Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ALSA build necessary for GNOME?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iExcel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 102
Location: Oakville, ON

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:31 am    Post subject: ALSA build necessary for GNOME? Reply with quote

I'm about to load GNOME2.2 and wonder if I need to enable 'alsa' in the USE variable? Do I need it? Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qwkbrnfox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Nov 2002
Posts: 231
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. You can easily use OSS instead. ESD is a layer that gnome uses for sound, that will work with either ALSA or OSS. ESD itself is optional, if you don't want fancy window-sliding sounds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2803
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't have much luck with the built in drivers for the via82xx chip. I am now using alsa, seems to work better/less crashing, although half the time I log in gnome is failing to connect to the sound driver. I still hve to look into that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum