Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dvdrip: "it seems that transcode ripping stopped short"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
supermihi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:58 pm    Post subject: dvdrip: "it seems that transcode ripping stopped short& Reply with quote

I am trying to rip a DVD with perl dvd::rip. But when I try to extract the vob files to the hard drive, it says:
Code:

WARNING: it seems that transcode ripping stopped short.
The movie has 216100 frames, but only 208
were ripped. This is most likely a problem with your
transcode/libdvdread installation, resp. a problem with
this specific DVD.


The curious thing: It works fine with vobcopy or ogmrip, and I ripped the same dvd a week ago with dvdrip without any problems. Changed something on gentoo in between, but mainly modular X which shouldn't have anything to do with ripping vobs. Any ideas?
_________________
"You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would re-emerge libdvdread, and perhaps check revdep-rebuild -p
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supermihi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already did both, with no results.
_________________
"You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well if vobcopy and ogm still work these dependencies might give a lead..
Code:
p4pe ~ # dep -l dvdrip
media-video/dvdrip-0.52.0:
    cdr?            >=app-cdr/cdrdao-1.1.7   app-cdr/cdrdao-1.2.1
                    >=dev-lang/perl-5.8.2    dev-lang/perl-5.8.7-r3
                    dev-perl/Event           dev-perl/Event-1.00
                    dev-perl/gtk-perl        dev-perl/gtk-perl-0.7009-r2
                    dev-perl/libintl-perl    dev-perl/libintl-perl-1.11
    gnome?          gnome-extra/gtkhtml      gnome-extra/gtkhtml-1.1.10-r1
                    >=media-gfx/imagemagick-5.5.7 media-gfx/imagemagick-6.2.6.0
                    >=media-sound/ogmtools-0.972 media-sound/ogmtools-1.5
                    >=media-video/mjpegtools-1.6.0 media-video/mjpegtools-1.8.0-r1
                    >=media-video/transcode-0.6.13 media-video/transcode-1.0.2-r1
    cdr?            >=media-video/vcdimager-0.7.19 media-video/vcdimager-0.7.23
                    >=net-analyzer/fping-2.3 net-analyzer/fping-2.4_beta2-r1
                    !<perl-core/ExtUtils-MakeMaker-6.17
                    perl-core/Storable       perl-core/Storable-2.13
                    sys-apps/eject           sys-apps/eject-2.0.13-r2
                    sys-process/procps       sys-process/procps-3.2.5-r1
    cdr?            virtual/cdrtools         app-cdr/cdrtools-2.01.01_alpha01-r2

p4pe ~ # dep -l vobcopy
media-video/vobcopy-0.5.13:
                    >=media-libs/libdvdread-0.9.4 media-libs/libdvdread-0.9.4-r1

p4pe ~ # dep -l ogmrip
media-video/ogmrip-0.9.0:
                    >=dev-libs/glib-2.6      dev-libs/glib-2.8.5
                    >=dev-util/intltool-0.29 dev-util/intltool-0.34.1
                    >=dev-util/pkgconfig-0.12.0 dev-util/pkgconfig-0.20
    gnome?          >=gnome-base/gconf-2.6   gnome-base/gconf-2.12.1
    gnome?          >=gnome-base/libglade-2.5 gnome-base/libglade-2.5.1
    gnome?          >=gnome-base/libgnomeui-2.6 gnome-base/libgnomeui-2.10.1
                    >=media-libs/libdvdread-0.9.4 media-libs/libdvdread-0.9.4-r1
                    >=media-sound/lame-3.96  media-sound/lame-3.96.1
                    >=media-sound/ogmtools-1.4 media-sound/ogmtools-1.5
                    >=media-sound/vorbis-tools-1.0 media-sound/vorbis-tools-1.1.1-r1
    matroska?       >=media-video/mkvtoolnix-0.9 media-video/mkvtoolnix-1.5.5
                    >=media-video/mplayer-1.0_pre4 media-video/mplayer-1.0_pre7-r1
                    >=sys-apps/sed-4         sys-apps/sed-4.1.4
    !bootstrap?     sys-devel/patch          sys-devel/patch-2.5.9
    gnome?          >=x11-libs/gtk+-2.6      x11-libs/gtk+-2.8.10
you do have the dvdread USE flag in transcode?
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] media-video/transcode-1.0.2-r1  USE="X a52 dvdread ffmpeg imagemagick jpeg mmx mp3 mpeg network ogg quicktime sdl sse sse2 theora truetype vorbis xml2 xvid -3dnow -dv -fame -gtk -lzo -mjpeg -v4l2"


'equery u transcode' will show what transcode was emerged with.
Mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supermihi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, dvdread useflag is enabled in transcode. Tried both stable (0.6...) and ~ (1.0....) versions of transcode, no change. Dvdrip is also new compiled with all dependencies. No aggressive compiler options either.
Damn error. :(
_________________
"You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've gone over to using k9copy.. seems to work fine on all but 'series' dvds ;-)
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tenobok
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: This planet

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is most likely caused by a small scratch on the dvd. It seems that dvd::rip cancels, because of the smallest errors.

I had the same problem. I fixed it my copying the dvd with vobcopy -m and importing it in dvd::rip.
The problem is, that the preview frame grabbing will take forever with this method.
But you could create a iso with mkisofs and mount it as you dvd-rom drive and rip it from the iso.
_________________
Conservative Trigger Warning: (Thx to Old_School)
Quoting Breitbart News is one step away from quoting "Mein Kampf".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pent0z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here, tryed also a NEW video dvd (never played, just buy & open)... same result
anyway i use dvdcpy -o dir /dev/dvd (from ogmrip) and then import in dvd::rip but not always works (sometimes when starts the second pass, hangs and the result is a 4kb file)

but we like if dvdrip makes all the work... from the last 2 months transcode or dvdrip has this problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtaylor72
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: "the can", WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having the exact same problem. I set it to no subtitles on the rip screen and it works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyser_soze
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had similar problems with ldvd ripping dvds. They would stop half-way through the movie (at layer change?)
if it is the same problem I was having it is to do with the mplex command not issuing -M option
from man mplex
Quote:

-M|--ignore-seqend-markers
This flag makes mplex ignore sequence end markers embedded in
the first video stream instead of switching to a new output
file. This is sometimes useful splitting a long stream in files
based on a -S limit that doesn't need a run-in/run-out like
(S)VCD


I found that if I added -M to the mplex call then mplex would not end at the end-sequence-marker and so the whole DVD would rip.

It may not be this problem though. But mplex is part of transcode... which is what you are having problems with.
_________________
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slithy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jtaylor72 wrote:
I was having the exact same problem. I set it to no subtitles on the rip screen and it works now.


Setting the subtitles to none also fixed the problem for me too...weird!

EDIT: Nevermind, now the rip, errors out 3/4 of the way through the rip with the same error!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtaylor72
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: "the can", WA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes....I am experiencing the same, and it appears to me it is when it the disc is going to the second layer. If I use dvdshrink in windows and put the movie on a single layer all works fine. Anyone have any advice on how to resolve this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slithy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I ended up doing was rip the vobs with vobcopy, then I imported the vobs into dvd::rip so I could transcode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyser_soze
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jtaylor72 wrote:
yes....I am experiencing the same, and it appears to me it is when it the disc is going to the second layer. If I use dvdshrink in windows and put the movie on a single layer all works fine. Anyone have any advice on how to resolve this?


Read my post above
_________________
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtaylor72
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: "the can", WA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

keyser,

I saw your post from abov, but how can I modify this in DVDRip. I am having trouble finding where mplex is called from. I am running a test now by setting an alias for mplex to mplex -M and then launching dvdrip from the same shell. maybe this will work. Any other advice would be most helpful. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyser_soze
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jtaylor72 wrote:
keyser,
I saw your post from abov, but how can I modify this in DVDRip.


I have no idea. I don't and have never used DVDRip.

But it does sound like the mplex problem I have experienced before.
Perhaps someone here knows how.
_________________
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slithy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keyser, you know what's funny? I was trying to rip The Usual Suspects when I ran into this problem!

Sorry for being off topic!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtaylor72
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: "the can", WA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slithy wrote:
What I ended up doing was rip the vobs with vobcopy, then I imported the vobs into dvd::rip so I could transcode.


Does this allow you to get 5.1 ac3 sound? My understading was that unless you rip it from within dvdrip, you cannot do this.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyser_soze
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slithy wrote:
keyser, you know what's funny? I was trying to rip The Usual Suspects when I ran into this problem!

Sorry for being off topic!

:D
_________________
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Santiago_de_Mayo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if any of you resolved this, but I just came across the same problem and this thread.

Code:
emerge subtitleripper


Fixed the problem for me.

Actually it ripped almost all the way, then bombed out with the same error. I then downgraded to the recommended version of transcode instead of the ~x86 one. Works like a charm now.

It seems that you all were on the right track with subtitles though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone have anyclues about this error i think its due to improper framerate calculation, where it reads the TOC with 29.x framse NTSC but it rips at 23.x. just a thought
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hazer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you have it a little backwards...

The vid stream may be 23.x fps, but dvd::rip is calculating for 29.x which is causing it to come up short.

0.97.11 was supposed to fix something about this but it hasn't been put into the portage tree yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2571
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tenobok wrote:
[snip]
I had the same problem. I fixed it my copying the dvd with vobcopy -m and importing it in dvd::rip.
The problem is, that the preview frame grabbing will take forever with this method.
But you could create a iso with mkisofs and mount it as you dvd-rom drive and rip it from the iso.


I've made an ISO copy of DVD with "cp" and mount the ISO and rip it from there but still the same error (depends on what software I use):
Code:
transcode ripping stopped short
or
libdvdread: Can't seek to block

I've tried "libdvdread-0.9.4-r1" and "libdvdread-0.9.6" makes no difference.
Any other recommandation?
_________________
#Thelma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2070
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seren wrote:
anyone have anyclues about this error i think its due to improper framerate calculation, where it reads the TOC with 29.x framse NTSC but it rips at 23.x. just a thought


If the original video is either variable framerate or if the video is read as the incorrect framerate, then dvd::rip is probably calculating the estimated endpos based off of what it reads.

For instance, if it thinks its 29.97, but it actually either immediately switches to 23.97 or switches back and forth, then it's impossible for it to tell what the real length is.

That's my guess at least.

If you're dealing with variable framerate a lot and having a/v sync issues, I'd recommend using mencoder instead.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. dvds | blurays | blog | wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2571
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've run-onto an interesting suggestion that the this error is related to using: ide-cd module instead of ide-scsi :
http://criggie.dyndns.org/linux-dvd/

So I tried to verify it and mounted my dvd drive as "ide-scsi" but it was so slow to a point that was unusable, to rip a dvd would take a day or two so I can not verify it.
But playing with some configuration in grub.cong by appending to Kernel hda=ide-scsi hdc=cdrom etc
at one point I was able to read any disc I put into DVD not a single error; but I can not repeat it.
So, I'm more confused now then I was before.
_________________
#Thelma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum