A problem with internet connection.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Max Davies
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2003 10:20 pm    Post subject: A problem with internet connection. Reply with quote

Yo. I have recently installed Gentoo, and am a total novice in the field of Linux. I ask if anyone has any ideas as to resolve my problem with getting connected.

I installed from stage1, doing all the jazz required and having a reasonably easy install thanks to the kind help of the good Dessimat0r, a user who has been at it for a while. A new problem has arisen though - when starting up I am met with an error along the lines of :-

bringing up eth2
could not bring up eth2

This was not the initial error though - I was previously prompted to edit /etc/conf.d/net to change the original "iface_eth1="dhcp"" to reflect the correct network card (eth2). This was done and is where I stand now.

During the first stages of setup, I needed to load the correct drivers for my card - these being 3c59x for the network card '3Com EtherLink 10/100 PCI For Complete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)' in order to get my connection working. This was done and I made note of the driver so I could compile the mofo in to the kernel later. I went back and checked to be sure that the right driver had been compiled and it was so - the problem does not lie there (as far as I can tell).

I also tried doing dhcpcd and received no errors, then tested the connection by doing emerge sync and trying to ping various boxen - all to no avail.

I have no idea what to do now. Any suggestions are appreciated =)
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2003 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote