Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem upgradeing to gtk+ 2.8.8
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jaelan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:33 pm    Post subject: Problem upgradeing to gtk+ 2.8.8 Reply with quote

Hi, not too familiar with what gtk does (this might be my first mistake). But somehow it made it onto my system (running KDE) and now it won't upgrade. This is the error message I'm getting:

Code:

checking for XRRUpdateConfiguration in -lXrandr... yes
checking for X11/extensions/Xrandr.h... yes
checking Pango flags... configure: error:
*** Pango not found. Pango built with Cairo support is required
*** to build GTK+. See http://www.pango.org for Pango information.


From the error, I figured I didn't have Pango installed. So I checked:

Code:

 emerge -pv pango

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.2  -debug -doc 0 kB


Any idea why this is failing?

Jaelan
_________________
"I killed the world once! You can too, if you try hard!" --From Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have the cairo USE-flag set then re-emerge pango.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasenfreser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Lörrach, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the same problem, but couldn't solve it with cairo use-flag....... :cry:
_________________
We gonna make it!
:P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasenfreser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Lörrach, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jupi, after
Code:
emerge cairo

Code:
emerge pango


of course with cairo USE-Flag it finaly worked

THX
_________________
We gonna make it!
:P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lousyd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2003
Posts: 166
Location: Des Moines

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nxsty wrote:
Make sure you have the cairo USE-flag set then re-emerge pango.

Yes, but...
Code:
bigboss ~ # USE="cairo" emerge pango --pretend --verbose

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.2  -debug -doc 0 kB

The "cairo" USE flag doesn't affect pango, according to the above.
_________________
Minds are like parachutes... Most people will do their damnedest to avoid having to use one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaelan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I must say I'm glad I'm not the only one having this problem.

I tried the use flag for Cairo (which didn't affect anything) because both cairo and pango are installed on my system:

Code:

emerge -pv cairo pango

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/cairo-1.0.2  +X -doc -glitz +png 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.2  -debug -doc 0 kB


Any other information would be helpful (as someone already got it working using a use flag)

Thanks,
Jaelan
_________________
"I killed the world once! You can too, if you try hard!" --From Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaelan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meh...

I just re-emerged cairo and pango and gtk went through fine...

Good thing I'm such a n00b!

Jaelan
_________________
"I killed the world once! You can too, if you try hard!" --From Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lousyd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2003
Posts: 166
Location: Des Moines

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaelan wrote:
I just re-emerged cairo and pango and gtk went through fine...

I just tried that and it worked. Gawd, how Microsoftish...
_________________
Minds are like parachutes... Most people will do their damnedest to avoid having to use one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnalogKid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if another thread should be created on this, but I think it's the same issue.

While doing emerge, this is on the top of the list

Code:
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.2 [1.8.1-r1]


Then I get this message:

Code:
 * Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the png and X USE flags set

!!! ERROR: x11-libs/pango-1.10.2 failed.
!!! Function pkg_setup, Line 41, Exitcode 0
!!! cairo needs png and X flags set


How do I emerge cairo with png and X flags?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sean345
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogKid wrote:
Not sure if another thread should be created on this, but I think it's the same issue.

While doing emerge, this is on the top of the list

Code:
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.2 [1.8.1-r1]


Then I get this message:

Code:
 * Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the png and X USE flags set

!!! ERROR: x11-libs/pango-1.10.2 failed.
!!! Function pkg_setup, Line 41, Exitcode 0
!!! cairo needs png and X flags set


How do I emerge cairo with png and X flags?

First set the use flags for cairo using package.use (X may already be set in make.conf, but I don't believe it hurts to add it here):
Code:
echo "x11-libs/cairo X png" >> /etc/portage/package.use

Then emerge cairo:
Code:
emerge --oneshot x11-libs/cairo


Then you can try upgrading again.

- Sean
_________________
If cities were built like software is built, the first woodpecker to come along would level civilization.
Black Frog Studios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnalogKid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much....that worked perfect!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1439
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:36 am    Post subject: thx too Reply with quote

worked fine in first try , thx a lot
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duozmo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Ketchum, ID

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem tonight. For me, too, just merging cairo, then pango, then gtk+ worked. Even though neither pango nor gtk+ have cairo in their use flags. What is up with this? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanHoe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad I found this thread. After some recent serious troubles updating my systems I decided to downgrade from ~amd64 to amd64... until I ran into this problem. :x

Re-emerging cairo then pango then gtk+ solved it, so thanks. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbarr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanHoe wrote:
I'm glad I found this thread. After some recent serious troubles updating my systems I decided to downgrade from ~amd64 to amd64... until I ran into this problem. :x

Re-emerging cairo then pango then gtk+ solved it, so thanks. :)


Almost the same exact issue here...was running ~x86 but got tired of dealing with broken software, so I've been downgrading to x86 and hit this snag. Same solution took care of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kloune
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2004
Posts: 185
Location: lost

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, emerging these 3 again solved my problem too.

My error was pango being reported missing but it was installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
valkyrite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, but again what is the source of the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perlpimp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 10
Location: toronto

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Every time I update I get to deal with this sort of issues? Why? It does not take less then 5 hours to find appriate solution for such bit.s
this is getting really old fast.
:evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
valkyrite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

perlpimp wrote:
Every time I update I get to deal with this sort of issues? Why? It does not take less then 5 hours to find appriate solution for such bit.s
this is getting really old fast.
:evil:


Me too.

Back in old days, 2002, upgrades occurred smoothly most of the time. Now, if I perform an upgrade, I have to handle such issues very often. I guess, it is because of added complexity and huge number of apps that gentoo has to support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duozmo wrote:
I had the same problem tonight. For me, too, just merging cairo, then pango, then gtk+ worked. Even though neither pango nor gtk+ have cairo in their use flags. What is up with this? :?


good question.

it seems that this is not so much a USE variable issue.

For what is posted here pango seems to detect whether cairo is available and modifies what it produces. It is these files that gtk+ is sniffing in the precompilation checks.

It seems the requirement is to have cairo on the system before building pango.

Anyone care to check if _anything_ had a cairo USE option?
8)

[EDIT]
As I suspected there is NO cairo USE variable. Anyone who followed that tip can remove the clutter from USE.
http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml

[EDIT][EDIT] well either I missed it last time or someone has noted it was missing and added it to that page. In either case it does not apply to pango which should always be built with cairo and does not support this as a build option.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86


Last edited by Gentree on Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apryan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's another thread on this issue https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-516970-highlight-pango+pango+built+cairo+required.html and I'm not sure if their final fix is the solution to correct this or if it is just a hack.

Let me know if anyone found a perminate fix for this. I don't wanna see this one again! :)

-anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

valkyrite wrote:
Well, but again what is the source of the problem?


the source of the problem is switching profiles (in backwards direction) on an installed system.

There is ample discussion of doing this elsewhere , IFAIK it is neither supported nor recommended. You are basically dumping a complex set of dependancies for something probably in excess of 500 pkgs and expecting it to "just work".

My experience is that I have had less issues to deal with since moving from x86 to ~x86 , but if you wish to move backwards you will need to read up on what is envolved rather than just editing make.conf and posting that it's does not work.

Hope that clears up some confusion.

8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
equery hasuse cairo
perhaps?
I am terribly vexed by pango/cairo/gtk+ and pkg-config.

I the first instance, pkg-config returned the wrong version numbers, that seems to have been solved with
Code:
rm -rf /usr/lib/pkgconfig/*;emerge --sync

Now gtk+ complains about cairo, which in turn wants pango (installed several times of course), after reinstall
gtk+ complains about there being no cairosupport in pango, and so on...

Trying the "emerge binutils gcc pango cairo gtk+" - jig now.

But there seems to be alot of troubles with these packages.
_________________
- Never argue with an idiot. They just drag you down to your level and beat you with experience.

Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3060
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

valkyrite wrote:
perlpimp wrote:
Every time I update I get to deal with this sort of issues? Why? It does not take less then 5 hours to find appriate solution for such bit.s
this is getting really old fast.
:evil:


Me too.

Back in old days, 2002, upgrades occurred smoothly most of the time. Now, if I perform an upgrade, I have to handle such issues very often. I guess, it is because of added complexity and huge number of apps that gentoo has to support.


In this case, it's not even that. Have a look at comment 5 at https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=139083

So pangocairo doesn't get created unless pango is built twice? Not really gentoo's fault that the guys who wrote that software don't know how to do linking correctly.

Quote:
dsd and I both saw this for the new pango-1.13.x versions. It seems like you've
got to compile pango twice to make it create pangocairo. Unfortunately, once
you do that it seems like it doesn't want to reproduce anymore no matter what.

Pango automagically dep-ing on itself? Not linking properly to it's current
compile but linking to currently installed version? Who knows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So pangocairo doesn't get created unless pango is built twice? Not really gentoo's fault that the guys who wrote that software don't know how to do linking correctly.


No it's not , but it's the job of the distro to sort this kind of shit out not leave every single user to spend hours scouring forums and the internet. This is the primary fuction of a distrobution.

If the devs screwed up on this and it requires a double build this should be done in the ebuild and the bug sent upstream to get it fixed , we should not even know about it unless we want to start compiling this shit outside of portage.

IMHO that is. :wink:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum