Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Router doesn't see me
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Beetle B.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: Router doesn't see me Reply with quote

A few months ago, my D-Link DI-604 router stopped showing my computer on its DHCP page. Any idea on how to get it to show? I still have a net connection, but I'd like to know what IP I'm being assigned for firewall purposes.

Thanks,
_________________
Beetle B.

Please update the table of equivalents.
A Firefox guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RBH
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig eth0? Or am I missing something obvious?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5908

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Router doesn't see me Reply with quote

Beetle B. wrote:
A few months ago, my D-Link DI-604 router stopped showing my computer on its DHCP page. Any idea on how to get it to show? I still have a net connection, but I'd like to know what IP I'm being assigned for firewall purposes.

Thanks,


Power cycle? Hard reset?
_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monkeh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1656
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't buy a D-Link? (seriously, they're awful)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floffe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 414
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monkeh wrote:
Don't buy a D-Link? (seriously, they're awful)

QFT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deadstar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 319
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly question, but are you still actually using DHCP? Make sure you haven't accidentally assigned a static address.

Also check your machine responds to pings.
_________________
Hysteriagaming.co.uk is now DOT COM! New design, forum, articles, the works! http://www.hysteriagaming.com

(\ /)
(O.o)
(> <)
This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rodoke
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2005
Posts: 87
Location: So. Ill.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean it doesn't appear at all? I have the same "router" at home. The only real problem I had was just that the DHCP page would show the MAC address, but not the hostname. I just configured my computers for "static DHCP" and stopped worrying, as you can input any name you want there.
_________________
Bill Watterson wrote:
If we wanted more leisure, we'd invent machines that do things less efficiently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beetle B.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed the problem.

I was using DHCP, and not static.

My /etc/conf.d/net.conf (or some file like that - I forget) had an IP "assigned" to my computer, which perhaps gave the router trouble. I removed that line, and restarted the net.eth0 script, and all was fine.

Strange behavior, still. My firewall configuration continued to work with my earlier 192.168.101 setting, so even though the router did not show me on its DHCP page, I'm guessing it was still giving me that IP.

I should just set the router to give me a static IP...
_________________
Beetle B.

Please update the table of equivalents.
A Firefox guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum