Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Tweaked qt ebuild [OBSOLETE]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Tweaked qt ebuild [OBSOLETE] Reply with quote

This ebuild isn't maintained anymore, use the one from the xeffects overlay instead!

Tweaked qt-ebuild

I just migrated to KDE so I thought why not twek this thing to death too. :) I modified the qt ebuild to build qt-copy instead of the official tarball. Qt-copy is a version of qt enhanced by the KDE devs with various fixes and optimizations. For ex. qt usually repaints a progressbar everytime it's updated but with qt-copy it only repains when necessary, and it also makes qt less dependant on slow fontconfig which should somewhat speed up the startup time for some apps. For more info about qt-copy check KDE SVN, especially the "patches" dir.

I also added a "risky" USE-flag that builds qt itself with visibility settings for even more space saving and performance. This breaks the ABI so it might be dangerous, hence the name, but it also might speed up qt quite a bit. Use at your own risk!! To enable symbol visibility for KDE, make sure you have gcc 4.1 or later and set the new "kdehiddenvisibility" USE-flag.

Set the pertty USE if you want the improving KDE/pertty patch.

The bug report about qt-copy is here, but the devs doesn't seem interested :(:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=120464

To use:
1. Download the overlay from http://snigel.no-ip.com/~nxsty/linux/qt-overlay.tar.bz2
2. Untar it in /usr/local/portage/x11-libs/
3. Edit make.conf and make sure you have PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
4. Backup your old qt with quickpkg
5. emerge qt

For best performance you should also use fontconfig 2.4.1 available in ~arch.

Changelog:

2006-10-22
*Synced with portage.

2006-08-14
*Updated fontconfig to the 2.4 release.

2006-06-05
*New qt-copy snapshot.
*Synced with portage.
*Added a fc-cache speedup patch for fontconfig.

2006-03-27
*Updated to qt 3.3.6!

2006-02-03
*I updated my fontconfig overlay with a lot of fixes from upstream and suse. Everybody using it should upgrade!

2006-02-02
*New qt-copy snapshot.

2006-02-01
*Added the improving KDE/pertty patch controlled by a pertty USE-flag.


Last edited by nxsty on Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:26 pm; edited 21 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! How come the "KDE related patches" are commented out? Would it be a bad idea for me to try them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StringCheesian wrote:
Awesome! How come the "KDE related patches" are commented out? Would it be a bad idea for me to try them?


Some of them where already commented out and the others are included in qt-copy. You could try enabling them to see what happens but I guess most of them would reject.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jarealist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another nxsty gem! Noticeable improvement in KDE. Thanks again for all the good stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE shuts down without kicker crashing! Thank you nxsty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feld
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 593
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so you build this QT and then rebuild KDE? Or do you not have to rebuild KDE?


Just kinda confused how this optimized QT build interacts with KDE




-Feld


BTW, where'd your firefox overlay go? Did that get pushed into portage?
_________________
< bmg505> I think the first line in reiserfsck is

if (random(65535)< 65500) { hose(partition); for (i=0;i<100000000;i++) print_crap(); }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let my try this thing with gcc 4.1.0 beta. Will post my results.

cheers

SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enderandrew
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set this to compile with the latest gcc 4.1 snapshot as I was walking out the door on one of my machines. I also enabled the "risky" use flag.
_________________
Nihilism makes me smile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

feld wrote:
so you build this QT and then rebuild KDE? Or do you not have to rebuild KDE?


Just kinda confused how this optimized QT build interacts with KDE




-Feld


BTW, where'd your firefox overlay go? Did that get pushed into portage?


You don't need to rebuild KDE to get the benefits from qt-copy, but you can rebuild it to enable symbol visibility but then the kde eclass needs some tweaking first. I'm going to write another post about that.

Yes, they're included in mozilla-firefox-1.5-r9.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no idea
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Zagreb

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of QT is it based on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no idea wrote:
What version of QT is it based on?


3.3.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no4b
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Tarnów, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

naxty will create his own distribution in a short time ;)

Thx for the ebuild. Btw. if it's so good, maybe fill the report on bugzilla and developers will add qt-copy patches to the official ebuild (for example available as USE flag). I used them on freebsd and there were no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enderandrew
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It compiled fine with GCC 4.1-beta_20060120.

Stupid question. You mentioned something about recompiling KDE with visibility support?

Who? What? Why?

And I've always used the normal "emerge kde", but I've been reading about the split ebuilds.

I didn't want to have to worry about ten million split packages, but I've heard kde runs faster, and the split ebuilds pull the latest patches from SVN.

Is there a fairly simple and quick way to switch to the split ebuilds?
_________________
Nihilism makes me smile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ktm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 144
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is very nice! Now we just need someone to tweak and play with gtk :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martin.k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 493
Location: Wylatowo, Polska

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx!
Patched qt works fine here with KDE-3.5.
Works little bit faster... I think so, but I can't state it on my AMD XP 2400+ box
I'll wait for KDE-3.5.1 to emerge it with smybol visibility :)
_________________
linux-2.6.17 +ck +R4 +lockless +genetic-as +... więcej nie pamiętam :)
LRU #299256
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gabrys
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Toruń [PL]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man, I love your ebuilds. You rock!
_________________
Sabayon Professional 1.1 (czyli zdradziłem oryginalne Gentoo)
@ Dell Inspiron 8600 (nVidia, Realtek, Pentium M)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no4b wrote:
Thx for the ebuild. Btw. if it's so good, maybe fill the report on bugzilla and developers will add qt-copy patches to the official ebuild (for example available as USE flag). I used them on freebsd and there were no problems.


https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=120464
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what useflag do i need for visibility support?


also i pmed you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gabrys
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Toruń [PL]

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's 'risky' which enables it.
_________________
Sabayon Professional 1.1 (czyli zdradziłem oryginalne Gentoo)
@ Dell Inspiron 8600 (nVidia, Realtek, Pentium M)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xbb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, works great, using risky flag too... no problems yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OBenY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Poland -> Wroclaw

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nxsty, what about pertty Kde improved patches? Is it possible to integrate them into your ebuild ?
More info available here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-236593-start-375.html
_________________
Linux registered user: #205241
KDE registered user: #1919
http://obeny.obeny.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tost
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I´m installing qt-3.3.5 with risky useflag at the moment..

I´ll post my results (of an improvment) later..

My KDE is very slow (split-ebuilds) so I think this ebuild could be very useful for lot´s of people, thanks a lot

tost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OBenY wrote:
Nxsty, what about pertty Kde improved patches? Is it possible to integrate them into your ebuild ?
More info available here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-236593-start-375.html


It shouldn't be harder than putting the pertty patch in files/ and applying it. but you might need to disable the rubberband patch that I also included and perhaps the corresponding patch from qt-copy. I can fix that the next time I update my overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tost
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work..

KDE is starting much faster ;-)

I recommend every people this patchset, very nice..

tost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3353
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nxsty wrote:
Quote:
You don't need to rebuild KDE to get the benefits from qt-copy, but you can rebuild it to enable symbol visibility but then the kde eclass needs some tweaking first. I'm going to write another post about that.


I must admit I'm still a bit confused. To clarify, does this mean if we've already built kde and qt (and world) with CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden set in /etc/make.conf, we DON'T need to rebuild kde, but only qt?

Or are we talking about -fvisibility-hidden, which I've sometimes seen appear on it's own in the kde gcc output (on my ~x86 gcc-3.4.5 and 4.1 systems).

So (assuming we already have kde built with-fvisibility-inlines-hidden set in /etc/make.conf), if we want to go all the way with this, we just setup the overlay, and do:

USE="risky" emerge qt

Is this correct? And any other "qt" apps besides kde might need to be re-merged?

I'll try anything to improve kde performance (even by 1%), as it's the only desktop environment I use these days. :)
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r6, gcc-10.1.0, kernel-5.6.11-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum