Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network setup issue (should be simple enough)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trickedoutwizard
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:24 am    Post subject: Network setup issue (should be simple enough) Reply with quote

It's my first time installing Gentoo, and I decided to go with the live cd install (2006.0). Anyways, I cannot seem to get the network working in the gentoo setup. I'm on a college campus, and the network is dhcp, ifconfig returns these results:
eth0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr etc....

eth1 Link encap: Ethernet
inet addr:129.1.240.90 Bcast:129.1.241.255 Mask:255.255.254.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU: 1500 METRIC:1
RX packets:8470 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes 1012320 TX Bytes:5740
Interrupt: 19 Memory:fa000000-0

I'm running on a self built system, Intel Pentium 4 2.4C, Abit IS7, integrated Ethernet (I believe it's a 3com marvel, i was told to try mod probing the sk98 drivers... not really even sure if that's important) Anyways... It seems like gentoo see's the card and has a working driver, but whever I ping something it just returns "unknown host www.yahoo.com". Under windows, in order to get the network working I just set everything to auto detect and it works. Tell me if you need more information than this and any help would be greatly appreciated.
fangorn
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are in a network with DHCP, you almost certainly will have to provide a gateway, which sends your packages to the outside world. This is adressed as "default route" in the network config IIRC. dont know if this gets set by DHCP automatically, never used it :roll: