Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot Splash (background picture ala SuSE) -- Support
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joffer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2002
Posts: 585
Location: Arendal, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

poichr wrote:
I'm running Gentoo 1.4_rc2 with a Logitech Cordless Mouse/Keyboard.
I had the mouse working with the hid module before, and now it doesn't work at all!
Check your kernel and the usb settings again.. maybe this post of mine can help you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
Ok, I fixed the problem (recompiled gentoo 4-5 times) and it works perfectly.


How exactly did you solve the problem? I got the same error message, and yes, I did patch, configure, compile and copy the new kernel to /boot. Kernel is vanilla-sources 2.4.20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I got one strange behaviour...
I got around the /proc/splash not found problem by editing the emerge file so that the initial initrd build is the way I want it to be (1024x768 resolution, another picture). And, wow, it works! Well, sort of... it works only when I shut down the computer, then I see the background picture, but not when linux boots (only tux looks at me laughing :)). I don't get it...

extraction out of my grub.conf:
Code:
title=Gentoo
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda7 hdc=ide-scsi vga=0x317 video=vesa:1024x768
initrd=(hd0,4)/boot/initrd


[edit]I got it working on the tty's, but not at boot time. But well, that's enough for me since I only reboot a few times a year :).
Here's my bootsplash, if somebody is interrested. It's a little 'homage' to Salma Hayek :)[/edit]


Last edited by piquadrat on Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aknox2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I just ask if this is right:

- As I have a GeForce2, I have to use the VESA framebuffer.
- This VESA framebuffer will not go above 60Hz.

Is this really the case? Anyone got it working at a higher refresh rate?

It's a real shame, I thought I'd get a pretty console, but instead I end up with eye-strain and a headache!

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carambola5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 214
Location: Madtown, WI

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aknox2 wrote:
Can I just ask if this is right:

- As I have a GeForce2, I have to use the VESA framebuffer.
- This VESA framebuffer will not go above 60Hz.

Is this really the case? Anyone got it working at a higher refresh rate?

It's a real shame, I thought I'd get a pretty console, but instead I end up with eye-strain and a headache!

Thanks


I've got a GeForce4, but am also using the fb. I've got mine set at 70Hz:
Code:
video=vesa:mtrr:1280x1024@70

_________________
Get Firefox!

Proper Web Development

I'm done at 999.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aknox2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using 800x600. However whatever refresh rate I put after the @, it still goes at 60Hz.

It's sheer relief when X loads and the rate goes up to 75.

My config:
Code:
vga=788 video=vesa:mtrr:800x600@75

Anyone see what's wrong?

Typing fbset at the command prompt returns the following info only:
Code:

mode "800x600-75"
    # D: 48.001 MHz, H: 46.876 kHz, V: 75.121 Hz
    geometry 800 600 800 600 16
    timings 20833 96 32 16 4 96 4
    rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/0
endmode

....but lying- it's definitely 60Hz!

I don't seem to have a /etc/fb.modes file, either.


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 4:26 am    Post subject: Re: bootsplash with LVM initrd Reply with quote

bverheg wrote:
arkane wrote:
If you are running LVM, you already have an initrd setup. (it's used to run vgscan and so forth to setup the Volume Groups on boot, etc) Now, with this, it tells you to make an initrd called /boot/initrd, but what if you already have an initrd setup?
...
Is there a way to implement it into a currently existing initrd?
Or, better yet, is there a "splash=" parameter pass or some form to tell the kernel where the boot splash image is?


Here's how to do it:
- gunzip your LVM initrd and mount it through loopback
- cp /bin/splash and /usr/share/bootsplash-04/* to it
- add the following command to linuxrc (after the mount /proc command!!)
Code:
/bin/splash -s /usr/share/bootsplash-0.4/gentoo-boot-1024x768.cfg

- unmount and gzip the LVM initrd
- if you use LILO, rerun lilo

Of course, it will suffice to only copy the .cfg and .jpg files that you actually use to the initrd. This will keep its size marginally smaller.


Thank you thank you thank you... I got it working.

I went a step further and edited the /sbin/lvmcreate_initrd file, telling it to slap the splash line into the linuxrc, along with adding in the /usr/share/bootsplash directory contents to the stuff being shoved into the initrd.

It works, and I thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Supermule
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 510
Location: /denmark/fyn

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erhm...

Probably very noob-like, but then again, thats what I am :)

Ive read the initial article, but some of the links are dead...then I came across a posting that says something about an Ebuild for this grub-splash thing...

However...running thru all messages twicw didnt reveal how to get this ebuild, nor (and more important) how to installed it...

Could some plz. direct me to get started?

Thx,
Supermule
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aknox2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge bootsplash
then follow the instructions onscreen to patch your kernel
then recompile the kernel as instructed

after that, follow the instructions in the rest of this thread to replace Tux with a bootscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 6:33 pm    Post subject: Question about the size (file size) of bootsplash picture Reply with quote

I was curious to know if the bootsplash picture has to be of a certain size in kb in order to be useable as the bootsplash picture.

I noticed that many of the pictures are in the 81 kb range and I tried using a pciture that I believe is 371 kb and it would not load.

How does one shrink the filesize down?

Cat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
splooge
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 636

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using an encrypted filesystem which uses an initrd already.

Is it possible to use two initrd's? One for the encrypted filesystem stuff, and one for the bootsplash package? Or ... how would this work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bheremans
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2003
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

splooge wrote:
I am using an encrypted filesystem which uses an initrd already.

Is it possible to use two initrd's? One for the encrypted filesystem stuff, and one for the bootsplash package? Or ... how would this work?


I'm testing a distro that loads from compactflash it has an existing initrd (the root file system that loads to ramdisk) and have the splash screen working !! You can add the pictures to you're existing ramdisk. Don't do
Code:
splash -s -f bootsplash.cfg > initrd
but do
Code:
splash -s -f bootsplash.cfg >> initrd

initrd can be of course another name, in my case it was rootfs.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpwins
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: The Pandemonium Fortress

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2003 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same refresh rate problem as aknox2 above. This 60 Hz is terrible! Now I've seen many examples on how to set the vesa mode to 70 Hz in Grub, but how can I do this with LILO?

What I tried is this:

Code:
image=/boot/bzImage-gentoo-2.4.20
   label="Gentoo_2.4.20"
   root=/dev/hda7
   read-only
   vga=791
   initrd=/boot/initrd-gentoo-2.4.20
   append="hdc=ide-scsi"
   video="vesa:1024x768@70"


but LILO complains: (isn't it always :) )

Code:
josephine sybren # lilo
Unrecognized token "video" at or above line 126 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'
josephine sybren #


I also tried

Code:
image=/boot/bzImage-gentoo-2.4.20
   label="Gentoo_2.4.20"
   root=/dev/hda7
   read-only
   vga=791
   initrd=/boot/initrd-gentoo-2.4.20
   append="hdc=ide-scsi video=vesa:1024x768@70"


This was fine with LILO, but when I rebooted the screen was still at 60 Hz, not 70!

In this thread, quink responded with:
Quote:

Okay i read this whole post and all i could get my hands on, and maybe its me or whatever but i can't figure out a few things
First off I do get a bootsplash image and that works perfectly fine
But
Its only @ 60hz. I tried doing the video=vesa:mtrr:1024x768@85 with no luck.
I did many variants too. I did
video=vesa:mtrr:1024x768@**
**=I tried all ranges from 70-85 at 5 hz increments but all boots put me at 60hz.
I also tried the same thing but without the mtrr

Now i think it looks great, but my eyes are melting out of my head, and i don't much like that.

Now my system info is...I use grub, Geforce 3 ti200 graphics, and i think thats all that matters?

But to repeat, it does work for me, the refresh just sucks.


It seems he and I are having the same problem. Even though I specify video=vesa:mtrr:1024x768@70, the console is still at 60 Hz (the OSD of my monitor tells me). But when I execute fbset from the bash prompt I get the following:

Code:
josephine boot # fbset

mode "1024x768-76"
    # D: 78.653 MHz, H: 59.949 kHz, V: 75.694 Hz
    geometry 1024 768 1024 768 16
    timings 12714 128 32 16 4 128 4
    rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/0
endmode

josephine boot #


So the system *thinks* that the console is a 75 Hz, but this is not true. I also noted that this problem occurs with NVidia GeForce cards. Me and aknox2 have GeForce2, quink has GeForce3.

Does anybody have any ideas on this issue? Maybe use the RIVA framebuffer instead of the VESA? (I've heard that the RIVA framebuffer has problems.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalhedd
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just re-emerged gentoo-sources and then emerged bootsplash

The ebuild comments say to run
Code:
ebuild /var/db/pkg/media-gfx/bootsplash/bootsplash-0.4.ebuild config


that didn't work because the version of bootsplash I installed was 0.4-r1 soooo. this is what I did, and the results of it.

Code:

metalbox images # ebuild /var/db/pkg/media-gfx/bootsplash-0.4-r1/bootsplash-0.4-r1.ebuild config

portage: 'portage' user or group missing. Please update baselayout
         and merge portage user(250) and group(250) into your passwd
         and group files. Non-root compilation is disabled until then.
         Also note that non-root/wheel users will need to be added to
         the portage group to do portage commands.

         For the defaults, line 1 goes into passwd, and 2 into group.
         portage:x:250:250:portage:/var/tmp/portage:/bin/false
         portage::250:portage

 *
 * Patching the kernel in /usr/src/linux ...
 *
patching file include/video/fbcon.h
Hunk #1 succeeded at 118 with fuzz 1 (offset 75 lines).
Hunk #2 succeeded at 119 with fuzz 2.
patching file drivers/video/fbcon.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 41 with fuzz 1 (offset 6 lines).
Hunk #2 succeeded at 62 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #3 succeeded at 173 with fuzz 1 (offset 64 lines).
Hunk #4 succeeded at 604 with fuzz 1 (offset 108 lines).
misordered hunks! output would be garbled
Hunk #5 FAILED at 523.
misordered hunks! output would be garbled
Hunk #6 FAILED at 559.
Hunk #7 succeeded at 787 with fuzz 2 (offset 79 lines).
Hunk #8 FAILED at 801.
Hunk #9 succeeded at 876 with fuzz 1 (offset 82 lines).
Hunk #10 succeeded at 1387 with fuzz 2.
misordered hunks! output would be garbled
Hunk #11 FAILED at 1450.
Hunk #12 succeeded at 1569 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #13 succeeded at 1586 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #14 succeeded at 1634 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #15 succeeded at 1689 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #16 FAILED at 1859.
Hunk #17 succeeded at 2251 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #18 succeeded at 2296 with fuzz 2.
Hunk #19 succeeded at 2561 with fuzz 2.
5 out of 19 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file drivers/video/fbcon.c.rej
patching file drivers/video/fbcon-cfb16.c
patching file drivers/video/Makefile
Hunk #1 succeeded at 151 with fuzz 1 (offset 11 lines).
patching file drivers/video/fbcon-jpegdec.c
patching file drivers/video/fbcon-jpegdec.h
patching file drivers/video/fbcon-splash.c
patching file drivers/video/fbcon-splash.h
patching file drivers/video/Config.in
Hunk #1 FAILED at 205.
Hunk #2 FAILED at 320.
Hunk #3 FAILED at 339.
3 out of 3 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file drivers/video/Config.in.rej
patching file drivers/char/console.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 697 (offset -2307 lines).

!!! ERROR: media-gfx/bootsplash-0.4-r1 failed.
!!! Function pkg_config, Line 24, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)


li'l help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still having issues with the refresh rate. fbset says this:

Code:
root@virulent root # fbset

mode "1024x768-76"
    # D: 78.653 MHz, H: 59.949 kHz, V: 75.694 Hz
    geometry 1024 768 1024 768 16
    timings 12714 128 32 16 4 128 4
    rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/0
endmode


Yet, my monitor (and eyes) say its 60hz. Its killing me to look at my console now. I literally feel my retinas burning in the time it takes to log in and type startx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalhedd
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought I had this working, but I'm only getting the little gentoo logo in the top left.

dmesg shows this info that seems relevant:
Code:

vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xd080d000, size 65536k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x16, linelength=2048, pages=0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:c200
vesafb: scrolling: redraw
vesafb: directcolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.
Looking for splash picture.... no good signature found.


my grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda4 vga=791 video=vesa:1024x768@60
initrd=/boot/initrd

title=Windows 2000
root (hd0,2)
chainloader +1


i have a gf2mx. I compiled the kernel exactly the way the ebuild comments for bootsplash described. I commented out the 'silentjpeg' option in the bootsplash.cfg because i wasn't sure what it was and I didn't have the image it was pointed at.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the picture you're using is the same size as the framebuffer you select. 1024x768 fb with a 1280x1024 splash image doesn't work. I believe the default is 1280x1024 so if you can do that resolution, try it. If not, try resizing the image.

It took me a bit of fiddling around, but I finally got it working. My only problem is my monitor refusing to go higher than 60hz, even if fbset reports otherwise. It hurts my eyes so bad I might just disable this entire bootsplash thing entirely. :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpwins
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: The Pandemonium Fortress

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lurid wrote:
My only problem is my monitor refusing to go higher than 60hz, even if fbset reports otherwise. It hurts my eyes so bad I might just disable this entire bootsplash thing entirely. :\


Try using a dark background (black, the matrix or something like that) with light colored text on top of it. At 60 Hz it looks much better than a white background with dark text on it. At least, that's my subjective judgement. :wink:
_________________
How are you gentlemen!! All your base are belong to us. You are on the way to destruction. You have no chance to survive make your time. Ha ha ha ha ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2003 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problem as some of the other guys that posted here. Everything works perfectly but the refresh rate I specify is ignored. Here is part of my grub.conf:
Code:

title  Vanilla 2.4
root   (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage-van-2.4 root=/dev/hda3 vga=794 video=vesa:1280x1024@85
initrd=(hd0,0)/boot/initrd

however, it still is set to 60hz (i can verify this with my monitor). It works fine at 85hz in X.

Anyone figure out a fix to this problem (besides using a dark bg...)? I have an ATI Radeon 7000.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
therobot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 256
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2003 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
splash -s -f /usr/share/splash/bootsplash.cfg > /boot/initrd
/usr/share/splash/themes/SuSE/images/silent-1024x768.jpg: No such file or directory

has anybody else gotten this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2003 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

therobot wrote:
Code:
splash -s -f /usr/share/splash/bootsplash.cfg > /boot/initrd
/usr/share/splash/themes/SuSE/images/silent-1024x768.jpg: No such file or directory

has anybody else gotten this?


edit your bootsplash.cfg to reflect the correct path to the silent picture. if you don't have a silent picture comment that line out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
therobot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 256
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2003 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

done, I still can't get this to work, I give up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalhedd
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2003 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont know if commenting out the silent image line is the recommended fix.. I tried it and the result was that the splash command executes successfully, but no image comes up at boot, I just get the gentoo logo dmesg shows "No Signature Found" about 5 times, and I've confirmed that the image IS the right dimensions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2003 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had this problem where I got one image to work (i downloaded it from these forums...it's blue one with the girl sticking out her tongue) but none of the other ones would. i opened the working image and the nonworking image and gimp and compared the attributes. they were exactly the same. for some reason i decided to copy the nonworking image and just paste it over to the working image. i saved the image and it worked after that. i am not sure why. i do know, however, that you do not need the silent image. you can comment that line out (if you are not using it), that is where the aforementioned error comes from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2003 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

allucid wrote:
I am having the same problem as some of the other guys that posted here. Everything works perfectly but the refresh rate I specify is ignored. Here is part of my grub.conf:
Code:

title  Vanilla 2.4
root   (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage-van-2.4 root=/dev/hda3 vga=794 video=vesa:1280x1024@85
initrd=(hd0,0)/boot/initrd

however, it still is set to 60hz (i can verify this with my monitor). It works fine at 85hz in X.

Anyone figure out a fix to this problem (besides using a dark bg...)? I have an ATI Radeon 7000.


after reading the kernel documentation (Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt) i found this little tidbit:

Code:

Refresh rates
=============

There is no way to change the vesafb video mode and/or timings after
booting linux.  If you are not happy with the 60 Hz refresh rate, you
have these options:

 * configure and load the DOS-Tools for your the graphics board (if
   available) and boot linux with loadlin.
 * use a native driver (matroxfb/atyfb) instead if vesafb.  If none
   is available, write a new one!
 * VBE 3.0 might work too.  I have neither a gfx board with VBE 3.0
   support nor the specs, so I have not checked this yet.


i am going to try the radeon fb module now and see if that works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum