Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 2.12.1 menu editor fails to launch
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:10 am    Post subject: Gnome 2.12.1 menu editor fails to launch Reply with quote

Hi, I just installed gnome-light with emerge. When I try to use the menu editor, however, a window pops up in the launch bar at the bottom saying "Starting Menu Editor", which then disappears and nothing happens. Is there a certain gnome package that needs to be installed that gnome-light failed to install? I tried installing gnome-menus, but this didn't fix the problem. Perhaps I need to start gnome as root?

Thanks for your help.
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try running it from terminal
Code:
% gmenu-simple-editor

see what error printted there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the error:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/gmenu-simple-editor", line 28, in ?
    GMenuSimpleEditor.main.main (sys.argv[1:])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/GMenuSimpleEditor/main.py", line 25, in main
    import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk


I tried installing gtk+ and wxgtk. My use flags have gtk enabled. Is there a package I can get?

Thanks for the help.
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, there's a better menu editor for Gnome available. It's called alacarte. The gnome-simple-editor is not part of Gnome 2.14, and I think the plan is for alacarte to eventually replace it, though not in time for 2.14.

You can get the ebuild from this bug. It's not in Portage yet so if you want to try it out you'll have to do so in an overlay. If you do choose to try it but don't know about overlays, let me know and I'll explain how to set one up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about overlays. Could you please explain? Thanks.
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. First create a directory called /usr/local/portage which will be the base for any ebuilds outside of portage. Then, to let portage know we have an overlay, edit /etc/make.conf and add the line:
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"

Within that overlay directory:
Code:
mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/x11-misc/alacarte/files

From the bug I linked to above, download two attachments: "x11-misc/alacarte-0.8.ebuild using patch" and "little patch for the "no uri for icon" bug". The first one should be saved in /usr/local/portage/x11-misc/alacarte as "alacarte-0.8.ebuild" and the second should be saved in /usr/local/portage/x11-misc/alacarte/files as "alacarte.patch".

Finally, we have to generate the digest file for the new ebuild:
Code:
ebuild /usr/local/portage/x11-misc/alacarte/alacarte-0.8.ebuild digest


Finally emerge alacarte, and you should be done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxima
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pakman117 wrote:
This is the error:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/gmenu-simple-editor", line 28, in ?
    GMenuSimpleEditor.main.main (sys.argv[1:])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/GMenuSimpleEditor/main.py", line 25, in main
    import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk


I tried installing gtk+ and wxgtk. My use flags have gtk enabled. Is there a package I can get?

Thanks for the help.

do you have pygtk installed ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote=Finally emerge alacarte, and you should be done.[/quote]

Did everything you said to do, but when I do emerge alacarte, it says "All ebuilds that could satisfy "alacarte" have been masked." I consulted the gentoo handbook and it said that I should wait until this package is available since it's masked by the ~x86 keyword. Am I out of luck?

Maxima, I emerged pygtk and the command got a little further. This time it says "ImportError: No module named cairo". I emerged cairo, but this did not solve the problem. I rebooted X, but still, no go...

Any more thoughts? Thanks for all the help so far.
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxima: nevermind, I fixed the error. It needed pycairo, haha. I am still interested about getting alacarte to work, though.
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
it's masked by the ~x86 keyword

All you have to do is:
Code:
echo "x11-misc/alacarte ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

That should let you emerge alacarte.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pakman117
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Location: VA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The same error came up for another package, so I did the same thing. After that, I did emerge alacarte and that worked. Thanks!
_________________
"The best accelerator for a mac is one that causes it to go -9.8m/s^2" - at least, before osx came out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MorningGlory
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thats weird. You have alacarte in portage and I do not? :(
Synced my Portage Tree this afternoon so thats not out of date.
http://packages.gentoo.org/search/?sstring=alacarte also tells me there is no such thing in portage, as does "emerge -s alacarte". Maybe the sync-server i'm using, a Dutch one since I live in the Netherlands, is a lil out of date?
_________________
Getting there... one way or another ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MorningGlory, if you check out my first comment on this thread, there's a link to a bug in Gentoo bugzilla with the ebuild for alacarte. It's not in portage yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MorningGlory
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sternklang wrote:
MorningGlory, if you check out my first comment on this thread, there's a link to a bug in Gentoo bugzilla with the ebuild for alacarte. It's not in portage yet.

Yes I read that fine :)
But Pakman seems to be able to emerge it. So that seems odd dont u think?
_________________
Getting there... one way or another ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey89
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Er, pakman added it to his own overlay. Might want to read the posts a bit more carefully. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MorningGlory
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

monkey89 wrote:
Er, pakman added it to his own overlay. Might want to read the posts a bit more carefully. :)

Yup, looks like I missed that part. Sorry :oops:
_________________
Getting there... one way or another ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mccubbin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: Overlay Reply with quote

I tried the overlay setup for alacarte exactly as recommended and I get an error that alacarte is not in portage. Is there some other step I don't know about?

I issue this command
Code:
ebuild /usr/local/portage/x11-misc/alacarte/alacarte-0.8.ebuild digest


and get this response
Code:
Appending /usr/local/portage to PORTDIR_OVERLAY...
>>> Generating digest file...
<<< alacarte-0.8.tar.gz
>>> Generating manifest file...
<<< alacarte-0.8.ebuild
<<< files/alacarte.patch
<<< files/digest-alacarte-0.8
>>> Computed message digests.


Then when I try - emerge alacarte - I get
Code:
Calculating dependencies
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "alacarte".


Is there something require with the emerge command other than "emerge alacarte" ?

This menu thing with Gnome is seriously annoying. I use both Gentoo and Ubuntu and Ubuntu makes gnome SO MUCH easier!! I still prefer Gentoo, and as a result mostly use KDE.

I can't even get the applications-all-users:/// link to work!?!
_________________
John McCubbin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Then when I try - emerge alacarte - I get
Code:
Calculating dependencies
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "alacarte".

Did you include a PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage" line in make.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey89
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:52 am    Post subject: Re: Overlay Reply with quote

mccubbin wrote:
I can't even get the applications-all-users:/// link to work!?!


That was removed to be replaced by the menu editor.

And yes, add that line to your make.conf and things should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mccubbin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:38 am    Post subject: Got it Reply with quote

Got it. I hadn't put that line in /etc/make.conf. Thanks. I had to emerge a couple of the other python packages, but it is emerging as I type this. Now I hope it works :-)
_________________
John McCubbin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mccubbin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:13 pm    Post subject: That did it Reply with quote

It's working now. Thanks again.
_________________
John McCubbin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XrateR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
I have also emerge alacarte. But after I emerged it, I needed to reemerge some of my gnome things.
It did well to I come to gnome it self. So now I can't come any longer. Nothing happens when I reemerge gnome.

Code:
xrater@rextor ~ $ alacarte
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/alacarte", line 20, in ?
    from Alacarte.GnomeFront import GnomeFront
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/Alacarte/GnomeFront.py", line 22, in ?
    import gtk, gtk.glade, gnome, gnome.ui, gobject
ImportError: No module named gnome
xrater@rextor ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XrateR wrote:
Code:
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/Alacarte/GnomeFront.py", line 22, in ?
    import gtk, gtk.glade, gnome, gnome.ui, gobject
ImportError: No module named gnome

If one of the packages that was emerged was python, and you went from python 2.3 to 2.4, then you need to run (as root) "python-updater" to fix this.

If that doesn't work, try emerging gnome-python.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XrateR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8O but it emerge 15 thing !
Is that needed? I mean, I don't know what it do and I don't like to
do so big updates then I don't know what it's do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1641
Location: Somewhere in time and space

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I don't know what packages it wants to emerge on your system, so I can't really tell you what they do without that information. :wink:

Looking at the alacarte ebuild, it requires python 2.4 plus 3 other packages. It's possible those packages have dependencies that would pull in a number of other python packages. Usually these packages are pretty small and don't take much time to emerge. So you could try it out, and if you don't like the results:
Code:
emerge -C alacarte
emerge -av --depclean
revdep-rebuild

This will unmerge alacarte, unmerge dependencies that are no longer needed, and rebuild any packages broken by removal of dependencies. That last program, revdep-rebuild, is part of gentoolkit which you should emerge as it is a life-saver sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum