Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nonsense CLFAGS error.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:10 am    Post subject: nonsense CLFAGS error. Reply with quote

Hi,

as part of the battle to get apache and dev-lang/php installed I have been following
http://svn.gnqs.org/projects/gentoo-php-overlay/file/docs/php-upgrading.html?format=raw

This guide seems very good and explicit and I have rebuilt php4* OK hwvr apache is segfaulting as soon as I try to load a page.

Since I have just done emerge -e system yesterday, the most obvious move was to rebuild apache , then php to see if it cleared the issue.

The problem now is I get a nonsensicle error about CFLAGS. They have NOT changed, as can be seen from the output error itself.

Code:
configure: loading cache /usr/portage/new/../tmp/portage/apache-2.0.54-r31/work/httpd-2.0.54/config.cache
configure: error: `CFLAGS' has changed since the previous run:
configure:   former value:  -march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64 
configure:   current value: -march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64
configure: error: changes in the environment can compromise the build
configure: error: run `make distclean' and/or `rm /usr/portage/new/../tmp/portage/apache-2.0.54-r31/work/httpd-2.0.54/config.cache' and start over
configure failed for srclib/pcre
bash-3.00#



I have seen this before on another package but cannot recall the cause.

Code:
#emerge --info
Portage 2.0.51.22-r3 (default-linux/x86/2005.0, gcc-4.1.0-beta20051209, glibc-2.
3.6-r0, 2.6.14-nitro2 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.14-nitro2 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) processor
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.13
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.12
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.16.1-r1
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.20
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.11-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64  "
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.4/env /usr/kde/3.4/share
/config /usr/kde/3.4/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/lib/
mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64 
  -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -ffriend-injection"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/new/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="  ftp://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo #ftp://ftp.join.u
ni-muenster.de/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo   http://gentoo.mirror.sdv.fr   #h
ttp://gentoo.oregonstate.edu  http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gen
too "
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--sort-common -s"
LINGUAS="en_GB fr_FR"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/usr/portage/new/../tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage/new"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/overlay"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.au.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="x86 3dnow X acpi acpi4linux alsa apache2 apm audiofile avi berkdb bitmap-fo
nts bzip2 cdb cdr crypt cups curl directfb dvd dvdr dvdread eds emboss encode es
d exif expat fam fbcon fbdev flac foomaticdb fortran fuse gd gdbm gif gimp glut
gmp gnome gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 idn imagemagick imlib jack jpeg kde lcms libg++
 libwww mad mhash mikmod mmx mng motif mozilla mp3 mpeg mysql nas ncurses networ
k nls nptl nptlonly nvidia ogg oggvorbis openal opengl oss pam pcre pdflib perl
php pic png ppds python qt quicktime readline rtc samba sdl slang sms spell sqli
te sse ssl svga tcpd tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev usb userlocal
es vorbis xine xml xml2 xv xvid zlib video_cards_nvidia,3dfx linguas_en_GB lingu
as_fr_FR userland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL



This error message is erroneous and needs fixing to indicate the real problem.

TIA, Gentree. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't if it matters but there is two spaces after the first line and only one after the second. Perhaps that's the problem? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I've already looked into that , it is a figment of its own imagination, as is the change.

I'm fairly sure that last time I had a similar issue it turned out to be an ldflag problem, though I dont know what it does/doesnt want or if it is trying to signal a change or simply a bad ldflag .

Absence of a coherent error does not help. It's down to guessing or hoping someone who knows can save me some time.

Thanks for the reply tho'.

8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this:
Code:
rm -rf /var/tmp/portage/apache*  # To clean portage's cache
emerge apache
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, that is what is suggested in the error output but it changes nothing. I really dont know what it's picking up on because it is not capable of issueing an relevant error message.

I think it is a difference in LDFLAGS but since it does not post what it "thinks" it was "last time" I have little chance to correct it that way.

I am going through a complete system rebuild in order to clear this but even that does not seem to work.

There seems to be portage/depencancy issue here but the error in not being trapped/propagated correctly.

Difficult to see it is portage/gcc/apache or what at the moment.

:?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aidy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 915

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think doing CFLAGS="" emerge blabla works. At least it always did when I had such an error :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magic919
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 2182
Location: Berkshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They seem to have arrested the duplicate thread :-)

Have you tried emerging libpcre on its own. Then Apache will try to link to that instead of building its own - and maybe not fail...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks to the mod for linking me back to this thread.

If the forum notifications worked more that one in ten I would already have seen your replies. Tracking everything with browser bookmarks is not a realistic way of checking for posts. :roll:

well , I already had pcre as a package so that's not the fix , I will try removing it instead.

CFLAGS='' emerge blabla worked fine , at least I have apache but if I rebuild using the system defaults in make.conf we'ere back to square one.

Code:
Configuring PCRE regular expression library ...

updating cache /usr/portage/new/../tmp/portage/apache-2.0.55/work/httpd-2.0.55/c
onfig.cache
configuring package in srclib/pcre now
configure: WARNING: If you wanted to set the --build type, don't use --host.
    If a cross compiler is detected then cross compile mode will be used.
configure: loading cache /usr/portage/new/../tmp/portage/apache-2.0.55/work/http
d-2.0.55/config.cache
configure: error: `CFLAGS' has changed since the previous run:
configure:   former value:  -march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fal
ign-functions=64 
configure:   current value: -march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fal
ign-functions=64
configure: error: changes in the environment can compromise the build
configure: error: run `make distclean' and/or `rm /usr/portage/new/../tmp/portag
e/apache-2.0.55/work/httpd-2.0.55/config.cache' and start over
configure failed for srclib/pcre


final proof this things got it's head up it's arse: it says the last setting of CFLAGS were : -march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64 , in fact it was '' .

This is really messy. :evil:

Thanks for your suggestions, one step nearer.

8)

[edit] I now have apache running but without some funcionality. umerging libpcre made no difference. Same error.

:cry:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Halcy0n
Developer
Developer


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 1682
Location: Freehold, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:43 pm    Post subject: Re: nonsense CLFAGS error. Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
Code:
#emerge --info
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64  "

Get rid of the trailing space.
_________________
Mark Loeser
http://www.halcy0n.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

damn you're right , I had already notice the extra space before the first line and this is in fact fictitious, but I had not spotted the trailing space.

I am running emerge -e system now so I will have to redo apache afterwards to see if that does it.

Where is this "former" version stored. I actually did emerge -C apache hoping to clear it and the emerge with empty cflags was not taking into account.


Is this a known issue?

many thanks. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Halcy0n
Developer
Developer


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 1682
Location: Freehold, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
Where is this "former" version stored. I actually did emerge -C apache hoping to clear it and the emerge with empty cflags was not taking into account.


Is this a known issue?

many thanks. 8)

No idea, no idea, no problem. :)
_________________
Mark Loeser
http://www.halcy0n.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "former" version is the version stored by the autom4te cache near the first few tests run by configure. Somewhere along the line the CFLAGS are trimmed of whitespace and stored in the cache, and then somewhere further down the current CFLAGS are pulled in from the environment, NOT trimmed, and compared against the cached version to see if the cache needs updating. And since the actual string values aren't the same due to the trailing space the comparison fails.
It's almost certainly a bug somewhere in the autotools jungle, however I shudder at the thought of having to look at that mess... Guess it's just one of those gotchas we'll have to watch out for.
It'd be interesting to see if the issue appears with an earlier version of the gnuconfig package.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum