Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't emerge -e system [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 6:36 pm    Post subject: Can't emerge -e system [solved] Reply with quote

Hi there!
I am trying to build a new system from stage1 and at stage2 I am running into the same problem all the time, aclocal cannot be found. I tried to emerge autoconf-wrapper and re-emerge -e system, same thing.
This is my emerge --info (after the bootstrap):
Code:
Portage 2.0.53 (default-linux/amd64/2005.1, gcc-3.4.4, glibc-2.3.5-r2, 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.14
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5-r2, 2.4.2
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.11
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.8.5-r3
sys-devel/binutils:  2.16.1
sys-devel/libtool:   [Not Present]
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.11-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -mtune=k8 -ffast-math -funroll-all-loops -fpeel-loops -ftracer -funswitch-loops -funit-at-a-time"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.4/env /usr/kde/3.4/share/config /usr/kde/3.4/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/lib64/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -mtune=k8 -ffast-math -funroll-all-loops -fpeel-loops -ftracer -funswitch-loops -funit-at-a-time"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig distlocks sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/gentoo/"
LANG="de_CH.UTF-8"
LC_ALL="de_CH.UTF-8"
LINGUAS="de"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="amd64 X Xaw3d a52 aac aalib acl acpi alsa audiofile avi berkdb bitmap-fonts bzip2 caps cdb cdparanoia cdr cjk crypt cups curl dbus dga dio directfb divx4linux dvd dvdr dvdread eds emboss emul-linux-x86 encode expat ffmpeg flac foomaticdb fortran ftp gb gcj gd ggi gif glx gnome gnustep gphoto2 gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 gtkhtml hal howl ieee1394 imagemagick imlib imlib2 jack java javascript jpeg ladcca lcms libg++ libgda libwww lzw lzw-tiff mad mozilla mp3 mpeg ncurses nls openal opengl pam pcre pdflib perl png ppds python quicktime readline real samba sdl slang sndfile sox speex spell ssl tcpd tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts unicode usb userlocales v4l vcd vorbis wmf xine xinerama xml xml2 xmms xosd xpm xprint xv xvid zlib video_cards_radeon linguas_de userland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CTARGET, LDFLAGS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY


When I try to build libtool, I get
Code:
....
 * Applying libtool-1.4.2-archive-shared.patch ...                                                            [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.6-ltmain-SED.patch ...                                                                [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.4.2-expsym-linux.patch ...                                                              [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.20-use-linux-version-in-fbsd.patch ...                                                [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.10-portage.patch ...                                                                  [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.20-version-checking.patch ...                                                         [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.20-ltmain_sh-max_cmd_len.patch ...                                                    [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5-filter-host-tags.patch ...                                                            [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.10-locking.patch ...                                                                  [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.14-egrep.patch ...                                                                    [ ok ]
 * Applying libtool-1.5.20-override-LD_LIBRARY_PATH.patch ...                                                 [ ok ]
 * Generating ltmain.sh ...                                                                                   [ ok ]
 * Running autotools in '.' ...
/usr/portage/sys-devel/libtool/libtool-1.5.22.ebuild: line 117: aclocal: command not found
...

What the heck am I doing wrong?...
[edit]
Code:
# emerge libtool
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 7) dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.03 to /
>>> md5 files   ;-) Locale-gettext-1.04.ebuild
>>> md5 files   ;-) Locale-gettext-1.01-r1.ebuild
>>> md5 files   ;-) Locale-gettext-1.03.ebuild
>>> md5 files   ;-) Locale-gettext-1.05.ebuild
>>> md5 files   ;-) files/digest-Locale-gettext-1.01-r1
>>> md5 files   ;-) files/digest-Locale-gettext-1.03
>>> md5 files   ;-) files/digest-Locale-gettext-1.04
>>> md5 files   ;-) files/digest-Locale-gettext-1.05
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) gettext-1.03.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking gettext-1.03.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/Locale-gettext-1.03/work
>>> Source unpacked.
 * Using ExtUtils::MakeMaker
Can't locate ExtUtils/MakeMaker.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6/x86_64-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6/x86_64-linux /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6/x86_64-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6 /usr/local/lib/site_perl .) at Makefile.PL line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at Makefile.PL line 1.
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

!!! ERROR: dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.03 failed.
!!! Function perl-module_src_compile, Line 120, Exitcode 2
!!! compilation failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.


Last edited by fidel on Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:28 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 475
Location: Arlington, TX, US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like this bug
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=77758
or this one
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=105129
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
[Grr...] I already tried re-emerging autoconf-wrapper, the #emerge autmake-wrapper did it!
Trying to #emerge -e system againg! ;-) If it works, I'll put the "solved" onto here!...
Greets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brazzmonkey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 372
Location: between azerty keyboard and chair

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same error here, but this occurs when trying to compile Test-Simple (while doing an "emerge --emptytree system" during installation).
i tried re-emerging autoconf-wrapper and automake-wrapper, but the latter needs Test-Simple... don't know what to do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very strange!
After I could get rid of the problem on my amd64 after a couple of times trying to succeed with emerge autoconf-wrapper and emerge automake-wrapper it finally worked!...
Right now I am building a system on an old pentium III, of course I was curious if the same problem appears! It does! Here I got rid of the problem typing:
Code:
#( emerge autoconf-wrapper && emerge automake-wrapper ) && emerge -e system

Since I wasn't here all day and I couldn't wait for the autoconf-wrapper and automake-wrapper being built. Since the crappy old machine is still emerging, about 13 hours later, I assume it works! ;-)
Therefore --> solved!
(sort of!... The real solution would be a correct dependency)
Thanks for the hints!
greets
fidel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fidel wrote:
The real solution would be a correct dependency

True, but I don't think "emerge -e system" calculates dependencies correctly when your base system is incomplete (as it would be during a stage1 installation).

What works for me is to follow the older installation instructions :
    bootstrap.sh
    emerge system (without the -e)

Then, if you want to rebuild everything, you can use "emerge -e system" (for example, if gcc was updated during bootstrap).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright! Thanks for that hint! I assumed that emerge system wouldn't correctly build the system in a stage 1 installation, I thought, the -e would make the difference, if it is a stage 1 installation or not...
But from now on I will go back and use emerge system again! Makes things a lot easier! ;-)
Greets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LimeFrog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Skövde, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brazzmonkey wrote:
same error here, but this occurs when trying to compile Test-Simple (while doing an "emerge --emptytree system" during installation).
i tried re-emerging autoconf-wrapper and automake-wrapper, but the latter needs Test-Simple... don't know what to do...

I got exactly the same problem, i'm trying to do a stage 1 install on a Pentium 4 system. But just a day earlier i made a succesfull stage 1 install on my AMD 64 system. Well i'm stuck..
_________________
I don't believe in God, but I'm afraid of him!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge -pv Test-Simple

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] perl-core/Test-Simple-0.62


I don't have Test-Simple
("Basic utilities for writing tests." )
installed on my system. Does it appear as a dependency on your stage1 installation or do you need the package for a certain purpose?...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fidel wrote:
Code:
# emerge -pv Test-Simple

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] perl-core/Test-Simple-0.62


I don't have Test-Simple
("Basic utilities for writing tests." )
installed on my system. Does it appear as a dependency on your stage1 installation or do you need the package for a certain purpose?...


dev-perl/Locale-gettext depends on perl-core/Test-Simple.

And perl-core/Test-Simple is part of my "system profile."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not on my machine:

Code:
# emerge -vp Locale-gettext Test-Simple

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.03  3 kB
[ebuild  N    ] perl-core/Test-Simple-0.62  68 kB

Total size of downloads: 72 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps your profile isn't up to date?

/etc/make.profile should be a symbolic link to /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.1

But really, does it matter? Everyone's system is slightly different so perhaps you set your's up in a way to not need that program.

Though just to be sure, try doing "emerge world --update --deep --newuse -pv" just to see that that program isn't a deep dependency that got missed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the hint! I really am concerned that my system is configured well!.. It seems not, since KDE complains that the media management system of kde wasn't started when I try to go to my media folder... (I most probably forgot something...[edit: after upgrading the kernel I needed to recompile hal! (stupid me!...) ])
But:
Code:
# ls -lh /etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 50  4. Jan 22:14 /etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.1

And:
Code:
# emerge world --update --deep --newuse -pv

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!

Total size of downloads: 0 kB

So Test-Simple does not to depend on Locale-gettext on my system, don't know if it is an issue concerning amd64 only though....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem seems to be realted to the "nls" USE-flag. When I do:
USE="nls" emerge -av automake-wrapper" it wants to install Test-Simple, which can't be emerged without automake-wrapper. Just USE="-nls" emerge -av automake-wrapper worked great.


*UPDATE*: Still can't emerge Test-Simple after having emerged automake-wrapper :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here as well on a Pentium4 install! Whereas on my amd64 it worked emerging automake-wrapper and autoconf-wrapper and afterwards emerge -e system again, on the Pentium4 install it doesn't, as well Test-Simple wants to be installed but fails:
Code:
 * Using ExtUtils::MakeMaker
Can't locate ExtUtils/MakeMaker.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6 /usr/local/lib/site_perl .) at Makefile.PL line 11.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at Makefile.PL line 11.
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

I'm kind of stuck here as well!.. No stage1-installations anymore?... :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fidel wrote:
Here as well on a Pentium4 install! Whereas on my amd64 it worked emerging automake-wrapper and autoconf-wrapper and afterwards emerge -e system again, on the Pentium4 install it doesn't, as well Test-Simple wants to be installed but fails:
Code:
 * Using ExtUtils::MakeMaker
Can't locate ExtUtils/MakeMaker.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6/i386-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.6 /usr/local/lib/site_perl .) at Makefile.PL line 11.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at Makefile.PL line 11.
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

I'm kind of stuck here as well!.. No stage1-installations anymore?... :cry:


You need to reinstall perl first.

Code:
emerge --nodeps --oneshot perl && emerge --oneshot Test-Simple
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't perl part of the bootstrap?

Can't test it yet, my 700MHz-Celeron-machine I have to set up is doing xorg-x11 atm and it will take some time. I'll post an update if I got further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jannis wrote:
Isn't perl part of the bootstrap?

No, perl is compiled later, during the "emerge system" step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks slycordinator! It really was it again!... I rememember: "You need Perl5"! :lol:
Since I did not pay enough attention to the issue concerning Test-Simple because I thought the package is not needed, I already put "solved" onto this topic. I removed therefore the solved again since there still are problems building a system, my conclusion how it works (one way or another):
After the bootstrap I would from now on build the system like:
Code:
# emerge system && emerge -e system

If it doesn't fail to compile the system, it won't fail to build it by emptytree...
Another and shorter method would be
Code:
# emerge --oneshot --nodeps perl && emerge -e system

But I am not sure if this will work or if there will be a complaint about missing aclocal....
So maybe we could do it like:
Code:
# ( emerge --oneshot --nodeps perl && emerge autoconf-wrapper automake-wrapper) && emerge -e system


Well, I will stick to the first method and hope that I won't run into these issues anymore! ;-)

Thanks to all of you!
(I'll put solved onto the topic again)

Greets
fidel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just confirming, emerging perl was the solution.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Location: CH

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry! Yes! Perl was missing!.. But, emerge perl wouldn't do it, since all dependencies would be tried to be emerged as well, therefore the
Code:
# emerge --oneshot --nodeps perl

did it!
Greets
fidel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3056
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is one reason we shouldn't do stage-1 installs. This perl circular dependency issue has come and gone all the time.

But if you did a stage3 (with the emerge -e system) or bobp's stage1/3 install, you would avoid this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
transcat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:32 pm    Post subject: Simple solution found... I think Reply with quote

I believe I've found a nifty solution to the cyclical dependency involving Perl...

The problem (as it happened to me) ocurred because:
Test-Simple-0.62 DEPENDs ">=dev-lang/perl-5.8.0-r12",
perl-5.8.8_rc1 DEPENDs "!<perl-core/Test-Simple-0.47-r1",
which is a cyclical dependency. All versions of dev-lang/perl and
perl-core/Test-Simple in the portage tree manifest this problem,
so the loop cannot be avoided by using an earlier version of
either package.

But there's hope: >=perl-core/Test-Simple-0.54 is required by
dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.04 and dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.05.
But there are other versions of Locale-gettext in the portage tree!
Neither =dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.01-r1 nor
=dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.03 DEPEND on perl-core/Test-Simple,
so the solution is this:

echo ">dev-perl/Locale-gettext-1.03" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

This masks versions of Locale-gettext which require Test-Simple,
removing the cyclical dependency from the "emerge system". If you
want, once the system is merged and an appropriate version of perl
is in place, you could then upgrade Lacale-gettext to the latest
version in the tree.

Hope that helps! It seems to be working for me (so far, at least)...
(fingers crossed!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
transcat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: :( i spoke too soon... Reply with quote

ok, forget what i just wrote... dev-perl/Locale-gettext still requires perl to build. ugh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russianpirate
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 1167
Location: Detroit, MI

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:30 pm    Post subject: Re: :( i spoke too soon... Reply with quote

after i solved the test-simple problem and emerged perl libperl, can i continue the emerge by emerge system or do i have to really start over with emerge -e system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum