Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unmasking something in portage for AMD64 doesn't work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:03 pm    Post subject: unmasking something in portage for AMD64 doesn't work Reply with quote

Ok I do know how to create a portage overlay. I did find instructions on how to get around package.mask finally. However it isn't working. I know normally questions on package.mask problems aren't talked about(by the doccumentation I read) but I figured they mean problems caused by bipassing the blocks set out in package.mask.

The package I'm after is simply masked as far as I'm aware because it is new and in testing. I don't think it will bork my system.(it's a non wacom tablet driver and my tablet is acknowledged as a mouse using the kernel driver). I'm wanting to set what buttons do and such in X instead of using my stylus as a second mouse. Anyways...

In the documentation I've seen it says to do:

echo "='package name with or without version number'" >> /path to package.mask/package.unmask

---

Fine enough but if you "locate package.mask" note how many versions of it you see? There are quite a few. I've done the above and stuck the package.unmask in:

Galen ~ # updatedb && locate package.unmask
/etc/portage/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.0/no-multilib/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.1/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.1/no-multilib/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.1/vserver/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0/no-multilib/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0/no-symlinks/no-lib32/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0/no-symlinks/package.unmask
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0/package.unmask

---

Yet trying to emerge I get:

Galen ~ # emerge -p xf86-input-acecad

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "xf86-input-acecad" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad-1.0.0.5 (masked by: package.mask)
# Donnie Berkholz <spyderous@gentoo.org> (07 Aug 2005)
# Modularized X, upstream release candidates


For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

---

So obviously the manual is wrong about how to get around something masked by package.mask. Anyone have an idea what I need to do just so I can install that package? In the package.unmask file I've tried it without version number and just now went into every one and changed it so it did have a version number. This made no difference I still get the error message. I also did try it with accept keywords:

Galen ~ # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge -p xf86-input-acecad

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies -
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "x11-proto/xproto" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-proto/xproto-7.0.4 (masked by: package.mask)
# Donnie Berkholz <spyderous@gentoo.org> (07 Aug 2005)
# Modularized X, upstream release candidates


For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad-1.0.0.5" [ebuild])

---

Running less on the ebuild simply shows:

# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad/xf86-input-acecad-1.0.0.5.ebuild,v 1.4 2006/02/15 21:59:23 corsair Exp $

# Must be before x-modular eclass is inherited
#SNAPSHOT="yes"

inherit x-modular

DESCRIPTION="X.Org driver for acecad input devices"
KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~ppc ~ppc64 ~x86"
RDEPEND="x11-base/xorg-server"
DEPEND="${RDEPEND}
x11-proto/inputproto
x11-proto/randrproto
x11-proto/xproto"

---

I've not seen an ebuild like that before and I do have the flag turned on in my USE in make.conf


Last edited by Arienadean on Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

echo "x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
^ use that to unmask every version

echo "=x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad-1.0.0.5" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
^use that to unmask only that version. You can also use greater than and less that to specify a range of versions to unmask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes I've done both I've edited my original post if you see. I have a copy of package.unmask in several directories. Incase it was also blocked using the keyword I did also add accept keywords. Didn't help at all. When I made ebuilds before it was pre the virtual system that portage later brought in. So after looking at the actual ebuild I am unsure of what to make of it as it looks alot different and I've not really messed with the finer points of X just programs that run on X. I'm wondering if I have to add every dependancy listed for this tablet driver to the package.unmask or what exactly is going on. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is working its just that all the dependancies are masked and you have to go through and unmask all of them. Here is a slightly modified script 6thpink gave me (it was for unmasking kde but I changed it for xorg):
Code:
cd /usr/portage
for pack in x11-proto/*
do echo $pack >> /etc/portage/package.keywords ~amd64 && \
echo $pack >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I just had a doh moment and realized the second package.mask complaint was indeed something other than the thing I wasnted to install.

Hopefully I can get it configured and working fine. I hope they do just move this to keywords mask from package mask though. I'm sure a few of us would use this if it was easier to install. Personally not having this ability to use my tablet in linux was one of the few reasons I was booting to windows and had it installed at all.(well ok until sims 2 works under linux as it's the only game I play outside of puzzles when I do play)

Anyways I really appreciate the help. I've never had to deal with package.mask and stayed within simple keyword masking in past using overlays. I couldn't really see this package doing any harm despite it being in the package.mask file because the tablet is seen as a mouse and simply this is to give features it doesn't offer as a mouse. Though I guess it could lock X I suppose. But considering the volume of new modules in the package.mask for X and the new X useflags I'm guessing it's just they are all very new.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are trying to unmask all of Xorg 7 try this guide. Its masked because it is very new and is very possible to have problems so use at your own caution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No don't want to unmask it all I just want to have my tablet running under current X.

In my packages.unmask file I now have:

x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad
x11-proto/xproto
x11-misc/util-macros
x11-proto/inputproto
x11-proto/randrproto
x11-proto/xproto


however it just said this to me:

Galen ~ # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge xf86-input-acecad
Calculating dependencies /
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "x11-base/xorg-server" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-base/xorg-server-1.0.1-r3 (masked by: package.mask)
# Donnie Berkholz <spyderous@gentoo.org> (07 Aug 2005)
# Modularized X, upstream release candidates


For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "x11-drivers/xf86-input-acecad-1.0.0.5" [ebuild])

Galen ~ # esearch xorg-server
[ Results for search key : xorg-server ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

* x11-base/xorg-server [ Masked ]
Latest version available: 1.0.1-r3
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of downloaded files: 26,039 kB
Homepage: http://xorg.freedesktop.org/
Description: X.Org X servers
License: xorg-server MIT

---

I'm the only user of my computer and I don't want remote logins to X. So I'm wondering why the heck it would need the server for simply installing the driver module. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: My current X installed info Reply with quote

* x11-base/xorg-x11
Latest version available: 6.8.2-r6
Latest version installed: 6.8.2-r6
Size of downloaded files: 135,439 kB


I haven't messed with my xorg.config though I could put the other mapping stuff for the tablet in I figured it wouldn't work because I've only got the kernel driver working.

The basic X related use flags I'm using are:

X, font-server, gnome, and input_devices_acecad

I do also have it set to use big fonts with fluxbox.(not that I'm seeing any difference despite that and XFS running) Oh and I do have the framebuffer stuff also turned on as well as the various font settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could be wrong but I am pretty sure xf86-input-acecad is only for modular xorg which is Xorg 7 and it is masked. I think the non-modular Xorg 6.8.2 might have it, but its just not a seperate package. Im not sure what is and isn't included but if it doesn't work with Xorg 6.8 you might want to try Xorg 7 but only if it bothers you a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh ok then. I'll just go and modify the xorg.conf file and see if that fixes things. If not I'll wait til Xorg 7 comes out as a stable. Just thought I'd save myself some roobting. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok altered xorg.conf:



---

However using restart x in fluxbox saw no difference when I went to use gimp. So I'm trying to figure out how to envoke X to build with the acecad driver. It does indeed seem to be built into the current xorg 6x and when I skimmed the xorg site it seems to be something in the hosts.def file. Looking in the ebuild my eyes are burning :P though that might also be partly Eterms backgrounds fault. All I can see there is it has something regarding a debug patch for acecad. I tried "USE="acecad" that did little and it said it's up to date. It's been so long since I've had to specify a special conpile flag outside of the make.conf.

Any ideas how to get it to fetch and build whatever it needs to in xorg 6x to run this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran xorgconfig and acecad is one of the options for the mouse protocal so try using xorgconfig and see if it shows up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arienadean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to only ask for mouse once in that. I backed up my config before running it. This is my config

Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Buttons" "5"

Identifier "Tablet"
Driver "acecad"
Option "Device" "dev-auto"
Option "Mode" "Absolute"
Option "Model" "Flair"
Option "ButtonMap" "Acecad"
Option "Increment" "4"
Option "ReportSpeed" "85"
# 0003 for USB, 0460 for ACECAD, 0004 for flair
# Option "InputID" "0003:0460:0004"
Option "InputID" "0460"
Option "HistorySize" "256"

EndSection


I think it might be the "device" option I have wrong:

$ ls /dev/input
event0 event1 event2 mice mouse0 mouse1


I'm not sure what the "event" items are though I do have USB devices hooked up they are not setup to use in linux. Well other than my trackball and webcam. I do have the visor kernel module and such but no devices are taking advantage of those things. As you can see dev mice is for the trackball. I'm not sure which of the mouse to use if it's applicable. Also not sure if I have the imput ID right. It is a usb tablet by E3Works that windows id's the driver as an acecad. Looking it up on google it does look like the acecad flair tablet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum