Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
growisofs dont wanna burn in AMD64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
enito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: growisofs dont wanna burn in AMD64 Reply with quote

Hi,

with my upgrade of AMD 64 and stuff no working my growisofs 6.1

see,

# growisofs -dvd-compat -Z /dev/hdc=mvaa-dll.img
Executing 'builtin_dd if=mvaa-dll.img of=/dev/hdc obs=32k seek=0'
:-( write failed: File too large

i tryed with diferents .img and .iso

what is this error?

any tip, welcomed..thx a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a similar problem, except that my error is:
:-( unable to anonymously mmap 67108864: Resource temporarily unavailable



It used to work, but I'm using the bleeding edge (~AMD65) with growisofs version 6.1. in k3b. Here is the command line:

/usr/bin/growisofs -Z /dev/hdc=/dev/fd/0 -use-the-force-luke=notray -use-the-force-luke=tty -use-the-force-luke=tracksize:2072733 -dvd-compat -speed=1 -overburn -use-the-force-luke=bufsize:40m
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madey
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Dec 2005
Posts: 107
Location: Kraków, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'v got the same any idea what to do??

Madey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to get it to work by downgrading to the previous version of dvd+rw-tools
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enito
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, is a trouble of new dvd+rw tools v 6.x with NFS
if you burn in your local disc work perfectly, but with nfs nope

greets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=dazza=-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem (mmap error) with dvd+rw-tools v6.1. Upon downgrading to v6.0 I noticed the following in the output:

* When you run growisofs if you receive:
* unable to anonymously mmap 33554432: Resource temporarily unavailable
* error message please run 'ulimit -l unlimited'

Either the downgrade or the limit modification has solved my problems though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Nautilus when I right-click on an iso and choose 'Write to Disc' I get this error:

"Reload a rewritable or blank disc

Please replace the disc in the drive with a CD-R/CD-RW/DVD-RW/DVD+R/DVD+R DL/DVD+RW, with at least 4489 MiB free."

The DVD in the writer is of course a new 4.7. I tried several.

Oh, I'm using dvd+rw-tools 6.1.....so:

Code:
localhost chris # emerge -a =app-cdr/dvd+rw-tools-6.0


Same thing happens in Nautilus so I try growisofs instead:

Code:
# growisofs -dvd-compat -Z /dev/dvd=dvdr.iso
:-( unable to anonymously mmap 33554432: Resource temporarily unavailable
localhost chris # ulimit -l unlimited
localhost chris # growisofs -dvd-compat -Z /dev/dvd=dvdr.iso
Executing 'builtin_dd if=dvdr.iso of=/dev/dvd obs=32k seek=0'
:-( /dev/dvd: 2297888 blocks are free, 2297976 to be written!

_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downgraded to dvd+rw-tools-5.21.4.10.8. Still fails.

Here's more of the same, this is what Gnomebaker yaps at me:

Executing 'builtin_dd if=/home/chris/dvdr.iso of=/dev/hdd obs=32k seek=0'
:-( /dev/hdd: 2297888 blocks are free, 2297976 to be written!
_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waltharius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downgrade dvd+rv-tool to version 6.0 works for me. Thanks :D
_________________
" " 8)
Sed quis custodiet ipsos Custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still SOL. Is there a kernel conflict I haven't managed to find in my searching? Is it possible there was a file overwrtten in an update I should check?
_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jake
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 1132

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...I just successfully burned a DVD today on amd64 from an image on NFSv3 with dvd+rw-tools 6.1, glibc 2.4, and kernel 2.6.16, all compiled with gcc 4.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now running dvd+rw-tools-6.0, glibc-2.4-r1 & gcc-3.4.6. Kernel: 2.6.15.1

Still boned.
_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this in dmesg after trying to burn a dvd:

Code:
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hdd: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdd: DMA disabled
hdd: ide_intr: huh? expected NULL handler on exit
hdd: ATAPI reset complete
UDF-fs INFO UDF 0.9.8.1 (2004/29/09) Mounting volume 'CDROM', timestamp 2006/03/03 18:27 (1ed4)
VFS: busy inodes on changed media.

_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the contents of my fstab if I'm possibly missing some detail on the dvd line:

Code:
/dev/hda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/hda3               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/hda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/hdb1               /hdb            ext2            noatime         0 1
/dev/hdd                /mnt/dvd        auto            noauto,users,ro,exec    0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults        0 0

_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waltharius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
thats mine fstab:
Code:
/dev/sda2               /boot           ext3            noatime         1 2
/dev/sda5               /               reiserfs        noatime         0 1
/dev/sda6               /home           reiserfs        noatime         0 1
/dev/hdc1               /hdc            reiserfs        noatime         0 1
/dev/sda1               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/hdb                /mnt/cdrom      udf,iso9660     noauto,users,ro 0 0

_________________
" " 8)
Sed quis custodiet ipsos Custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ions
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No change. :(

I did test to make sure the burner does do something and I can burn data dvds in Nautilus.
_________________
I am a sick man. ... I am a wicked man. An unattractive man. I think my liver hurts. -- Fyodor Dostoevsky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem as stated in the output of dvd+rw-tools-6.0's compile.

In addition to having dvd+rw-tools-6.0 and the ulimit -l unlimited command, you should also have growisofs at version 6.0 as well.

I'm running k3b-0.12.14 with all of these factors together I was able to successfully burn.

Try downgrading growisofs to 6.0 if you havn't yet, might work for you if you get the 33554432 mmap error.
_________________
Mobo: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe NVIDIA nForce4
Vid: MSI Geforce 6800 128MB DDR PCIX x16
Proc: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 1GHz HT
Mem: OCZ 1GB DDR 600 (PC 4800) Dual Channel

Snow and adolescence are the only problems that disappear if you ignore them long enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Konsti
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Dec 2002
Posts: 691

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, is there any help with the mmap error now?
app-cdr/dvd+rw-tools both version 6.0 and 6.1 give this error.

Edit:

Code:

ulimit -l 41984


That helps. I use vanilla kernels.
Is there any actual kernel version allowind dvd burning?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
germanobax
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downgrading to dvd+rw-tools version 6.0 worked for me.
_________________
Life is a Sexually Transmitted Disease, with 100% mortality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Hasselt/Leuven, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This worked for me:
http://www.destr0yr.com/article.php/unable-to-anonymously-mmap

Beau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem. Should I just put ulimit -l unlimited in my /etc/conf.d/local.start?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wiSHmaKeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add this parameter to growisofs parameters in K3b configuration dialog:
-use-the-force-luke=bufsize:16m

Works for me ;)
_________________
And all your wishes come true... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
merky1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wiSHmaKeR wrote:
Add this parameter to growisofs parameters in K3b configuration dialog:
-use-the-force-luke=bufsize:16m

Works for me ;)


That fixed it for me, thanks.
_________________
ooo000 WoooHooo 000ooo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kuhrscher
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 498
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

merky1 wrote:
wiSHmaKeR wrote:
Add this parameter to growisofs parameters in K3b configuration dialog:
-use-the-force-luke=bufsize:16m

Works for me ;)


That fixed it for me, thanks.


For me too! Thank you! 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tam
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 569

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This also did help me. God bless our forum :)
_________________
http://tam.belchenstuermer.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum