View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:35 pm Post subject: nspluginwrapper |
|
|
has anyone created an ebuild for this wrapper ?
(should allow running of 32bit plugins with 64bit mozilla) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepspace9 Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003 Posts: 214 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:00 pm Post subject: Re: nspluginwrapper |
|
|
You can alway's build it from source ans install it yourself
I'll give it a try! _________________ Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well tryed and nope they havnt released all the code
so i would have to make this rpm install somehowe (shoudlnt be a big deal anyway it can easily be converted to tar.gz)
will work on ebuild tonight just tryed saving some time  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepspace9 Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003 Posts: 214 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did anyone try this yet?
I didn't get it to work... _________________ Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it worked on my machine
in mozilla right away (i have simple ebuild)
and in firefox after ajusting plugin path.
ill see if i can make it install into /opt/netscape or similar
(right now its /usr/mozilla)
seams like it has paths hardcoded aswell so it may need more work then simple copy.
BTW it worked relatively ok some pages worked 100% some halfways.
seams like this emthod could not only be used for plugins but for win32codecs aswell. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepspace9 Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003 Posts: 214 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, can you post the ebuild already, or is it to soon for that?
Can you explain how you did get it working? Specially how to install the plugins to wrap  _________________ Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
give me time till tonight and ill hack something up  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepspace9 Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003 Posts: 214 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
good luck!
btw, looks like this also works with sparc and ppc! _________________ Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aslong as qemu is installed seams like it should
(its using linux32 for amd64 and qemu for other CPU's)
however cant confirm that it works on ppc or sparc [my sparc died and i throwed it away) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
here is the ebuidl im using
however it crashes firefox 1.5
it was working with 1.0.7
if someone else wnats to try it here it is (maybe someone can even fix it)
but i guess this project will first take off when gets into public hands
(integrated into mozilla maybe ??)
NOTE: you need flash plugin installed before installing this ebuild
or else plugin want be registred (installed in sense of nspluginwrapper)
Code: |
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
inherit rpm
DESCRIPTION="Netscape Plugin Wrapper 32bit plugins on 64bit browser"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.gibix.net/dokuwiki/en:projects:nspluginwrapper"
SRC_URI="http://www.gibix.net/projects/nspluginwrapper/files/nspluginwrapper-0.9.90-1.x86_64.rpm
http://www.gibix.net/projects/nspluginwrapper/files/nspluginwrapper-i386-0.9.90-1.x86_64.rpm"
LICENSE="Other"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~amd64"
IUSE=""
DEPEND=""
RDEPEND=""
src_install()
{
cp -R "${WORKDIR}/usr" ${D}
dodir /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins
cd ${D}/usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins
ln -s ../../nspluginwrapper/x86_64/npwrapper.so
chmod -R a+rx ${D}/usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/
}
pkg_postinst()
{
cd /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/x86_64
./npconfig -i /opt/netscape/plugins/libflashplayer.so
cd /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins
ln -s ../../mozilla/plugins/npwrapper.* .
chmod -R a+rx /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Zythran n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005 Posts: 38 Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:04 am Post subject: nspluginwrapper |
|
|
Great work there, I've finally got flash working on my system!
One little note: if you don't have mozilla on your system already but DO have firefox, you'll need to make /usr/lib/mozilla and everything within readable - your script doesn't do that yet. So after running this ebuild, do a chmod -R a+rx /usr/lib/mozilla. So far flash seems to work well enough for me. Thanks to everyone who has worked on this so far!
By the way, I'm using firefox 1.5 - your ebuild works just fine for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
damn for me it did not want to work was crashing firefox
hmm
lucky me
hehe
feel free to make changes to this "ebuild"
maybe we can even make a good ebuild  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
herbs Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
For anyone that wants to test I've added a slightly more comprehensive ebuild here:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~herbs/nspluginwrapper/
Souces for npconfig are available so this part is compiled from source. The source for npwrapper.so is still unavailable and so the ebuild installs the binary for now. When the full source code is finally released (as is promised on the site) I will add this to portage. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
is auto registration of all current plugin working for you ?
(for me it did not work seamd like it never checked /opt/netscape
ill try your ebuild (looks more like real ebuild then mine
note for your ebuild remove .*s.swp file from Manifest
seams like you used vim for editing and .swp files stayed so its now part of ebuild digest/Manifest
[edit]
same think as with mine installation works and register flash , however firefox crashes as soon as i go to a page with flash
the strange thing is that mozilla is working fine
(Well relatively fine www.jacksonville.com for example only 1 third ofm flash plugin is visible rest of the area is gray) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PhanLord Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
this is the last message from firefox before it crashes
Error: Object "drawingArea" does not have windowed ancestor
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (1)
if anyone has an idea im open |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
herbs Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The ebuild auto-detects any plugins you have installed or symlinked from /usr/lib{32}/nsbrowser/plugins. i.e, the global plugin directory that is passed by both mozilla and firefox. Afaik all ebuilds that install a nsplugin create a symlink here. No, /opt/netscape is not checked.
As for your issues with firefox-1.5 that's not an error I recognize. You might want to try with a clean config though, i.e rm -rf ~/.mozilla. I've had various problems with configs left over from firefox-1.0*. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
urcindalo l33t

Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 616 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My uni's web page (University of AlmerÃa) is a huge flash animation. Before installing this ebuild, I was completely unable to load it, because FireFox was lacking the plugin.
After installing it, firefox 1.0.7-r2 crashes when the animation is approximately half-loaded: Code: | *** loading the extensions datasource
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 15 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 11 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 15 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 11 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 15 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING: unhandled variable 11 for NPP_GetValue
*** NSPlugin Viewer *** ERROR: failed to receive reply from NPN_GetURLNotify
/usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher: line 116: 10611 Violación de segmento "$mozbin" "$@"
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (139)
The program 'npviewer.bin' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)'.
(Details: serial 660 error_code 3 request_code 3 minor_code 0)
(Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.) |
I don't pretend it to work right away with every possible flash animation, especially giant ones like my uni's. Rather, I'd like the error above could improve the future development of this ebuild.
And thanks very much for providing it. I really appreciate your efforts. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
col l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002 Posts: 820 Location: Melbourne - Australia
|
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Excellent !! working beautifully here. Mozilla 1.5 with flash & acroread plugins. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
col l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002 Posts: 820 Location: Melbourne - Australia
|
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
actually one minor problem with acroread plugin. I have to hit refresh before the pdf doc will display |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FictionPimp n00b

Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I love this plugin, its worked for everything I use. I had one exception. I use mplayer-bin instead of mplayer so I can use win32codecs. I tried an ebuild I found for mplayerplug-in-bin which was supose to work but it didnt' work with nspluginwrapper. So I complied the 64bit version of mplayerplug-in from portage and then symlinked mplayer-bin to mplayer. Now all is well with firefox and playing video. I've got flash, pdf, and video's. I'm a happy camper. I think this thing is ready to be in ~amd64. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ziegs Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Apr 2004 Posts: 119
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
it seems that nsplugwrapper claims that the mplayerplug-in-bin installation are not valid NS4 plugins. Is this possible?
Also, i tried just symlinking mplayer32 to mplayer, but that just results in no video playing at all, and firefox eventually burning to a crisp. erm...then i tried the fedora binaries from an RPM, and those are loaded but then don't work...sigh
any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FictionPimp n00b

Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 6:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had problems with mplayerplug-in-bin.
What I did was emerge mplayer-bin from portage
then I went into package.provided and added mplayer (64bit mplayer this is) so that mplayerplug-in wouldn't try to install mplayer when I emerged it. Also so that when I updated mplayerplug-in it wouldn't complain about masked packages.
Then just to be safe I also masked out mplayer so that it wont ever be installed (64bit mplayer this is)
Then I emerged mplayerplug-in from portage (the 64bit one)
Finally, I symlinked mplayer-bin to mplayer
Now 64bit firefox works with mplayerplug-in perfectly using 32bit mplayer.
I still use nspluginwrapper for flash. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ziegs Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Apr 2004 Posts: 119
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
that is more or less what i did, except i renamed mplayer 64 bit to mplayer64 (mv mplayer{,64} adn then did the symlink. should have worked either way i thought. maybe i'll try doing that and then installing mplayerplug-in, but shouldn't nspluginwrapper work with mplayerplug-in-bin? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FictionPimp n00b

Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried to get mplayerplug-in-bin to work, but it never did. Once I got the 64bit version of mplayerplug-in to work with the 32bit mplayer-bin I didn't worry about it anymore. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
loftwyr l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 970 Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does anyone else have a problem with flash crashing and going to 100% CPU?
If I use it for some flash games or widgets, it will lock up or crash and suddenly take up (or firefox takes up) 100% cpu _________________ My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|