How to: acx111 (Linksys WPC54G v.2) on Dell Latitude c610
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
calfax
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: How to: acx111 (Linksys WPC54G v.2) on Dell Latitude c610 Reply with quote

Howdy,

This is a guide on how to set up wireless networking on the Dell Latitude c610 using a Linksys WPC54G v.2 PCMCIA wireless networking card. As I have worked on this solidly for the last 3 days, I thought I'd post my set-up to prevent anyone else through going through the same pain. However, I am a newbie and all the usual cautions apply. As with all free advice: caveat emptor!

(note: This setup should work fine for other systems as well. If you are new to Linux and feeling frustrated, I recommend that you try the latest Mepis distro. It is a Debian/KDE solution that runs over a heavily modified kernel. You will not have much freedom to configure/customize as you do with Gentoo....but about 15 mins after you install it, you will have wireless networking that works like nobody's business!)

I have borrowed, appropriated tons of stuff from other posts and have made an effort to document where I got it from to help make the roadmap clearer. If I forgot to credit you, it's not on purpose.

So there are...near as I can tell....2 ways to do set up wireless networking. Either the ndiswrapper module (which uses windows drivers) or native linux drivers if they exist for your particular card.

scootersmk wrote a nice guide to using Ndiswrapper...[url] https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-125627-highlight-acx111.html [/url] I think it will work with the ACX drivers that Linksys uses but I don't know. I have seen reports in the forums confirming that Ndiswrapper works but I did not use it.