View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
hazelnusse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject: Module autoloading weirdness Reply with quote

I'm perplexed: All my kernel modules are loading at boot time, totally normal, but I have nothing at all in the files /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 (or kernel-2.4). There is nothing in either of those files, yet all my modules: agpgart, fglrx, ipw_2200, and others are all getting loaded somehow. Is it magic? Where is the configuration file that lets you change them? I have been using Gentoo for over two years now, and in the past, if I wanted a module loaded, it was necessary for it to be in kernel-2.6. Is this information being stored somewhere else?

Thanks,
Dale
troymc
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look into udev/hotplug/coldplug and you should find your answers.

troymc
hazelnusse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

troymc wrote:

troymc

No I wasn't able to find my answers there. Can you be more specific? I've done a text string search in the /etc directory for all the modules that are being loaded at boot, and no files that are found have anything to do with module loading....

Why would this change in the first place? Which file do I need to edit, for instance to prevent my wireless module from being loaded at boot time if I don't want to use wireless?

Thanks,
Dale
thepustule
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some completely inexplicable reason, the coldplug functionality is being merged into udev. Even though this is clearly NOT what udev is supposed to be doing!

I'm going to have to mask my udev below 0.89 to keep my system from being ruined!
troymc
Guru
Guru