Installed setup messed up after installing postgresql
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tabascal1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:48 pm    Post subject: Installed setup messed up after installing postgresql Reply with quote

I am an newbie to gentoo
I had successfully installed gentoo1.4rc3 with kde 3.1.1 and gnome 2.2.2

After this I did "emerge postgresql" from the gnome envoirnment.

during the process i think it installed gcc.3.2.2

after completion of the merge postgresql it asked the config files to be updated
I ran "etc-update". When asked I gave the option"-5"to merge the files

After this I find my installation messed up .

The network cards are not getting active- the modules.autoload does not show the nic modules inserted there. The nic doesnot come up even if the modules are inseretd in the modules are manually.

The x server does not work when I run kde it gives an lib.so.6 error

I reinstalled xfree by umerge an emerge again but of no avail
please help
esammer
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 2:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Installed setup messed up after installing postgresql Reply with quote

When installing postgresql did you use ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86?

It sounds like you installed a series of unstable packages. After doing so, you automerged the new config files in /etc and blew away your changes (that was the really bad part). You should absolutely NEVER blindly use -5 with etc-update hence it not being a default.

At this point, you'll need to systematically start reconfiguring everything that was changed in /etc prior to the update. This will probably be a long process so set aside some time and join the #gentoo irc channel on freenode (irc.freenode.net) where people can help you in detail as explaining the process here would be difficult.

The short version of hte process is: