Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Portage 2.0.53 now stable on x86
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6377
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 5:54 pm    Post subject: Portage 2.0.53 now stable on x86 Reply with quote

From the gentoo-dev list:
Quote:
I just marked 2.0.53 stable on x86. See
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=108082 for details. You can check the various dependencies of this bug for the bug fixes that went into this release. This release includes at least one new program.

pena jamvm # emaint --help
usage: emaint [options] all | world

Currently emaint can only check and fix problems with one's world file. Future versions will integrate other portage check-and-fix tools and provide a single interface to system health checks.

options:
-h, --help show this help message and exit
-c, --check check for problems
-f, --fix attempt to fix problems

Regards,
Petteri Räty (Betelgeuse)


Also see the thread on the gentoo-dev mailing list.
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarhan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what exactly is new, besides emaint?-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marctraider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 387

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And is the slowness of portage syncing already fixed, with a new algorithm?
_________________
MOBO: Maximus II Gene
RAM: DDR2 OCZ 4GB
CPU: E6400 Conroe
GPU: HD2600XT
SATA: 3x 250GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kdillen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2003
Posts: 49
Location: Nijlen,Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tell me what is wrong with this:

--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=dev-db/mysql-4.1*
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=mail-mta/postfix-2.2*


It used to work with the older versions..

And what must I change or is it a bug ?

Thanks in advance

Kurt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdillen wrote:
Tell me what is wrong with this:

--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=dev-db/mysql-4.1*
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=mail-mta/postfix-2.2*
That syntax was deprecated months ago because it's ambiguous.
kdillen wrote:
It used to work with the older versions..
Yup, and now it doesn't.
kdillen wrote:
And what must I change or is it a bug ?
No bug. Just mask out what you don't want via package.mask (presuambly you want to mask out <4.1.10 and >=4.1.20, for example).
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuzzyRay
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdillen wrote:
Tell me what is wrong with this:

--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=dev-db/mysql-4.1*
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.unmask: >=mail-mta/postfix-2.2*



Here is the explanation from Feedback wanted: portage config validator

Quote:
>=foo-1* doesn't create any problems yet, but it's kind of a contradiction:
- >= means use this version or any version greater than it
- * means use any version that starts with this prefix (simplified, it's a bit more restricted)

so if you have >=foo-1*, would it match foo-2.1 ? If you say yes then you don't need the *, if you say no you want =, not >=. That's why we decided it is invalid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bladus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are there any problems with cdb or eix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sponge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marctraider wrote:
And is the slowness of portage syncing already fixed, with a new algorithm?
It seems this is in 2.1_pre1. (~arch)

(Well, I upgraded to it a bit ago, and syncing is now incredibly fast. Maybe it's just because the new cache format hasn't had a chance to get bogged down, but I'm pretty sure it's been fixed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electrofreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 713
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sponge wrote:
Marctraider wrote:
And is the slowness of portage syncing already fixed, with a new algorithm?
It seems this is in 2.1_pre1. (~arch)

(Well, I upgraded to it a bit ago, and syncing is now incredibly fast. Maybe it's just because the new cache format hasn't had a chance to get bogged down, but I'm pretty sure it's been fixed.)


It also seemed faster to me. But time will tell.
_________________
Desktop: ABit AN8, Athlon64 X2 4400+ 939 2.75GHz, 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR400, 2x160GB SATA RAID-0, 2x20"W, Vista Ultimate x64
Laptop: 15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz, 2x1GB RAM, 160GB, Mac OS X 10.5.1
Server: PIII 550Mhz, 3x128MB RAM, 160GB, Ubuntu Server 7.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if it's supposed to work this way, but when I do
Code:
emerge -Duvat world

I get prompted to do a
Code:
emaint --check world
and it complains
Code:
Checking world for problems

'sys-boot/grub' has no ebuilds available
'app-admin/syslog-ng' has no ebuilds available


Finished

and my
Code:
/etc/portage/package.keywords
looks like
Code:
sys-boot/grub ~amd64
app-admin/syslog-ng ~amd64


Hence, keyworded packages are not supported, or am I doing something wrong?
_________________
- Never argue with an idiot. They just drag you down to your level and beat you with experience.

Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunopedrosilva
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Corroios, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw a post with an error like that, and I suffered from it too...

it worked with

Code:
 emaint --fix world



So far I must say that it pretty faster that the previous version! :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paapaa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 955
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that the new Portage is complaining, if packages previously in "stable" have been moved to "testing" or something similar. Running "emaint" should fix all the complaints.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

let me guess - are symlinks fixed, or does this version of portage require the user to apply a patch in order to be able to compile glibc 2.3.6?
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emaint --fix world
simply removes the packages from world. Not quite what I wanted...
Desired would be for them to be 'accepted' into world when I unmask them imho.
Is this intentional? Am I lost about this?
_________________
- Never argue with an idiot. They just drag you down to your level and beat you with experience.

Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grimm26
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 302
Location: Chicagoland, IL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the packages showing up as gone when I do the emaint -c world is divx4linux. It is also now missing as a use flag in /usr/portage/profiles/use.* but my mplayer install depends on it. Is this not needed anymore or covered by something else?
_________________
"Blessed is he who finds happiness in his own foolishness, for he will always be happy".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6377
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Divx4linux is gone:
http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.gentoo.devel/32112

edit: That means: You may want to remove it from your system and rebuild mplayer / check with revdep-rebuild in general if something else broke.
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunogt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having some difficulties with this new version. For some reason, eveything I setup in package.keywords, and other package.* files is an "invalid atom", or whatever.
For instance, how do I tell portage I want to emerge vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4 (even though it's marked ~testing and it's not the latest one) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nunogt wrote:
For instance, how do I tell portage I want to emerge vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4 (even though it's marked ~testing and it's not the latest one) ?
Just like you would have before this version, i.e.:
/etc/portage/package.keywords:
Code:
=sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4
followed by
Code:
emerge =sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4

_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunogt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moocha wrote:
nunogt wrote:
For instance, how do I tell portage I want to emerge vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4 (even though it's marked ~testing and it's not the latest one) ?
Just like you would have before this version, i.e.:
/etc/portage/package.keywords:
Code:
=sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4
followed by
Code:
emerge =sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.13.4

Thanks, that did it, of course. I didn't notice I had invalid package syntax in package.keywords.
My mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yikes! I had all HELL break loose when I emerged the new version of portage onto an older box. The pretend emerge showed 2 packages being updated: pax-utils and portage. Much to my amazement the emerge.log shows that after emerging portage four ebuilds were purged: man-pages, zlib, grep, and bash. 8O

Now the box is totally b0rked and I'm looking for 586 rescue binaries...
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robgrady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since
Code:
>=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0*
is now deprecated, how would I go about masking all vmware-workstation packages version 5.0 and greater? Normally I would mask the the oldest of the version 5.0 packages, however, every time a new revision of vmware-workstation is released, the older ones are removed. For example, currently I could do
Code:
 >=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0.0.13124-r5
But when -r6 comes out, -r5 will be removed from portage.
_________________
A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly. - Proverbs 14:29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

robgrady wrote:
Since
Code:
>=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0*
is now deprecated, how would I go about masking all vmware-workstation packages version 5.0 and greater?

Code:
>=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0

Quote:
Normally I would mask the the oldest of the version 5.0 packages, however, every time a new revision of vmware-workstation is released, the older ones are removed. For example, currently I could do
Code:
 >=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0.0.13124-r5
But when -r6 comes out, -r5 will be removed from portage.

So what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robgrady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UncleOwen wrote:
Code:
>=app-emulation/vmware-workstation-5.0

Excellent, I didn't know you could put in a version number that doesn't exist. So the asterisk is simply unnecessary, the desired behavior occurs by just taking it out. Out of curiosity, when was that behavior marked deprecated, and was there any notice (other than emerge notes)?
UncleOwen wrote:
So what?

If the method that you described above did not work, you would have to put in actual package versions (ie.: 5.0.0.13124-r5). But if that package does not exist, portage will not know to mask anything. Of course, that situation is now irrelevant.
_________________
A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly. - Proverbs 14:29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Olis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 135
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

since updating Portage to v2.0.53 emerge is playing "Ping Pong" with some files:

Code:
emerge -a --depclean

*** WARNING ***  --depclean is known to be broken. It is highly recommended
*** WARNING ***  that `emerge --update --newuse --deep world` be ran before
*** WARNING ***  commencing. However, using --depclean may still break link
*** WARNING ***  level consistency within your system. `revdep-rebuild`
*** WARNING ***  from app-portage/gentoolkit can help to detect breakage.
*** WARNING ***
*** WARNING ***  Also study the list of packages to be cleaned for any
*** WARNING ***  obvious mistakes. Packages can be manually added to the
*** WARNING ***  world list by running `emerge --noreplace <atom>`.
*** WARNING ***
*** WARNING ***  Make sure you have a backup.

Calculating dependencies ... done!

>>> These are the packages that I would unmerge:

 dev-java/xmldb
    selected: 20011111
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/xml-xmlbeans
    selected: 20041217
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/msv
    selected: 20050627
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/dom4j
    selected: 1.6.1
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-db/hsqldb
    selected: 1.7.3.1-r1
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/jaxen
    selected: 1.1_beta2-r1
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/xpp2
    selected: 2.1.10
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/xpp3
    selected: 1.1.3.4m
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/xsdlib
    selected: 20050627
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/relaxng-datatype
    selected: 1.0
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/jsr173
    selected: 1.0
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/jaxme
    selected: 0.3.1
   protected: none
     omitted: none

 dev-java/iso-relax
    selected: 20041111
   protected: none
     omitted: none

>>> 'Selected' packages are slated for removal.
>>> 'Protected' and 'omitted' packages will not be removed.


When I remove the selected packages and then call "emerge -aquvDN world" it is going to install them again:

Code:
emerge -aquvDN world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/relaxng-datatype-1.0  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/xsdlib-20050627  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/iso-relax-20041111  +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/msv-20050627  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/xpp2-2.1.10  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/xpp3-1.1.3.4m  +doc +jikes +junit -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/xmldb-20011111  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-db/hsqldb-1.7.3.1-r1  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/jaxme-0.3.1  +doc -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/jsr173-1.0  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/dom4j-1.6.1  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/jaxen-1.1_beta2-r1  +doc +jikes -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/xml-xmlbeans-20041217  +doc -source 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB

Do you want me to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


This didn't happen before I updated Portage. What's wrong and how could I fix this?

Olis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6377
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you run emerge --update --newuse --deep world before? If yes, try to find out what requires those ebuilds with emerge -pvut world.

Btw, i never used emerge -aquvDN world myself, what sense would --newuse and --upgrade at the same time have?
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum