Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no surround sound in Quake 4 [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gnychis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:47 am    Post subject: no surround sound in Quake 4 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a 6 speaker surround sound setup, so in my config I have:
seta s_numberOfSpeakers "6"

However, when I play the game only 2 speakers are ever active. Anyone else experience this? When I installed the game in windows I was able to get the surround sound by changing this setting.

My alsa driver is alsa-driver-1.0.11_rc2
seta s_alsa_lib "libasound.so.2"
seta s_alsa_pcm "default"

Thanks!
George


Last edited by gnychis on Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try: seta s_alsa_pcm "surround51"

If that doesn't work, there's a few other threads available - just search for "quake".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnychis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked perfectly, thank you :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum