Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
scribus won't start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:46 pm    Post subject: scribus won't start Reply with quote

hello,

i just emerged scribus. got no errors while compiling. but when i try to start the program i get this error:
Code:
wimbo@miniskusrat ~ $ scribus
scribus: Symbol `_ZTI8QSpinBox' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
scribus: Symbol `_ZTI7QPixmap' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
scribus: Symbol `_ZTI7QWidget' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
scribus: Symbol `_ZTI18QXmlDefaultHandler' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
scribus: symbol lookup error: scribus: undefined symbol: _ZN7QWidget7repaintEb


does anyone knows what the problem might be and how to solve it?

greetz,

wimbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The symbols, your system is complaining about, are from qt.
Did you update qt after you emerged qt ? If yes, you should re-emerge scribus. If no, against which qt version was scribus linked ? I use scribus with qt-3 3.4-r8 without problems. You could have a look on the output of ldd
Code:
ldd /usr/bin/scribus
and see the libraries that are pulled actually.
_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can't remember whether i've updated qt or not. probably not, since i don't know how to it. i'm using qt 3.3.4-r8. this is my output of ldd
Code:
wimbo@miniskusrat ~ $ ldd /usr/bin/scribus
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libart_lgpl_2.so.2 => /usr/lib/libart_lgpl_2.so.2 (0xb7f14000)
        libcups.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcups.so.2 (0xb7ef7000)
        libgnutls.so.12 => /usr/lib/libgnutls.so.12 (0xb7e85000)
        libgcrypt.so.11 => /usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.11 (0xb7e33000)
        libgpg-error.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgpg-error.so.0 (0xb7e2f000)
        liblcms.so.1 => /usr/lib/liblcms.so.1 (0xb7dfc000)
        libtiff.so.3 => /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3 (0xb7da9000)
        libqt-mt.so.3 => /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3 (0xb75be000)
        libmng.so.1 => /usr/lib/libmng.so.1 (0xb755f000)
        libjpeg.so.62 => /usr/lib/libjpeg.so.62 (0xb753e000)
        libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0xb7536000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb752e000)
        libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xb7529000)
        libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0xb751f000)
        libXft.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXft.so.2 (0xb750b000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb7498000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb746e000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb746a000)
        libpng.so.3 => /usr/lib/libpng.so.3 (0xb7439000)
        libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb7427000)
        libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xb741e000)
        libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xb7407000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb73b5000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb73a4000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb72d1000)
        libnsl.so.1 => /lib/libnsl.so.1 (0xb72bc000)
        libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.5/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb71f2000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb71cf000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb70ba000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.5/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb70b1000)
        libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib/opengl/ati/lib/libGL.so.1 (0xb7011000)
        libXmu.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXmu.so.6 (0xb6ffb000)
        libstdc++.so.5 => /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.6/libstdc++.so.5 (0xb6f46000)
        libexpat.so.0 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.0 (0xb6f21000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7f41000)
        libXt.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXt.so.6 (0xb6ec7000)


greetz,

wimbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wimbo wrote:
Code:
wimbo@miniskusrat ~ $ ldd /usr/bin/scribus
       ...
        libqt-mt.so.3 => /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3 (0xb75be000)
       ...
Hmm, the location of the qt-library is unusual, it's normally installed in /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3. Is it possible, that the qt-lib in /usr/local is an old one, that you installed earlier by hand ?
_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is possible. i once installed an older version of qt because of some program i needed and didn't work with the versions wich where in portage. should i remerge qt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, re-emerging is not necessary. If you don't need the old qt version on /usr/local any longer, you should remove it.

Anyway there seems something to be odd with your environment - the system obviously looks in /usr/local/qt/lib, which is unusual. Most probably you should have some file named 45qt3 in /etc/env.d/ (don't know the name exactly, the number may be different at your site). This file contains the correct path to your QT binaries and libs. But these are just the basis. env-update reads these files and generates an appropriate /etc/ld.so.conf, so if that file contains /usr/local/qt/lib, you could have a look in /etc/env.d and change/remove the appropriate file.

Alternatively you could set "LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH" in your .profile. That should normally be sufficient to run scribus - but doesn't repair your broken environment.
_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just re-emerged qt and scribus. it still doesn't work, unless i log in as root. this doesn't make any sense to me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's common that root has a slightly different environment from that of a normal user.

As I said, you should fix your environment in /etc/ld.so.conf. If "/usr/local/qt/lib" is not in there, you most probably have your old qt libraries linked from /usr/local/qt/lib to /usr/local/lib. In this case you should better remove these links.
_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i must be getting close to a solution, but i still don't have it.

i looked for the file /etc/env.d/45qt3 it says
Code:
PATH=/usr/qt/3/bin
ROOTPATH=/usr/qt/3/bin
LDPATH=/usr/qt/3/lib
QMAKESPEC=linux-g++
MANPATH=/usr/qt/3/doc/man


if i'm understanding your explanation correctly, that should be ok. then i checked /etc/ld.so.conf
Code:
# ld.so.conf autogenerated by env-update; make all changes to
# contents of /etc/env.d directory
/usr/local/lib
[...]
/usr/qt/3/lib
[..]


looks fine to me. no reference to /usr/local/st/lib at all. i've checked for symbolic links, but couldn't find any. maybe i checked wrong? (just did ls -l in /usr/local/qt/lib)

in my ~/.profile i read this
Code:
# made by wimbo to try to compile qt 3.1.2

# Set some environment variables in the file .profile

QTDIR=/usr/qt/3/
PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

export QTDIR PATH MANPATH LD_LIBRARY_PATH


the path in LD_LIBRARY_PATH originaly didn't say /usr/qt/3/ but just $QTDIR, which shouldn't make any difference. the strange thing is it also says "made by wimbo to try to compile qt 3.1.2". so obviously i did some manual enhancing, probably while trying to compile qt for another program that uses an older version of qt that was'nt in portage at the time. maybe i should just remove the older qt-version?

anyway, i don't find any reference to /usr/local/qt. so... i don't know what's wrong. :oops:

wimbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wimbo wrote:
i've checked for symbolic links, but couldn't find any. maybe i checked wrong? (just did ls -l in /usr/local/qt/lib)

in my ~/.profile i read this
Code:
# made by wimbo to try to compile qt 3.1.2

# Set some environment variables in the file .profile

QTDIR=/usr/qt/3/
PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

export QTDIR PATH MANPATH LD_LIBRARY_PATH
Your .profile looks good, but to check for links in /usr/local you should do a
Code:
ls -l /usr/local/lib/

_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Ninove - Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="hermanng" Your .profile looks good, but to check for links in /usr/local you should do a
Code:
ls -l /usr/local/lib/
[/quote]

ofcourse! stupid of me. checked /usr/local/lib. no symbolic links there to any qt at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermanng
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Location: Nussberg,Germany,Earth

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I'm running out of ideas. The things you checked, look fine, and I assume, that any KDE programs are running correctly. And if there were any old handmade links in /usr/qt/3/lib/, they would have disappeared after your re-emerge of qt.
Yeah, I think, it can`t be a big thing and you are really close the solution, but I have no more idea of the missing link. Surely you have checked your private and global environment (aka ~/.bashrc, /etc/profile,/etc/bash/bashrc). Perhaps you could try to find the difference between your environment and the environment of root.
_________________
Hermann
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum