Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 64bit and java 5 (or 1.5)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kdvgent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:31 pm    Post subject: Firefox 64bit and java 5 (or 1.5) Reply with quote

I tried to install the latest version of either the sun java sdk or the ibm java sdk (I know, both are still hard masked)

In none of the two cases, I find the java browser plugin a link to which I should put in the plugin directory of firefox.

I have the nsplugin and jave use flags.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't believe Sun's JRE/JDK has a 64bit java plugin yet. (Don't know about IBM's)

Edit: Just checked the ebuild for sun-jdk. The nsplugin USE flag is only useful for x86 right now, not amd64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use the blackdown jre, it has 64bit support and nsplugin use flag ...
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirdilznik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aries-Belgium wrote:
You can use the blackdown jre, it has 64bit support and nsplugin use flag ...

You can, but...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirdilznik wrote:
Aries-Belgium wrote:
You can use the blackdown jre, it has 64bit support and nsplugin use flag ...

You can, but...

I didn't had any problem with the blackdown plugin yet. But I must be honest, I didn't get many applets in firefox yet. I will have to test it a bit ... I use it primarly for java applications (limewire, eclipse, ...) ...
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdvgent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 3:58 pm    Post subject: Firefox 64 bit and blackdown jdk Reply with quote

When using blackdown jdk, "about:plugins" shows that the plugin is available but many java applications (including my web based home banking) make firefox crash when started.

So, further suggestions are still welcome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Firefox 64 bit and blackdown jdk Reply with quote

kdvgent wrote:
When using blackdown jdk, "about:plugins" shows that the plugin is available but many java applications (including my web based home banking) make firefox crash when started.

So, further suggestions are still welcome

Use Konqueror! :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdvgent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:53 pm    Post subject: Use Konqueror - but I am using Gnome Reply with quote

I assume it is possible but will result in a strange mix, isn't it.

I am afraid that for a while I'll need to stick with the 32 versions.

Thanks anyhow for the suggestions, kdvgent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum