge anything! Python couldn't load the libs! Also, need it be said, this applies only to Linux, as shake only works on Linux. But it's probably a generic way as any to restore a borked libc on a Gentoo box):

mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev (of course, replace 'gentoo' with the appropriate partition)
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc

Get the stage3 tarball, and extract it to a seperated directory, say, /mnt/gentoo/stage3 for example.

chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bb (note: bash WILL PROBABLY NOT work with a @#$%ed up libc, this is what busybox is for :D )

cd /stage3/lib

cp * /lib (yeah, don't need to bother going for recursive)

cp /stage3/usr/lib/gcc/<arch>-pc-linux-gnu/<version>/libstdc++.so* /usr/lib/gcc/<arch>-pc-linux/<version>/

cp /stage3/usr/bin/python2.x /usr/bin

By this point you should be able to re-merge glibc, gcc, and python and boot into your normally scheduled Linux. I recommend a hearty double dose of emerge -e system followed by an emerge -e world just to be safe. Use cruft to intelligently get rid of the extra crap you have just put in (if it bothers you, anyway; it shouldn't hurt anything)

If someone could improve this mini-howto and put it in the wiki that'd be a good thing for anyone who borks their libc, I think
_________________
Firefox is spelled F-i-r-e-f-o-x - only the first letter capitalized (i.e. not FireFox, not Foxfire, FoxFire or whatever else a number of folk seem to think it to be called.) The preferred abbreviation is "Fx" or "fx".

FF = Final Fantasy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum