Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Shake your files for their own good
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GenYetiToo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 165
Location: Siegen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigun89 wrote:
Has someone tested this on an AMD64 system yet?

What difference could a particular processor architecture possibly make?
In other words: do you have specific problems in mind that could occur?
M.
_________________
Cats, cats everywhere ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebuild problems...
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Merlin-TC
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 603
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I did it and it just works fine on an AMD64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just borked my libs during use of shake while the system was booted.

Running it, and the screen went nuts.

Rebooted, and my libc was gone... yay

Seriosuly folks... try to do this from a live CD if you can...
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2726
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigun89 wrote:
I just borked my libs during use of shake while the system was booted.

Running it, and the screen went nuts.

Rebooted, and my libc was gone... yay

Seriosuly folks... try to do this from a live CD if you can...
why doesn't shake refuse to shake files which are in use? It should shake what it can and leave the rest alone. Isn't that what any sane program should do? This, IMO, is a major problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phenax
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I refused to shake the files that were in use on my system. Great utility IMO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2726
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, is that a bug then? or is he using an old version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phenax
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used version 0.27, the latest. I shook my whole harddrive while it was all mounted, no problems. If it was in use it gave a warning and then passed the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BRPXQZME
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 163
Location: Centreville, VA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
bigun89 wrote:
I just borked my libs during use of shake while the system was booted.

Running it, and the screen went nuts.

Rebooted, and my libc was gone... yay

Seriosuly folks... try to do this from a live CD if you can...
why doesn't shake refuse to shake files which are in use? It should shake what it can and leave the rest alone. Isn't that what any sane program should do? This, IMO, is a major problem.
I think I know what's going on here (at least this part I know I @#$%ed up, I hope bigun89 figured out how to fix it... did my method work for you?):

-o0 (--old 0) option considered harmful on partition with libs being used!

Do it without that option, or get another "partition" to run shake from, like a livecd. ...well, perhaps a "defrag diskette" is in order here. Of course, it'd help if shake figured out what was going on. As if watching all the programs you might be using die as shake clobbers their libs wasn't enough of a clue.
_________________
Firefox is spelled F-i-r-e-f-o-x - only the first letter capitalized (i.e. not FireFox, not Foxfire, FoxFire or whatever else a number of folk seem to think it to be called.) The preferred abbreviation is "Fx" or "fx".

FF = Final Fantasy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BRPXQZME wrote:
devsk wrote:
bigun89 wrote:
I just borked my libs during use of shake while the system was booted.

Running it, and the screen went nuts.

Rebooted, and my libc was gone... yay

Seriosuly folks... try to do this from a live CD if you can...
why doesn't shake refuse to shake files which are in use? It should shake what it can and leave the rest alone. Isn't that what any sane program should do? This, IMO, is a major problem.
I think I know what's going on here (at least this part I know I @#$%ed up, I hope bigun89 figured out how to fix it... did my method work for you?):

-o0 (--old 0) option considered harmful on partition with libs being used!

Do it without that option, or get another "partition" to run shake from, like a livecd. ...well, perhaps a "defrag diskette" is in order here. Of course, it'd help if shake figured out what was going on. As if watching all the programs you might be using die as shake clobbers their libs wasn't enough of a clue.


My commandline to run shake looked like this:

Code:
shake /


So, no commandline options.

To note, I ran it exactly the same way on another machine with no problems, it seems that somehow this little problem is left to 'chance', I'm not sure.

At any rate, your solution got me to the point that I could emerge glibc, but beyond that, emerge refused to work due to some function missing... I'm not sure. So I'm emerging crap in reverse: python, gcc, then glibc. It's been working on it since I've left for work, I'll let you know how it went when I get back home.
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 1954

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to be able to get my system to emerge python and gcc just fine, but as soon as it gets to glibc, it fouls up. Emerge and a bunch of other programs stop workingas soon as I do. And I'm getting the same error this fella is getting:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-473318-highlight-libpthread+glibcprivate.html
_________________
BK - "Then, after months of loud-mouthed shit-talking and own-fart smelling, you lost the big bet, fair snd square, and are being a baby about it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
W3BMAST3R101
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is alpha software, but it seems that i can't really use it. It runs through and it seems like it's working for about 5 min, but then it just kicks out an error on a random file and just stops. Is there any way for it just to skip files and move on if it doesn't like them? Also, how's the software going. I like the idea. I hope development continues.

thnx,

the w3b
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

W3BMAST3R101 wrote:
I know this is alpha software, but it seems that i can't really use it. It runs through and it seems like it's working for about 5 min, but then it just kicks out an error on a random file and just stops. Is there any way for it just to skip files and move on if it doesn't like them? Also, how's the software going. I like the idea. I hope development continues.

thnx,

the w3b


try to trace the execution of the shake

Code:
#emerge strace
#strace shake

_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlphaHeX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are the shake parameters to shake all files no matter of size, age and and number of fragments ?
_________________
HP Pavilion HDX9494NR [Intel Core 2 Duo X9000 | 20.1" Wide SXGA+ | 8GB Memory | 120 SSD + 500 HDD 7200rpm | Blu-ray Disc / Super Multi | NVIDIA GeForce 8800M GTS]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowinter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:31 am    Post subject: #include <attr/attributes.h> Reply with quote

0.27 doesn't compile on my system due to lack of attr/attributes.h. What is it?? The only attributes.h I have are xine's and libxslt's :roll:

actual error message:
Quote:
03:21:47|nwhost shake-0.27 # make
gcc -std=gnu99 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=600 -O2 -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=200112L -Wall -pedantic-errors -Wcast-align -Wpointer-arith -Wbad-function-cast -DVERSION=\"0.27\" -DNDEBUG -c executive.c -o executive.o
gcc -std=gnu99 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=600 -O2 -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=200112L -Wall -pedantic-errors -Wcast-align -Wpointer-arith -Wbad-function-cast -DVERSION=\"0.27\" -DNDEBUG -c judge.c -o judge.o
gcc -std=gnu99 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=600 -O2 -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=200112L -Wall -pedantic-errors -Wcast-align -Wpointer-arith -Wbad-function-cast -DVERSION=\"0.27\" -DNDEBUG -c linux.c -o linux.o
linux.c:23:43: error: attr/attributes.h: No such file or directory
linux.c: In function ‘set_ptime’:
linux.c:43: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘attr_setf’
linux.c:43: error: ‘ATTR_DONTFOLLOW’ undeclared (first use in this function)
linux.c:43: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
linux.c:43: error: for each function it appears in.)
linux.c: In function ‘get_ptime’:
linux.c:55: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘attr_getf’
linux.c:55: error: ‘ATTR_DONTFOLLOW’ undeclared (first use in this function)
make: *** [linux.o] Error 1

_________________
All In All Is All We All Are
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlphaHeX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to emerge attr :)
_________________
HP Pavilion HDX9494NR [Intel Core 2 Duo X9000 | 20.1" Wide SXGA+ | 8GB Memory | 120 SSD + 500 HDD 7200rpm | Blu-ray Disc / Super Multi | NVIDIA GeForce 8800M GTS]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowinter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlphaHeX wrote:
you need to emerge attr :)

:P :P :P :idea: :oops: i knew it, i swear )))))))))))
_________________
All In All Is All We All Are
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigun89 wrote:
I just borked my libs during use of shake while the system was booted.

Running it, and the screen went nuts.

Rebooted, and my libc was gone... yay

Seriosuly folks... try to do this from a live CD if you can...
This sort of problems are more likely to result from a system/hardware problem triggered by sHaKe.
That being said I would really like to help you, but I don't understand what's going on :( . Maybe you should copy a working /usr/lib and /lib from another system into /tmp/lib, change LD_PATH to make it include /tmp/lib and bootstrap from that.

W3BMAST3R101 wrote:
I know this is alpha software, but it seems that i can't really use it. It runs through and it seems like it's working for about 5 min, but then it just kicks out an error on a random file and just stops
Could you tell me the name of that file, and of the error ?

W3BMAST3R101 wrote:
I hope development continues.
Yes it do ! It makes a long time since I hadn't recieved a bug report, so sHaKe don't changed two much over last weeks, but I'm ready to fix yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gregoire
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I would like to shake all my partitions on my amd64 system.
Before I do it, I would like a comment on my fstab :
Code:

/dev/sda1 swap swap defaults,pri=2 0 0
/dev/sda2 /mnt/cooker xfs noatime 1 1
/dev/sdb1 swap swap defaults,pri=3 0 0
/dev/sdb2 / reiserfs user_xattr,noatime 0 0
/dev/sdc2 swap swap defaults,pri=2 0 0
/dev/sdc3 /boot ext2 noatime 1 1
/dev/sdc4 /mnt/gentoo  xfs noatime 1 1
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0

Should I change anything before shaking ?
Thank you very much :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gregoire wrote:
[...]
Code:
/dev/sdb2 / reiserfs user_xattr,noatime 0 0
[...]
Should I change anything before shaking ?
Yes, you should change the above line into
Code:
/dev/sdb2 / reiserfs notail,user_xattr 0 0
, add user_xattr and remove noatime to others partitions that you want to shake, like in
Code:
/dev/sdc4 /mnt/gentoo  xfs user_xattr 1 1


Then use your system a day or two (to generate atimes) before shaking it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gregoire
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

98111 wrote:
add user_xattr and remove noatime to others partitions that you want to shake, like in
Code:
/dev/sdc4 /mnt/gentoo  xfs user_xattr 1 1


Then use your system a day or two (to generate atimes) before shaking it.

Thank. I don't have user_xattr for XFS and I can't find it in the kernel menuconfig, maybe that's not for amd64 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gregoire wrote:
98111 wrote:
add user_xattr and remove noatime to others partitions that you want to shake, like in
Code:
/dev/sdc4 /mnt/gentoo  xfs user_xattr 1 1


Then use your system a day or two (to generate atimes) before shaking it.

Thank. I don't have user_xattr for XFS and I can't find it in the kernel menuconfig, maybe that's not for amd64 ?
Sorry :? I forgot that user_xattr were enabled by default on xfs.
Code:
/dev/sdc4 /mnt/gentoo  xfs default 1 1
should do the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drewgrange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Posts: 483
Location: Ohio, US

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From now on I'm going to ignore the issue of disk fragmentation. I ran shake and got tons of errors, then a kernel panic when I rebooted.

I know, this isn't helpful information for you to fix a possible bug, but I didn't write anything down.

Anyway, I'm writing this from an ubuntu install (until I have enough time too reinstall gentoo eventually) and using photorec to see what I can recover.

I think if this program has the ability to mess things up, it should come with a warning and some safeguards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
98111
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Lyon, France (aka un_brice )

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drewgrange wrote:
I think if this program has the ability to mess things up, it should come with a warning and some safeguards
:!: The problem is that Shake use only documented syscall()s, call them on regular files and sp should not be hable to do that.
For now I think that problems (two if I remember well) occured on systems which would have failed any other intensive tasks on the whole hard disk.
I could add a warning to tell that shake should be run only after a fsck, but if fsck fail instead of shake it will be worst.

That said, I am really sorry for your hard disk. Magicrescue usually give good results, but installing Ubuntu probably wrote over your old datas.
If you installed it on another partition, the old one could be saved by fsck... (mail me if you want some help about that).
If all cases, the next tools you should try are "smartcl -t long", to test your hard disk, and memtest86+ . If they succeed, then the problem was in the filesystem and should not occur again.

If you have time to loose, you could run Shake again on your ubuntu before installing gentoo over it.
And by the way : which filesystem/kernel was it ? on which hardware ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on reiser4, I don't see any option for xattr in kernel and shake give operation not permitted errors for user_xattr, so what's the issue?

EDIT: okay, tried with -X, but now shake segfaults at two places and after that glibc is kind of gone. why is that?
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum